Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: GTBank Launches Mobile Phone Money Transfer - First Of Its Kind!

Saturday, May 16, 2015

GTBank Launches Mobile Phone Money Transfer - First Of Its Kind!

PRESS RELEASE

For the first time in Nigeria, individuals and GTB customers can send instant money transfers directly from their mobile phone , irrespective of their status or phone type. 

Mr Segun Agbaje. MD, GTBank

GTBank has launched another first of its kind mobile channel through which  GTBank customers can conveniently perform third party transfers to both GTBank and other bank account holders in Nigeria, via their mobile phones, by simply dialling the USSD short code *737 with details of the amount and account number (NUBAN) of the beneficiary.

The *737* transfer service is a novel offering pioneered by GTBank in the Nigerian Financial Industry, that is safe, simple and convenient. To initiate transfers to a GTBank account, simply dial *737*1*Amount*NUBAN Account No# e.g. *737*1*1000*1234567890# 

The 737 transfer service has been introduced to build on the success of the Bank’s One Click Top –upservice; which offers GTBank customers an efficient and easy way to buy airtime on their mobile phones directly from their GTBank account by simply dialing a short USSD code (*737*AMOUNT#). 

According to Mr. Segun Agbaje, Managing Director/CEO of the Bank, “we will continue to leverage technology to make banking, especially payments and transfers, faster, safer and more convenient for all our customers. He further stated that, “this service addresses the electronic banking requirements of our customers, irrespective of their phone type”. 

The *737* Transfer service is only available to GTBank customers via their mobile phone numbers registered with the Bank and has minimum transfer limit of N1,000 and a daily transfer limit of N20,000.

Guaranty Trust Bank plc was established in 1990 and has within the last 25 years come to be recognized as one of the most profitable, innovative, service focused and well managed banks in the Nigerian financial market space. 

The Bank has a record of “Industry First” innovations such as “GTBank Mobile App”, a mobile application that merges internet banking and mobile money service offerings to allow customers enjoy more flexible banking such as Check account balance, Transfer Funds to family and friends, Stop and confirm cheques, Bill payments, FX transfers, Flight Bookings, Airtime Recharge, Online Shopping and Purchase cinema tickets 

52 comments:

1. Wow. I'm impressed!!!

2. What of transferring to a non-gt bank account (I mean other bank e.g uba or first bank) what's the code pls

2. Abeg gtbank should do something about the too much crowd in their banks, and unending queues. Maybe they should build more branches.

1. Isn't dt what they've just done? Reducing d crowd. Hian

2. If only customers wud be more e channel inclined, which is wat we r trying to achieve. Imaginr customers coming all d way to d bank jst to check their balance, or to confirm their account numbers?? Wen u can do this from ur fone. Anoda causer of this queue is dispense error, u can log this via Internet banking as well. You can also view ur account manager's details online n make watever enquiry without making that long trip to the banking hall.
      We are to serve you n make banking more convenient for you.

I love my bank.

Twilight Jasmine.

3. I use it. Great service and veeeeerrrry convenient.

4. Thank you GTB. This is so cool

5. This is innovation at its peak, excellent customer satisfaction delivery. No more long queues.

6. stella r u jus hearing this for the 1st time, na wa oh

1. I tire sef ...I've been using it for months now.

2. Liar, this was launched last week. u could only recharge ur phone with *737# before now. Try harder next time😃

3. Yea,its only getting a recharge for phones that worked,transferring cash to the limit of 20k a day is new

7. All I can see is their MD.....he looks yummy

Nice initiative, hope it works though

8. Nice initiative!
    Funny cos I was thinking of the possibility of this a few days ago lol

9. For the first time in Nigeria???
    Lool.
    Not true.

Weldone GT! Always on top with innovations.

10. Which one is first of it kind in Nigeria? UBA had this service sinve ages. Its new for zGt but not in Nigeria.

11. Which one is first of it kind in Nigeria? UBA had this service since ages. Its new for Gt but not in Nigeria.

1. Who dash uba??? So not true. Pls verify b4 u talk.

12. Which one is first of it kind in Nigeria? UBA had this service since ages. Its new for Gt but not in Nigeria.

1. Bad belle learn to appreciate

2. Why d beef now?so much beef on d street and non in d fridge.
      Anyway nice one Gtbank,I hope d idea won't be hijacked by scammers.
      Am going to try it out!!!

