Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: #OndoX: UN, WHO, NCDC Alerted About Deadly Disease In Ondo

Friday, April 17, 2015

#OndoX: UN, WHO, NCDC Alerted About Deadly Disease In Ondo

The Ondo State Government is working hard to curtail the outbreak of an unknown disease in the Ode-Irele community of Ondo state, leading to the death of no fewer than 28 people in the past three days. 3 survivors reported.

The Federal Ministry of Health, the World Health Organisation, and the National Centre for Disease Control have also been alerted of the outbreak.

According to residents of the community,  the disease broke out three days ago, spreading rapidly around the community and killing its victim within 24 hours. Victims wake up blind and die within hours.

Since cause is still unknown, the disease has been tagged #OndoX. 

The disease which affects the central nervous system, shows neurologic clinical symptoms like blindness, headache and loss of consciousness before death.

Ebola Alert, an International group of volunteer professionals who helped with the Ebola Virus Disease interventions in the country, via their official Twitter handle, reported 28 people dead from the disease. However, the State Health Commissioner, Dayo Adeyanju, put the number of dead victims at 14.

Mr. Adeyanju, while briefing newsmen in Akure, said preliminary investigations showed that the disease is not Ebola “as it does not manifest any of its symptoms, but it attacks the central nervous system of the victims”.

He said the state government, after getting information on the disease, immediately deployed officials who took samples from victims which was sent to Lagos for laboratory analysis to help understand the nature of the disease.

Mr. Adeyanju, who warned against spreading false information on social media, said the government is on top of the situation, and advised people in the council area to report any strange illness to the nearest health facility.

He assured that the government is also doing its best to contain the disease from further spreading out of the town while those infected were being quarantined at the General Hospital, Irele, with other patients moved out of the facility.

The Health Commissioner also advised people of the area to avoid handling dead bodies at this period to help contain further spread of the disease.

Ondo State commissioner for information and strategy, Kayode Akinmade, also added that the 14 deaths recorded in Ode Irele, Ondo state, from the “strange” ailment are directly connected to an exhumed corpse in the community and that the 14 victims had personal contacts with those people who came to exhume the corpse that led to the epidemic.

Leaders of the community however believe there's a spiritual undertone to the outbreak,  claiming some people broke into a shrine, and the god became angry with them, striking all those people who have hands in the act. Rituals are already being carried out in the community to appease the gods.

72 comments:

1. Yikesssss!!!
      Who be this? Lol

2. The last paragraph is what really happened, cant give details tho. Umale okun ghe pa han je ni

3. Plz they should quarantine everyone there abeg I no wan hear stories

4. Stella. There are over a thousand(1,000) children starving and threatened with malnutrition in the forgotten bakassi displaced camp. If you or any organization/celebrity/politician/diaspora/embassy or individual is touched to help pls reply on this same thread. Pictures and information and evidence are available on request. There are already a couple of children approaching danger list.

1. Omg..n am close to d place . . #sipsMoetnChandon

3. NawA o..! Have your way lord

4. God be with everyone in Ondo. Thank God all hands are on deck to curtail the outbreak and treat those already affected.

Please "Support Saving Father"

5. I taught they said is people that went to shrine to do one thing like that where being killed.
    God save us

6. I just got this too Lord have mercy

7. Yeah I heard about it earlier stellz, I can't bear to watch bad things happen to the people I spent 4 years with! I pray a solution is found quickly o

1. Who will find the solution,?Africans always pushing responsibilities to others.go there and do volunteer job that is exactly what oyibo will do.

2. Anon 20:44,
      You have forgotten so soon how Nigerians stood up and fought ebola.

8. I served in the said Ode-Irele community back in 2012-2013 o.... Those people tho....very wicked, devious and always practicing voodoo but there are a few good and nice ones. I hope it gets curtailed soon.

1. U're right they can do juju for Africa and some of them are very wicked beings but if yu get close to them they'll accept you

2. Ondo and ekiti people are very wicked and vindictive, they don't forgive.

3. You know Yorubas love voodoo too much, don't you see all their movies cannot end without a visit to babalawo and they are also very fetish, you see sacrifices everywhere in their villages,you wake up in the morning and corn and salt will be everywhere on the streets,they are also very superstitious,if you bite your nails around them,they will say you want to gibw them bad luck or a strand of your hair touches them na wahala,some of them will tell you they don't sell to a woman if she is their first customer,or borrow you money on Monday morning,very superstitious and fetish tribe.

4. Even if it's voodoo, let's pray it doesn't spread too far cz we all will be at risk.

5. Lol but i served in anambra state. The hauses around d nysc secteriat in awka all had dieties/statues in front of them .
      Also the road at the back of governors house (cnt remember d name. I served 2007 ). Also had all dos stuffs in front of the hauses. I was scared to death my first night in the area.
      During endurance trek tooo we saw plenty plenty stuffs. I had to take my eyes away many timed.

Corn nd salt pouring has a lot to with white garment churches.

