Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Japan's 'Made in China' Labels Dropped To Boost Sales

Wednesday, January 07, 2015

Japan's 'Made in China' Labels Dropped To Boost Sales

Chinese manufacturers have stopped using "made in China" labels on clothes sold in Japan in an effort to improve sales, it's reported.

The move is an attempt to overcome perceptions that Chinese-made clothes are
poor quality, the South China Morning Post website reports. Instead, clothes are being labelled "made in PRC" - the People's Republic of China - because many Japanese customers don't know what the acronym stands for, the website says. Japan's Consumer Affairs Agency says despite the term being lost in translation, there's nothing to stop Chinese companies from changing their labels.

In response, Japan's clothing industry is planning a new label of its own. The "J Quality" tag will be attached to clothes if weaving, dyeing and sewing are all carried out domestically, according to a Kyodo news agency report. It's hoped the tag will encourage people to spend more on "high quality domestic products" rather than buying cheaper imports, an industry official is quoted as saying.

Relations between Japan and China have been strained by a territorial row over a group of islands in the East China Sea, and the negative feelings appear to run deep. In 2014, a Japanese think tank report found that 93% of respondents had an unfavourable opinion of China, up 3% on the previous year. - BBC Reportage.

60 comments:

1. Even in us and canada, you will still see products written, made in china but we all know that it might made in china but with us or canadian standard.

1. BLOG ANALYSER: @anno 7:09 yessoooo! However the annoying part is made in China for Nigerian market. They will now use substandard materials as requested by Nigerians

2. Hahahaha@Onyi Asa no b sae u talk. Once we see made in China 4 naija hia it means na akuraku o

3. Nigeria made in China has low quality because they asked and paid for low quality

2. Even in us and canada, you will still see products written, made in china but we all know that it might made in china but with us or canadian standard.

1. Yea Bcos labour is cheap in China that's why it produced there.

2. Even some human beings have been tagged made in China

1. It doesn't change the fact that its still made in China!
      Quality is key

4. Does changing the label from made in china to prc change the quality of the goods

5. Hmmnnn, i guess they are tired of being looked down upon.

Order for your cupcakes, birthday cakes, wedding cakes, chinchin, small chops, meat pie, donuts etc. We deliver to homes/offices.

6. I don't understand o

7. Good for them.
    I hope our Igbo brothers will not copy them and confuse Customers the more.

8. ohk.... good morning all

9. But of course na.Almost all "Made In China" Clothes are of poor quality. Lol

1. That's not true. U r talking from a Nigerian perspective cos our igbo brothers will go and tell them to make the cheap one for Nigerians to maximise profit. Same ppl will also produce for UK or US use and it will be high quality 'made in china' cos these countries take QA & Qc seriously.
      Apple products are made in China cos of cheap labour, if an iphone is produced in US, the cost of the phone will be so outrageous cos what a US worker is paid per hour is much more than what a Chinese worker is paid

10. Awwwww!!!! Poor chinko!!!
    Love me some made in china..... Oh! sorry, made in PRC...

11. Please click on my name, read and comment. Thanks

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Lolx... I still prefer "made in china" than PRC... China no dey joke i swear....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

13. It's a good step in the right direction..whatever rocks their boat.

14. Jst as Aba is tagging theirs,MADE IN CHINA to boost sales too...

15. But seriously most of their cloths are of low quality kinda...
    I can't say about electronics and utensil though.
    Good morning all. Do have a blessed day

16. made in PRC lol...will watch out for that

17. China products na still china made no matter the name you change it to. Just like Econet, celtel, vmobile, airtel etc na still one network be that.

18. it is well....God bless the work of hands today

19. Lol

Is it that they manufacture same poor quality stuff for their fellow Asians?

Na wa.....

20. That's a good development, I hope nigeria will also take such step

21. Lol una don announce the new label name come spoil market again for them.whether made in china or not,people that will buy will buy.Those people are trying though

22. Even top American designers produce in china cos their cost of production is low
    There's nothing to it if u ask me
    GUCCI, GUESS, RALPH LAUREN,DIOR and many more all have factories in china

so Japan should just take a chill pill

23. China product is of low quality na...na dem sabi sha

24. So even them don dey reject made in china

25. Lol... China will always be China.. Whether PRC or PBC

26. All na nomenclature. Its still China quality

27. Some made in China products r vry durable but since dey r tired of being looked down Eyaa for dem.

28. China products especially their clothes are low in quality and standard,will the name change also change that

29. But it still does not change the fact that it's of low quality, with the Maas production they push to plenty countries. Made in China oh, made in PRC, it's the substance that will change the perception not the name.

30. Nonsense!! Japanese be looking for cheap labourers..what happens to employing their citizens .And have it labeled made in Japan

31. PRc don dey market for long nA

32. I hope they'll also focus on improving the quality of their products and not just changing the label alone

33. China product na forkup.Of u use japanese phone eh u go comfam.Changing d name no change d quality na its stil d same.

34. All the 'my money grows like pubic hair, yori yori baby' that our brothers in Aba produce too are labelled 'Made in China'.

35. China n dia stupid sense

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan~

36. Some high end retail shops still have China, Indonesia, Korea and Turkey on there labels because workforce is more cheaper over there but the clothing are still of nice quality.

Please click on my name for unprocessed virgin human hair. Thanks

1. How can you classify turkey with china/korea?
      Turkey has the best product and materials. Ask around.

37. China and their fake product!its notin new

38. U think China products doesn't last?..Try Chinese hair...

39. Nigeria should look into rebranding, it might boost patronage for her own goods, as this will impact greatly to our gdp and diversification of the economy away from oil dependency

40. Made in China clothes are subject to various standards of various countries they are producing for. So there are original stuffs too labelled "Made In China ".