Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 31/3/2015

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 31/3/2015

Good Morning...

The wait up for the Presidential election 2015 result continues today!

Please read what the Daily news headlines have for you!

PUNCH

* Buhari leads with 2m votes …as INEC declares 18 states, FCT only:

Results from 18 states and the Federal Capital Territory so far released by the Independent National Electoral Commission on Monday showed the All Progressives Congress Presidential candidate, Maj. Gen. Muhammadu Buhari coasting to victory.

He polled 8,520,436 votes in the states and the FCT while his Peoples Democratic Party counterpart and incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan had 6,488,210 votes.

The Daura, Katsina State-born former Head of State won 10 of the states and Jonathan, eight plus the FCT.

The states cleared by Buhari are Kaduna, Kwara, Katsina, Kano, Jigawa, Oyo, Ondo, Osun, Kogi and Ogun.

Jonathan captured Abia, Anambra, Nasarawa, Enugu, Ekiti, Akwa Ibom, Imo, Plateau and FCT.

In the South-West states, Buhari won in   Oyo, Ondo, Osun, Ogun but lost in Ekiti where he garnered 120,331 votes. Jonathan   polled 176,466 votes in the PDP-controlled state.

Buhari polled   299,889 votes   in Ondo, 308,290 in Ogun, 528, 620 in Oyo and 383,603 in Osun while Jonathan had   251,368; 207,950; 303,376; 249,929 respectively.

The results from Lagos State are yet to be announced.

Expectedly, the President held sway in the South-East by scoring in Abia, 368,303 votes; Anambra, 660, 762; Enugu,553,003; Ebonyi, 323,653 and Imo, 559,185.

Buhari had 13,394 votes in Abia State; 17,926 in Anambra; 14,157 in Enugu; 19,518 in Ebonyi and133,253 in Imo.

*Suswam, Yuguda, Ngige loose senatorial bid

*Fayose ‘ll defeat APC again, says aide

*APC battles Kashamu, alleges rigging

*Military frees women, children seized by B’Haram

*Buhari group calls for Fani-Kayode’s arrest

*Military aids electoral fraud –Okorocha

*Senate Leader loses seat, Saraki wins

*APC loses six reps seats in Lagos

*Police fire tear gas at protesting APC women

*Amaechi imposes curfew on Rivers
01:19  21 Comments

*We’ll resist rigging, says Jonathan campaigners

*Blame INEC for lapses – Demola Seriki

*Fear of violence forces lawyers to shun court

*Osun PDP, APC disagree over outcome of polls

THE NATION

*Buhari leads Jonathan in 10 states with 2.03m

*U.S., U.K. warn against tampering with polls results

*Senators who will not return

*Police teargas protesting women in PH

*Perpetrators of poll violence ’ll be held accountable, says EU
 March 31, 2015 by Nduka Chiejina,

*24 ‘hoodlums’ arrested

*Fashola allays fears of violence in Lagos

*Naira devaluation presents challenges, opportunities, says NSIA chief

*‘Sea link project ‘ll ease transportation challenges’

*Enugu to review water law to boost performance

*Skye Bank eyes $250m from share sale

*Fitch cuts Nigeria’s credit-rating to negative

*Fed Govt plans deregulated gas price regime

*26 years after, train returns to Kaura Namoda

*‘How Epe united for Ambode’

VANGUARD

*Buhari Support Org calls for arrest of Fani-Kayode

*Elections: Capital market operators project gradual equities rebound

*Kashamu bribed voters during election —APC

*Troop frees women, elderly, children locked up by fleeing terrorists

*Minister lauds electorate for voting PDP

*Police warn against breaching the peace over polls results

*APGA accuses PDP of conspiracy with Army, INEC to rewrite results

*Polls: Police begin investigation into Ihiala violence

*External reserve hits new low, below 4 months import

THIS DAY

*Buhari in Strong Lead as INEC Releases Results

*Tension Rises as Rivers Govt Imposes Curfew after Elections

*EU, Commonwealth Observers Give Elections Pass Mark

*Abdulsalami Committee: Nigeria Now Entering Most Difficult Phase of Elections

*PDP, APC Continue Diatribe on Underage Voting, Election Results

*Ibori: Court Releases Timetable on Confiscation Hearing

*Total Sells Stake in OML 29 to Aiteo for $569m

*FG Commences Massive Relief Items Distribution for Adamawa Returnees

*Wamakko, Jang, Orji, Akpabio, Saraki, Ekwunife, Win Senatorial Election

*CAN Chairman Commends Nigerians for Peaceful Polls, Urges Curfew in Volatile Areas Before Release of Results

