Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section.

Saturday, June 06, 2015

Doctors In House Section.

Calling on all Docs and Mums in the house....

MY THREE MONTH OLD BABY STOOL IS HARD.

Please can the house suggest what I will do to make my son's poo to be soft and without making him cry if he wants to poo.

He can stay for 3-4 days without poo-ing and it gives me concern. I am doing baby friendly.

89 comments:

1. What do you eat.. change diet maybe. Give him a teaspoon of orange once to ease the process. Babies on exclusive hardly poo so that's not a problem. I got 4kids the last 4months he's on exclusive. He goes 1week+ no poo n he's okay. What do you call "hard"? Any blood stain scanty info here.. @SHB

2. Errrrrrmm Bloglord.. isn't gripe water for abdominal/naval pains. Na wah ohh..!!

3. Gripe water will make him betta

4. Google is your friend dear 13:11

5. Change your diet, take fruits & water.

6. Cut white bread out of your diet,eat a lot of fibrous foods,(vegetables,tiger nuts,whole wheat(not the labelled ones ooh) I know castor oil works for constipation but please check online to be sure he can use it or better still you use it .....between are u also constipated

7. Please discard all these advice of Grape water. Babies that age hardly poo but if the baby struggles too much while doing it you can massage his tummy more while bathing, you as the mom can take oranges and possibly change ur diet. If that fails take the baby to a pediatrician just to be 100% sure nothing is wrong. Never self medicate on a baby. Cheers.

8. 80 shades of tizzy6 June 2015 at 18:56

Dis is still happening to me, i dont know wat 3months old takes, but u shuld change yur diet to a lot more fibrous foods and take fruits . So yur baby will take it from d breast milk. And i guess u shuld give yur baby warm water.

2. Biko start giving him milk formula...
    Stop suffering him!!.,.

1. So breast milk is suffering... Linda, you are so senseless. Tufia!

2. Milk formula will make the baby more constipated.

3. I start milk formulae early.
      My breasts are still pointing.
      #kidding

Take more of water n fruits
      They help

3. Maybe check what he is eating.

I'm not a mom yet so I can't really tell.

1. Y bother commenting?

2. Why bother replying? Anonymous gwegz!

3. Omg, quicksilver hahahhahahahhahhah, you dey follow anonymous qwegz for yansh. Lmao, that serves her right why bother replying hahahhahahahhahhah erubus.

4. Am a mum so here's my advice. A baby must poo everyday. I feel there is nothing to worry about. If it's too strong you can give him lots of water.

1. "Must"?? No no.. Babies on exclusive do not poo everyday they go days a week+. Often they fart with a little poo. Some babies don't take water, mine do not. A teaspoon of orange will do no harm.

2. Yes, everyday. Breast milk is so easy on babies stomach, that they go easily everyday or every other day, but not week+ like you pointed out. Some even go like twice a day. If a baby goes week+ like you said, then you need to take that baby to the doctor

3. Lots of water at 3months is a No- No

4. My baby pooed everyday like 2 times when he was a couple of months old...the moment he Feed he poos. so am thinking what u're eating is hard on baby's stomach. By the way all babies have different pattern of pooing. But as far as i know 3 days is too long for a baby not to poo

5. My baby is 2months and on exclusive. She poos once in 6/7days. Gone to diff pediatricians and dey sed she's absolutely ok, so far her tummy isn't hard and she darts alot. So anon 13.08 I totally agree with u

Deb

5. Please Doctors In The House, I Askd Yestaday If Pile Is A Sexually Transmitted Disease? If No, what's The Cos

1. The causer is sugary things. So reduce it

2. Are people really this ignorant!!! Na waa 4u @anonymous. Btw It isn't and as for the cause! Google is ur friend

3. Pile is nt sexually transmitted,
      I do know constipation causes it
      just like the case of the baby.
      when you are constipated, you visit the toilet once in 4days,5days and a week and the poop comes out strong and it quie painful. This causes a strain on the anus when defecating.
      having anal sex is also a factor and am sure u do, and that's why you think it's sexually transmitted

4. Stop doing anal sex!!...
      Meanwhile,it's not an STD...

6. Am a mum so here's my advice. A baby must not poo everyday. I feel there is nothing to worry about. If it's too strong you can give him small spoonfuls of water.

*typos in my first comment.