6. Must u people turn this disaster into a tribal warfare again? You all should be ashamed of yourselves. Haba!!!!!!

Any little discourse, you'll always find a way to coin tribal sentiments into it, I wonder what u derive from it. It makes u appear little, if you don't know I'll tell u. It makes u less intelligent and substandard. Even under anonymous u should be ashamed of yourselves.

I wonder what has come over you guys these days. Very intolerant and irascible. Makes me wonder how u live your lives daily knowing you'll come across everyone from different works of life, this sort of mentality will eat u up and will deter u from prospering amongst free spirited people.

When u begin to view life and people by their of state of origin, u are marked for doom. It's not a curse, it's a FACT.

Just STOP it. It's obnoxious, it's discouraging, it's myopic and shallow. Only sadists talk like this. People who are successful in life will never talk this way because to get where they are they must have mingled with every tribe, have helped, and have been helped by people other than their tribes men.

Cut it out. Emancipate your shallow mindedness. That we are online doesn't make it cool, hiding to spew this thrash doesn't exempt u of the shame that wallows and consumes those who think like u.

Enough said

7. 100 kisses for sisi eko

8. Foolish tribalistic igbo people, even igbo films do have babalawo scene....Always looking for ways to insult the yorubas. Igbos are the most tribalistic tribe in Nigeria.

9. Sisi Eko, God bless you.They will deviate from the issue at hand and start talking thrash.

10. God bless you plenty Sisi Eko! You just spoke my mind. And Anon 10:55, no need to descend to that level with them; it'll only bring you down to their level. There are several positive, lovely and non-judgmental people from that tribe too. Focus your posirivity on them.......... Just Me

9. Pls God not any Ebola disease.

10. Again ? Chineke ! God pls, biko save your Kids.

11. African juju at work.
    Yesterday I watched a very intetesting yoruba movie
    ThUNDErBOLT, its about magun,a curse placed on a woman so that any1 that has sex with her dies, as a check against adultery.does it really exist?the thing fear me o its not fair because the woman still dies if she ia innocent.and the causer goes scotfree.fear african juju.

1. I have seen the movie...
      It's real...

Don't ever let your man finger you if you are promiscuous...

2. Yes, it exists o....there's power in the world.

12. Ha!!! God ooo, which one come be dis one na???

13. These educated illiterates should have known it is a decease rather than their usual belief in juju.

14. Aunt stella do you know lord lugard who formed Nigeria may have been a devil worshipper, Nigeria actually means 'darkness area'. We have a very bad foundation.hmmmn!

1. Oh dear ignorance at its peak ! Its means "Nigga Area" not "Darkness Area" neither is it "Niger Area" as most people would say
      Get your facts right...or ask your teachers for a refund !!!!
      Red Hill

15. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

16. Everybody shouting God God God. Nigerians when will u help ur selves????

I hope ur drs and health system are up to the task, if not.
    Sacrifice to appease what gods? Oh Africa. U are truly the dark continent.

ABC

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Who cause africa abeg.....??

18. Why do they keep bringing all these disease to Lagos to find a cure. What happened to Abuja and PH. I don't wanna hear pim or say person cough, blind, come die 4 Lagos o.

19. Oduduwa juju could at work there. Who knows.

20. God that took control of Ebola will have his way.Amen.

21. This is getting serious oh! God we don't need this out break.

22. God shud help us ohhh....... And government shud give adequate attention to dis out break ohhh

23. Haba! Wat kind of disease is this again na? Done wt Ebola&now ondoX.
    God its u alone dt can save ur own.

24. The dead people cut the head of a corpse strucked dead by Ayelala for money ritual. The gods got angry and decided to revenge which is always the case when anybody touch the corpse of anybody stiked dead by ayelala. The last person confessed this morning before he gave up the ghost. The land must be cleansed to stop the death. All of you calling Yoruba people dirty, na Ayelala go strike ya dirty mouths.

1. *struck and not strucked and stiked.

25. CLEAR CASE OF METHANOL POISONING! Google and read symptoms!

1. Dr Google. U na doh. Yet another ignorant person. SMH. You know nothing about epidemiology obviously.

26. The fly that refuses to heed advice follows the corpse to the grave!

27. In 2015 nig is still so backward ,what a bloody shame !!!! Wood alcohol poisoning is killing this ppl otherwise known as methanol poisoning. Smhing since yesterday my neck is starting to hurt. I remember awhile ago a very popular salon opp total look boutique on Allen av ,a very pretty dark skinned nig Ghanaian lady came to nig on hol from the UK ,on this day she was wearing bum shorts and this ladies making their hair came for her like a pack of wolves .she was in tears as in crying uncontrollably,she had to use a scarf to tie round her when she left with her bf. I always wore skimpy outfits then to that particular salon but no one has ever tried that with me cos they know me i be silent werey.

1. What is the correlation between what you started saying and what you ended it with? Na so people de take fail exam be this oh. Koro off point.

2. Methanol poisoning. Really! Are you a doctor. Mschew. Ignorant wanabee

28. But I haven't said anything wrong other than reminiscence my days back there and pray it gets curtailed.