*IG Commends Officers, Nigerians for Orderly Conduct during Polls

*Edo APC Deputy Chairman Alleges Threat to Life

*Kaduna Residents Stay Indoors for Fear of Post-election Violence

*Ondo: APC Wins Two Senatorial, Five House Seats

*50 Killed in Last Saturday’s Elections, Says NHRC

38 comments:

1. Every newspaper just has something about election to report, let the best man win.

1. Blog analyser: seriously fantasazing about the results

2. Sai Baba, Sai Buhari. All praise and thanks to God. Now, my life has started in Jesus' Name, amen.

1. Your life has just started? So buhari has been the person holding ur life, wow, some of u just talk rubbish. *smh*

2. It's a done deal.
      We have a new president.

3. Amen my sister

4. Oluyomi, u sound so confident. Remember in ur kingdom ooo.....lol

3. That sambo useless sha ...........this election will mark history in Nigeria.........Stella u must enjoy me

4. Election and it's results making waves. Hopefully we will know the winner today.

Who else is at home waiting for 10am? Some people are so calm this morning, hoping that a miracle will happen, lmao

#Change

It's nothing personal, we just chose the deep blue sea over the devil (understand the literal meaning your way)

Crouching Tigress come and take me to the movies, what are friends for?

1. I'm as calm as a cucumber. I'm at home/work and I'm waiting for Jega. home/work and I'm waiting for Jega.

2. La Katie,La baby!
      I am home too...waiting....not for d final results buh waiting to parry hard...cos Yea! We all know who put next President is La Katie.....

Hahhahaha@hoping for Miracles to happen....Nah!
      The Miracle has already happened while dey slept....LMAO
      Sai is d Miracle!

La Katie,La Katie!
      Has Chinyelu and Joy "hired" the Bus yet??
      Hahahahhahahahahaha
      Chi baby!
      Joy Baby!
      Linda Baby!

*Stiffles Laugh*

*Roars out In Laughter*

#LetTheBestManWin#

#TheBestManWon#

3. Hopefully o.
      If they don't go for endless pee break like they did yesterday.

5. Oh chimoooo!!! JEGA no rigging o....AYAN CHINEKE NE LE GI OOOO! GEJ FOR LIFE...

1. Hahahaha Iyawo ndi Okija!
      U re trying nne.....Anya chineke....

2. Abi na @charismatic Diva, am learning fast o before Anambra ppl will take me cook soup....anytime we go village,u nid to see me looking like dundy cos I no understand Ibo...phew!!!

6. I won't be surprise when GEJ ends up winning, Pdp na teamrig

1. The rigging MAY not be possible this time cos voters monitored results closely and were already posting online.....so people already have an idea of d figures.

7. In other news a guy with Twitter handle @mcvaaey started churning out tweets yesterday night, asking northerners to march and slaughter all igbos for voting Jonathan.. Not funny at all! Pls put it up on yours blog! This guy needs to be dealt with.

8. I am going to have a heart attack.. My blood pressure don full#God take control#-Pst.Chekeleke

9. Kk noted*tnk God fr a new day

10. The northerners voted massively for Buhari.

1. Northerners are very faithful to their own. If Buhari were to be a puppy, as long as he's a northerner, they'll vote for him. What I don't understand is what is Sambo's job?

2. Well...we voted massively for GMB in southwest too. PDP ...do not dare rig! The masses have spoken!

11. Ph curfew expecting more violence after results

12. It is well.
    Let God's will be done in Nigeria.
    I still remain team GEJ.

13. PDP cannot just accept defeat for once in its corrupt life..jeez!!! #BS

14. APC and thier supporters are so barbaric. When they rig an elections like they did in Kano, Kaduna and other Nothern states, it's okay and its the will of the people. But when PDP wins in the south East with half the votes, it's rigging. Competion should be healthy, not when people are harassed about thier choices. Believe it or not, just the way Buhari has his supporters, Goodluck also has a right to his own supporters. Once PDP wins in a state, there is protest, and yet you tell me that is change? Oppression is not change. Live and let's live.

15. sai baba...sai buhari!!! how I love dis man!!!

16. #SaiBaba, #Saibuhari