7. It's not all about what u would do 2make his poo soft,GO AND SEE A DOCTOR.
    Seriously though,i really don't understand somepeople,ur 3months old kid is constipated;which mind u,@dt stage could be caused by lots of things and instead of u to go to d hospital and allow d doctors to rule in and rule out,u are here seeking for how to make his poo soft,as if that would solve d underlying problem. Na waa o

8. sis I know of one green leaf it is planted in my compound it can solve the problem but I don't know the name at all my mom gave it to my younger sis when she had the same problem

#GODWIN™

1. Is your younger sister a 3 month old baby? Doctor Abe igi Mango!

2. I loooooooooooool enter gutter!!! Kai!

3. Do cottonbud and mentholatum insertion.it works

9. sis I know of one green leaf it is planted in my compound it can solve the problem but I don't know the name at all my mom gave it to my younger sis when she had the same problem. I can snap it and send to stella if you wish

#GODWIN™

1. Danny what planet ar u on. One green leaf for a 3mnth old. Really. Loooooooollllll. No wonder u look dis way.

10. Hehehehe, motherhood gone wrong. Smh.

11. This comment has been removed by the author.

12. Make sure he takes lots of water Everyday.

13. Nne water that boys stomach.... Fluid is all he needs before his anus tear finish.... Plz o! I don't understand dis baby friendly thing...

14. Always take alot of water yourself since breast milk is only what your baby takes. It will make his poo okay.

15. Dnt tink it calls 4 worries madam, since u re on baby-friendly improve ur diet n again rub fresh red oil on ur nipple bf feeding baby(twice a day) or drop a litle of oil in baby's mouth if he/she can leak it. Its well

16. Is he being exclusively breastfed? If so change your diet and use gripe water until it subsidies.

17. My baby did same around that age. Get an enema pump, lubricate with soap, vaseline or shea butter and pump some warm water with little disinfectant into his anus. The type of luke warm water you wld bathe him with. He will poop immediately. You can get in any pharmacy around you. Then if he's exclusively breastfed, pls watch what you eat. If he's formula fed, you should consider introducing water

1. DO NOT DO THIS @SHB

2. Ahan!!!! @3mnths????? Pls poster dnt try dis

18. Pls take ur child to d doctor!!! What will it take u? Don't be careless about tins like dis, u are a mother and u don't hav sense ur 3months old baby not even 3yrs. Abeg carry him to d hospital fast jare!! Even if they suggest anytin for u nw u fit get am wrong. Olodo

19. Dear mom,
    Babies don't poo everyday, and baby friendly is very nice, please don't stop breastfeeding your baby exclusively and I would advice that you drink plenty of water, lots of it and take fruits as well cos what u eat is what u pass unto ur baby. Drink water like a fish, it's important for your baby and your self too anyway. Best of luck
    Remember, drink water o.

20. Take your baby to d hospital.

21. Yes, you're right

22. Water could do the trick and if it doesn't take him to the doctor after 3days

23. Take ur baby to the hospital cos he has constipation. Meanwhile, mind what you eat cos u are doing exclusive breastfeeding.

24. I don't know if this will work but have seen it being used on my coz childwhile bathing the child use hot wat in pouring into the child bum bum it would make the baby poo

1. DO NOT DO THIS!!

2. My mil did this to my first daughter and it worked for her

25. Please take him to a paediatrician FAST

26. Get an agbo Jedi, d mild one. Kafra pelebe soaked in water will do the magic. However, a baby doesn't have to poo everyday. We call it, o nkunra ni!

27. Pls give your baby little castor oil... ur baby is constipation and watch out what u give him or her to eat or drink. Castor oil works for babies and adult as well

1. Nope,castor oil or liquid parafin not gd fr babies,gv d child water

28. Go and buy paw paw and start eating it. Since he is still breastfeeding it will help soften his stool. Na that one I know be the easiest method.

29. When baby doesn't take in much fluid the poo would be hard and he's body is absorbing much to grow. Increase his fluid intake whether ezxclusive breast milk or water BUT in regards to babies/children have a pediatrician a phonecall away or a stonethrow away. Risky asking for medial advice via these kinds of media.observe your baby closely to know his routine and when things seem odd. Take care

30. When baby doesn't take in much fluid the poo would be hard and he's body is absorbing much to grow. Increase his fluid intake whether ezxclusive breast milk or water BUT in regards to babies/children have a pediatrician a phonecall away or a stonethrow away. Risky asking for medial advice via these kinds of media.observe your baby closely to know his routine and when things seem odd. Take care. Kyla

31. When baby doesn't take in much fluid the poo would be hard and he's body is absorbing much to grow. Increase his fluid intake whether ezxclusive breast milk or water BUT in regards to babies/children have a pediatrician a phonecall away or a stonethrow away. Risky asking for medial advice via these kinds of media.observe your baby closely to know his routine and when things seem odd. Take care

32. Give him lots of water. But still go see the doc sha o.

33. Check your diet and change it as soon as possible. Whatever you eat affects that baby through breastfeeding.....

34. Since ur baby is cryn to poop, it means it is constipation. I wud advise u to go to a paediatrician. My son suffered same thing at 6 months n was given Lactulose wch workd lyk magic, n was also told to increase his fluid intake. Pls take ur baby to a paed for proper assessment n medication.