13. Una no go employ staffs Na to do election and technology.

Went for induction since last year, no news till now. :(

14. Ver funny people, I have been doing that with my Keystone account since!!! Liars!!

15. Its not new ohhhh plzzzz zenith has it abeg *966# abeg.Stella how much did they pay you,oya transfer to me.

16. Check www.beeptool.com for your free calls and cheap international calls

17. Nah! GTBank is not the first bank in Nigeria with this app.. The bank I worked with introduced this services to their customers since february last year. And the mobile money transfer has been working smoothly. I buy my airtime from the app, if I want to transfer money to anyone, all I need is your nuban account number and I will do the transfer immediately to any bank in nigeria with the help of the mobile money app. And the limit of transfer is not N20,000 in my bank. So GTBank shouldn't pose as the first bank to introduce this app cos apart from my bank that started using this february last year, I know another bank that introduced same service late last year..

1. I bet you didn't read the article cos this is not about the mobile app but just dialling the code on your phone. Go back and read well

18. Lovely step !!GtBank all d way !! No need to go queue again at branches ....#smiles#

19. In gtbank, the executives are paid to think Mehn. They are always ahead of other banks in terms of IT innovations. The only thing is that the crowd no be for here. They are the Firstbank of the new generation banks.
    *Firstbank is also synonymous with crowd and queues.

20. first of it's kind keh? I have been using this service in Diamond bank for a long time now

21. Hmmm is he related to jimi agbaje looks like him a lot and hmmmm he's fine

22. Didn't know abt funds transfer, only top-up. Nice 1

23. This transfer service is so wonderful, it works just the same way you can buy airtime with one click from GTBank. Again my bank has scored a major first! Simple, safe and convenient, that's how I can describe this innovation. This is the reason why I stay with this bank, they are light years ahead. Well done GTBank Staff for delighting us all the time. I am waiting patiently for the next innovation, I am sure competition is waiting to copy you, but we know who the true innovators are.

1. First Atlantic Bank(now merged under FCMB) has been doing this since 2002(google it) even before phone apps,nuban account,NIP etc came about. Then it was called flash me cash.No bank attempted it till Stanbic IBTC and E-tranzact started mobile banking 10 years later.How can GTB claimed to be the pioneer.Even Union Bank has been offering this since October last year.Anyway in Nigeria,who makes the loudest noise will appear to be the leader or innovator.

2. Zobo and Ribena are not the same thing. A first generation Apple 3G phone would look obscene if you carry it around today. You can't compare an SMS based service to a faster, more convinient one click USSD based service.

24. UB wetin? Who dash dem? A beg make we hear word. Common short code they don't know what to do with it mscheeew.

25. Since the inception of this short code,its difficult scratching recharge cards now,and see innovation on display,u can now transfer 20k a day,Weldon GTB,you set d pace in conventional banking practices

26. Only one. Person noticed he looks like Jimi Agbage, I was thinking of election things.

27. This is a very nice and innovative. I just tried and i literarilly just paid my Drycleaner 10k. Fantastic innovation GTBank

28. So i don't need to replace my misplaced token....i hardly transfer more than 20k per day anyway. Omo na small traders like this dem make this one for o!!!

29. You guys don't read. Gosh! The post is not about the GTb mobile app but the short code which previously could only be used for airtime top up.

Learn to encourage innovation and stop beefing.

So much beef on the streets and none in your fridges. LOL

This would further reduce the queues in the bank. The mobile app and internet banking platforms were geared towards reducing customers in the banks but Nigerians can be so backward.
    They want to physically see the money they are collecting or sending.

Do you know how many GTb branches are available?

Or do you want GTB to open a branch at your dooormot???

30. FCMB had this since…long hiss

31. Stella they are not the first Bank to introduce that pls, Diamond Bank has been using that for long.