Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Joy FM OAP Faces Sack Over Comment Against David Mark

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Joy FM OAP Faces Sack Over Comment Against David Mark

A top presenter with Joy FM, Otukpo Benue State is on the verge of losing his job for making a ‘careless’ comment about its owner, Senator David Mark.
DAILY POST gathered from a reliable insider that problem ensued during an interactive session with listeners recently, when a caller from Igbanonmaje area of the state complained about the deplorable state of a particular road linking the town.

The aggrieved caller said it was unfortunate that the road had been abandoned for years with no hope of reconstruction in sight.

It was gathered that the caller further complained of the embezzlement of funds meant for Rural Access Mobility Projects (RAMP), which consists 18 roads.

The caller specifically heaped the blame on the former Senate President, Mark, whom he claimed was behind the poor handling of the projects.
Innocently, the host of the show replied the caller by saying, “that is the situation in the country my brother; the rich keeps getting richer and the poor getting poorer.”
After the show, the presenter was summoned to the Manager’s office to explain the meaning of his comment.

“The manager blasted the presenter for agreeing to everything the caller said by complementing him with such sensitive statement.
“He was queried and surcharged for not protecting the interest of their principal on air.
“We shall know his fate by 31st of this month; but from what I gathered, the presenter is on his way out,” the insider claimed.

Efforts to reach the Managing Director of the station, Mrs. Christabel Iyanya could not yield any fruit as her numbers were switched off.

What a pity..to be sacked for agreeing to the truth.Lets wait till 31st,if they sack the OAP,i will open a post calling out whoever needs to be called out...Sebi na  #CHANGE era we dey? change means #TRUTH.

78 comments:

1. Abeggi!
    People be behaving like tin gods.
    As if wot d Caller said isnt true. Inukwa!

@ Dear presenter,when one door closes,another one opens. A bigger one at that.

1. Aunty Stella, that's why I love you.you are scared of no one..our very own Amanpour..

2. Change means truth.
    If you visit my home state stella,you will weep for my people,but again who would you blame,because when it's time to vote,they will collect par boiled rice as against the local rice and then sell their future.
    God will help Benue state.
    David mark is the worst person in human form that Benue has ever produce.
    He had all the opportunity to at leave make a change,what did he do?NOTHING.
    It's a pity.

3. You see why the Bible says you must be gentle as the dove and smart as a snake. Joy, you dont bite the fingers that feed you. It is painful but you for say the thing inside your belle. nobody go hear your pain.

It is well. please look for another job. buhari no go employ you at all. i know most of you wants to be in the good book of duara dullard.

sorry nne. it is well

1. You greatly lack manners. How you could be so insultive to someone who is probably old enough to be your grandfather is beyond me. Have your words made the situation better? Just blew a stale mass of air...

2. The name of the OAP is not joy...the name of the radio station is Joy fm.

3. U r calling somebody a dullard yet after reading the post, u took the name of the OAP to be Joy. Who is now the dullard?

4. God will save him o.

5. yeah i support you 100% on it stella

6. gbam! you made sense..people are not free to speak the truth anymore for fear of their honey pot bin taken away.

7. The OAP would have answered diplomatically. What happens to saying that "we will call the attention of the people in charge". Job no dey anywhere, so one has to apply wisdom in managing anyone he or she has.

8. But truth be told,all the roads in Otukpo is horrible...
    The first and the last time I visited there,I was ashamed...
    David mark didn't do anything for his people...it's a shame!!...
    Shame on him...

1. But it isn't David Mark duty to repair roads. Benue has a governor and state has a budget.

9. GOBE.......
    Slip of tongue...

10. Na waooo! I support your government Stella dear! what nonsense!

11. Hahahahahahahaha, @shebi na change era we dey......
    What was the presenter suppose to say???? His reply was diplomatic to me o. Too bad!

1. Oh God this is sad and bad, for speakibg the truth she was diplomatic enough, just thst she spoke the truth

12. Some hot girls on this blog (not mentioning any name tho) may Aldo loose theirs in a like manner because of the uncouth way they address issues... Too bad

13. NONSENSE!!!....so cos he's the owner of the radio the truth should be shielded...aunty stella I think you should open the post now let's protect the young man's job cos opening after won't have much impact,I believe with the power of social media that will stop them from proceeding with the sack

1. I agree o aubty stella id there is anythibf we can do on social media, it has to be now not sfter he has losy his job

14. The managing director is silly.
    So because the station is owned by Mark, he can't be criticised?

Ass licker.

15. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

16. Wow Stella...,you actually saving this guys job! I love uuuuuuu!

17. Not every1 is as tolerant as GEJ.

18. He will not be sacked,they will just give him warning letter.

19. David Mark should ensure that the road is repaired instead of throwing this innocent person into the already saturated job market in the country.

20. He didn't do anything wrong, what he said was the truth, these country ehnnn Mtcheeew

21. Where is the freedom of speech again? In this Nigeria connection is just everything. I feel for this man and his family. Is not easy when the head of the family loses hisjob.

22. The OAP needs a radical lawyer if they do such to him

23. Stella chop kiss. David Mark is another seasoned crook.

24. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Lmaooo....