35. You can give him little spoonfuls of of Orange juice or water or Honey, but in all don't do anything without consulting your doctor as babies react to things differently. Its well with you.

1. Honey to a 3 month old?? Na wa o

2. Please honey is not good for babies!!!!

3. You can't give a baby Honey till at least the child is 1 year and above.

36. Go and buy 3.35g per 5g Lactulose solution and read the instructions before administration

37. Ideally, at that age, exclusively breastfed babies don't poo often. But it's the fact that it's hard that is a bit puzzling. Maybe it's sun thing u r taking that's making it hard. Whats the color of the poo.? The poo of a healthy breastfed baby is supposed to b yellowish mustard.

38. Check what you're eating . Eat much fruits and reduce your milk intake
    Hope it helps.

39. 3month old on exclusive breastfeeding with no poo for 3days is ok, but since u say it is hard , i will advice u squeeze a bit of orange and give to the child. it really helps.a mild rub on the abdomen too works. it sure did for my baby.pls do not do any enema on ur 3month old. if it still persists see ur paediatrician.

40. Babies DONT pooh everyday!

Pls bear that in mind.

Things u can do:
    Make sure that u,d Mom is Taking enough Fluids.
    Make sure dat d baby too is Taking enough fluids.By dat i mean Water,Some Oranges(Squeeze n Give)

Den relax......
    God's Grace.

41. You can try a little milk of magnesia and water together with a spoonful of Orange juice.it. Works wonders.a teaspoon full of milk of magnesia will do.Goodluck

42. Exclusively breastfed babies don't poo everyday..maybe once or twice a week. Watch what u eat..stay clear very hard foods. Drink lots of fluid.My two kids were exclusively breastfed..when my baby girl was about 4 months,she had the same problem..but I was the causer..a new bakery opened in my street then,and I couldn't resist the smell of their bread. Anytime I pass there,two loaves must follow me reach house. And I wasn't taking a lot of fluids. I noticed that when I reduced the eating of bread,her poo returned to normal..I dunno the connection o,but ur diet kinda affects ur exclusively breastfed baby..

43. I am a mum have been since 11 years, when you are doing baby friendly is common for the baby to go days without pooing because the body just absorbs all the breast milk there is no residue to pooh out. I had that experience with my daughter 9 yrs ago, as a first time mum I rushed her to the clinic and this was the explanation I got. The moment you introduce formula it will normalise

44. Since you are doing baby friendly then he should not constipated. Give him water as suggested by blog visitors but you yourself have to watch what you eat because it transfers to what your baby takes from your breast milk. Avoid sugary things like refined sugar and. Soft drinks and you too should take plenty of water.

45. Agbo jedi for a 3 month old???? Anon don't do this o...it is not out of place for ur baby to b constipated, his/her tummy is getting used to functioning on its own ( wen inside the womb, stomach no dey too do anything) so, as the poster that suggested buying enema pump said, ur baby jus needs help stimes to poo.... put warm water with soap into the enema pump then gently push jus the tip into ur baby's anus and pump the water in....u will see that within minutes, poo will come out. I have seen a mother in law use her left hand to part the baby's buttocks jus after bathing and with d right hand squeeze warm water + soap from d sponge directly on the anus, jus for a few seconds( wen d sponge is completely drained, she dips in the warm water+soap mix again and repeats d action)..before I can say stellakork, see poo don commot and d bath session is finally over.

46. Choi. Some of the comments here should be taken with a pinch of salt.
    Dear poster, although it is normal for some babies to go up to a week without pooing, when they do poo, it should not be hard.
    Your baby is constipated. Since you are an EBF mom, you should make dietary changes. More fluid and roughage. If you do not mind giving the baby something other than breastmilk meanwhile, juice a pear, dilute with some water half and half. Give baby 2 fl oz for the constipation. Good luck.

47. @SDK prayer lady your advise is just the best so far.
    Thumbs up to u.