Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Oliseh Announces 23-Man Squad Of Home-Based Players For Tanzania

Friday, August 07, 2015

Oliseh Announces 23-Man Squad Of Home-Based Players For Tanzania

Nigeria's coach, Sunday Oliseh, has unveiled a list of 23 home-based players, to begin camping ahead of next month’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Tanzania.

Some of the players retained from Stephen Keshi’s era include: Warri Wolves’ Gbolahan Salami, Solomon Kwambe and Nelson Ogbonnaya. Current NPFL leading scorer, Tunde Adeniji of Sunshine Stars and Heartland’s Bright Ejike have been handed their first call ups.

In the absence of goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, who is now with Chippa United in South Africa, Oliseh has invited Olufemi Thomas and Ikechukwu Ezenwa.

At least, five players are to be selected from the group and they will join their foreign-based counterparts for the September 5 clash. All invited players are to report to the Abuja camp on August 17.

FULL LIST OF INVITED PLAYERS:

GOALKEEPERS
Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba FC); 

David Obiazor (Heartland FC); 

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars)

DEFENDERS
Orji Kalu (Enugu Rangers); 
Solomon Kwambe (Warri Wolves);
 Idris Aloma (Enyimba FC); 
Chima Akas (Sharks FC); 
Nelson Ogbonnaya (Heartland FC); 
Samson Gbadebo (Lobi Stars); 
Jamiu Alimi (Shooting Stars);
 Stephen Eze (Sunshine Stars)

MIDFIELDERS
Ifeanyi Mathew (El-Kanemi Warriors); 
Usman Mohammed (FC Taraba);
Azubuike Okechukwu (Bayelsa United); 
Lawson Ichul (Warri Wolves); 
Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC);
 Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves)

FORWARDS
Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC); 
Gbolahan Salami (Warri Wolves); 
Bright Ejike (Heartland FC); 
Tunde Adeniji (Sunshine Queens);
 Bright Onyedikachi (FC IfeanyiUbah);
 Prince Aggrey (Sunshine Stars)

culled from dailypost.

I hope this his selection works out for him because Nigerians will eat him raw if he loses.
Can anyone explain to me nicely why he is concentrating on local players?

16 comments:

1. Oliseh, uche gi adikwa n'ife i na-eme

2. He will eventually pick just 5 of these to join the foreign based players that he will select. There is no way he will play a game with just home based players, "He no fit"

3. Gud for him. My own be say make them play for naija no be for themselves.

4. I thought he said only players that plays in foreign clubs that will be selected? Abi I no see am well? He really changed all the former players built by Keshi. This one and Naija politics aint different at all. So any coach that comes in will build his own squad! I wish him well.

5. Am newly single and won't mind hooking up with this Oliseh guy o. Is he married? Divorced or single . Please any help? Who knows? Gat my eyes on you Oliseh. See fresh guy

6. It good he is using all this local players,that have not see so much money,so they will play with their full strength!

7. Wicked proud arrogant Amaju. A man who uses his beautiful wife to hunt money from bigger personalities. Soon his arrogance will pursue him from NFF.

8. Olishe I know say u go make us proud *wink*

9. Stella local talent is the truth these days. These boys are young,raw,energetic,eager to please too!

No excuses,no arrogance. And you will be surprised to know that they are really skillful although without much experience like the foreign players.

I noticed that Enyimba always have good players. Shout out to Enyimba's own Vincent Enyeama even though he started off with Ibom Stars.

10. Ewoooooo why did nobody tell me., or is it that nobody has slept with him on this blog b4?..
    Don jazzy ooo
    Somebody save me this night., Atokwanu m oo

11. Because a lot of the local player plays better than the international players. If they go for good local players am sure they'll win. Hopefully they don't bribe to be selected

12. Stella Dimoko Korkus."At least five players are to be selected from the group"

13. Well grooming local home based players is OK but I pray they deliver