25. The first time I visited otukpo I could not believe that is where David mark Is from. The road leading to his own hoUse was in a very terrible condition. Potholes everywhere. No street light, no water. U can see suffering in the face of plenty. Now dis man agreed with the truth and they want his head. Am with u on dis one Mrs korks we will wait till 31st of d month.

26. As a presenter,he should know the rules. Weigh your words.

27. So they want to sack him for agreeing to the truth?it is well with us in Nigeria.

28. Na wa oooo.

29. Truth is bitter. Why are the pained that he said the fact?

30. Status Quo syndrome...a die-hard epidemy in Nigeria

31. Stella but even u always gives room for the other party to respond.
    She is very wrong because david mark is neither the governor, comm for works, min of works that handles road projects in the state, so how is it his fault that the presenter will be agreeing on air?
    You stella that was a real journalist before becoming a blognalist (abi how u dey talk am sef) should know what is right to do

1. I think the contract was awarded to David mark hence he accusation

32. Yes Stella, dt idea is good, we don't want to hear d truth. Kip up d good work ma'am.

33. rubbish, stupid david mark that did nothing for his people....he should gerarahia joo...randy man that married the wife's former student

34. The Host fucked up

Why must he carry to what the caller said.
    indirectly insulting your principal.
    As a Media person he would have used his sense well

He should seek Godz favour else end of the month he will be sacked.

1. Exactly. Its like insulting Ur boss and expecting him not to fire u. Next time, he will watch what he says publicly. Stella, if na u, u no go fire am?

2. By sheer happenstance I watched AIT this morning while the New NUJ president was being interviewed. And the host of the show, whilst discussing, decided to read a few submissions from their official twitter account.
      The discourse was about journalists, publishers of newspapers, media parastatal etc.. and their political partisanship towards the power that be, and their misrepresentation of facts to the public.

They debated that as a result of this, it reflects in their reportage as being somewhat bias because the owners of the TV stations or newspapers, as the case may be, align with the govt. So, a particular submission the host read actually attacked the management of AIT as being guilty of what the discussion was about. And what did the host do after reading that comment? He stylishly dodged it and said he wouldn't want to comment. Whether true or not, we all know.

Discretion should be enabled when faced with cases like this. Which I think is what has put this particular OAP into trouble with his principal. Not necessarily because the details are false. The key is DISCRETION

35. they should come out and tell us what david mark has done for otupko....

36. Hehehe... Stella don send out warning...
    Good you're blogging from outside of the country though.

37. Hahahahahaha, Stella's red biro comment is hilarious. You go fear threat

I must quip in that as a presenter, you don't agree or disagree with your callers depending on the issue discussed. In this case, he shouldn't have said that. Its unprofessional. He should have said something like 'thank you for your contribution. We believe all the parties responsible have taken note of this and proper action will be taken in due course'. Anyway, I pray they reconsider him

1. Very very unprofessional of the said OAP... Did he forget himself or what? Nawa ooo.

38. It's just sad mehn!!!!! So surprising how this people couldn't develop their own states when they were in power????

39. nawaooh for pple! lets wait and see the outcome.

40. Journalism/broadcasting sucks in this country.

41. It's such a pity that the truth can't be said boldly without being questioned. I hope the OAP won't be sacked. I'll so love it Stella if you call out those that needs to be called out for the right thing to be done.

42. I support u Stells,Change means TRUTH

43. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    This is so sad,people no longer fear God but man..
    Imagine him being sacked cos he stood for the truth..SMH
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

44. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    This is so sad,people no longer fear God but man..
    Imagine him being queried cos he stood for the truth..SMH
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

45. I second ur motion Stellastica!

46. Nawa o. No freedom of expression whatsoever!

47. In Nigeria radio presenters even tv prrsenters dont run people down no matter what, even if they want to they are usually smart that you won't kkow who they are supporting, she should have watched channels and listen to other radio stations to know this

48. I did my NYSC with joy Fm and I must say it's such a bias station .We dare not accept advertisement from any opposition party and all news must favour our principal partner # David Mark.

49. Useless David mark

1. Some people will be talking like people with zero sense. Sen. David mark is not d governor of Benue state and not d chairman of a any local government in Benue state. You are not suppose to bite d finger that feeds you. #Period b4 I forget it's your father that is useless

50. The presenter concurred to what the caller said bcos that was the " bitter truth". I am not in support of his sack but stella it's a private owned station n the owner has d right to hire n fire so your call out might not save him. Hoping he won't b sacked.

51. I don't see this as a reason to sack that young man, they can caution him but not to sack him.

Make I rant sef-
    Wetin David Mark don do for him people sef? The rich are getting richer while the poor are geting poorer.

52. The thruth is bitter.

53. Stella, I am looking for my comment.

54. what did they expect the OAP to have said

55. it was an innocent mistake on the part of the presenter, afterall b4 one can authoritatively condemn another party one needs proof. the presenter has learnt that. if it is not david mark it is someones work to fix that road, the person that called is furstrated thabks to our useless government. please it is a minor matter jare they should move onand just talk to the presenter shikenaaa.