Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Worst-Ever Hajj Tragedy In Mecca Claims 717 Lives.

Friday, September 25, 2015

Worst-Ever Hajj Tragedy In Mecca Claims 717 Lives.

A huge stampede killed at least 717 people and injured hundreds more at the hajj in Saudi Arabia on Thursday, in one of the worst-ever tragedies at the annual Muslim pilgrimage.

The stampede, the second deadly accident to hit the pilgrims this month following a crane collapse in Mecca, broke out during the symbolic stoning of the devil ritual, the Saudi civil defence service said.

Bodies of pilgrims wearing traditional white clothing were left scattered by the crush, surrounded by discarded shoes, flattened water bottles and umbrellas that had been used for protection from the sun.

The civil defence service said that it was still counting the dead, who included pilgrims from different countries, and that at least 863 people had also been hurt.
Nearly two million people from across the globe were attending the hajj, one of the largest annual gatherings in the world.

Iran said at least 43 of its citizens were dead and accused Saudi Arabia of safety errors that caused the accident.

But a Saudi minister blamed the pilgrims themselves, saying they had not followed the rules laid out by authorities.
“Many pilgrims move without respecting the timetables” set for the hajj, Health Minister Khaled al-Falih told El-Ekhbariya television.

“If the pilgrims had followed instructions, this type of accident could have been avoided,” he said, vowing a “rapid and transparent” investigation.

The stampede began at around 9:00 am (0600 GMT), shortly after the civil defence service said on Twitter it was dealing with a “crowding” incident in Mina, about five kilometres (three miles) from Mecca.
Hundreds of thousands of pilgrims had converged on Mina on Thursday to throw pebbles at one of three walls representing Satan, for the last major ritual of the hajj which officially ends on Sunday.
A hospital official told AFP the incident happened outside the Jamarat Bridge structure, where the stoning takes place. A group of pilgrims leaving the area collided with another group that was either moving in the opposite direction or camped outside, the official said.
A Sudanese pilgrim in Mina said this year’s hajj was the most poorly organised of four he had attended.
“People were already dehydrated and fainting” before the stampede, said the pilgrim who declined to be named.

People “were tripping all over each other”, he said, adding that a Saudi companion had warned him that “something was going to happen”.

The incident came as the world’s 1.5 billion Muslims marked Eid al-Adha, the Feast of Sacrifice, the most important holiday on the Islamic calendar.

In Tehran, Saudi Arabia’s Shiite rival Iran said authorities at the hajj had closed off two paths near where the accident later took place.

Extracted from Vanguard.

This is really horrible!
RIP to the dead

76 comments:

1. Good riddance. Terrorists. It should have been all of them.

1. So touching. My baby is a muslim oo dnt no wat to say again.. y accommodate crowd that cannt b controlled..

2. Just imagine, you are not even different from the boko haram

3. That u find mercy in d sight of GOD for that statement. Its like u dying in a car accident and pple saying "why did he go out". That the words of ur mouth will not send u to an early grave. Who am I to say ure worst than Boko Haram. I am a christian, married to a muslim and we worship d same GOD.

4. Lol i agree. Muslims r d ones causing all d troubles in d world! Its not a religion of peace at all but a religion of blood, sweat and fear!! All those millions should ave died so we can ave less of those plonkers. Lool

2. May their souls rest in peace but they also really need to stop killing Christians for no reason and bombing the world. There just might be some sort of karma here.

3. Ki lon baka? Mtchw!
    Rip to the dead anyway

1. Why do u pray, if uve ever prayed

4. There is no resting in peace to the wicked.
    God works in mysterious ways. The think God is asleep. He is punishing them for all the violence, hatred and destruction they exhibit across the world. I pray that next year's own will be 717 million. Evil Terrorists.

1. Is every Muslim that a terrorist? Haba!
      God rest their souls, this is a tragedy.

2. If this is truly your wish then you will be one of the dead come next next year. I don't wish even my enemy evil or dead but for you to wish other people love one dead just because of their religion then I wish you what you wish them!

3. So u mean all of dem were terrorists? I know alot of christians that visit hajj. May u find forgiveness for judging ur brother. Dint d word of GOD say "judge not". Leave the sovereign GOD to judge while u focus on serving him

4. Annon, this your prayer sucks!!. Every Muslim is not a terrorist..

Rip to to dead.

5. @pink,Yes.Every Muslim is potential Terrorist and a waiting suicide bomber.

5. This is too bad and. Shouldn't b happening..RIP to d dead

6. Kai,these breaks my heart...may their souls rip

7. I hope Alahji Iqrah is safe?

1. He's safe anonymous 6:55.Money go kill u oooo.

2. hahahahaha ismail, doggy fuck kill you too!

8. The number is even small considering the magnitude of wickedness they dish out across the world.It should have been all of them. from A to Z.

1. As u av written, so shall it be unto you.

9. RIP.
    I wish all the dead are the Actual Extremist, I would have been so happy.

10. RIP to the dead. Let me just keep quiet

11. Inna ni lahi wai na ni lahi rajiun
    Pilgrimage gone bad
    May Allah grant them aljanat firdaus
    Amin

12. Hmmmn! So they'll now tell God that they were 'stoning the devil' & right after met their demise. Wow! That sounds great! Perhaps great enof to still qualify each of them to get their 70 (abi na 72) virgins & live happily ever after in paradise.

Well, lemme not be tagged sadistic for trying to sound sarcastic...so RIP pilgrims...till we meet again...that is if we will even meet again sef (like sey I go even know una sef...unless y'all introduce urselves as victims of this incident o...with dates too...perhaps i'll remember).

Ghanaman signing out!!!

13. Innalillahi wahinalillehi rojihun.....may Allah rest their soul and grant them Al-janah firdaus.....

14. Disasters

Lolah

15. Ive always said that Religion is the number 1 cancer feeding off the edges of this beautiful world, you'd be brainwashed & blinded from birth that even a bush part will look like a well tarred road in Abuja, ur'all bluntly refusing to take off ur blind for at least a peek at reality. imagine this pile of rubble formed by the bodies of innocent victims of Islamic religion, from what point of view do i even begin to analys this predicament? Are u telling me the God they travelled to go worship cldnt at least protect the fragile life he offered them? if so, hes not Omnipotent afterall, or its their fate to die like lambs? i jst dont get it? or the devil they were throwing stones at is more powerful than their maker and so he fired back...how ironic. Theres sumthg y'all shld knw Reality trumps Religion, it has been so and will always remain so, Pray all u want, if u like climb mount everest and fast there for 50days and 50nights, what is meant to be will be, prayer dsnt change shit.....

1. For it is written "my people perish for lack of wisdom"

16. So much blood on a supposed holy land.
    R.I.P to the dead.

17. Hmmm, na wa ooo, I reserve my comment, rest in peace to the dead, may their families find comfort

18. Honestly it is very horrible,so many deaths associated with this year's hajj,RIP to the dead

19. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Rip to the dead.... #NowPlaying yarn:miss whykay

20. There shall be no peace for the wicked.
    Worthless Terrorists and suicide bombers

1. If GOD was to judge u for dis statemt

21. it was poorly organized, simple!
    RIP to the dead!

22. So horrible. Rip to the departed souls. It is well.

23. Thier meal served to them. Wicked people.

24. What are they stoning the devil for?
    When their religion itself is the devil the world is facing.
    I still don't understand d reason behind d stamped,were they running to be d 1st 2cast a stone or its just shear badluck?

Rip 2d dead

1. I am utterly disappointed in you for your insensitive comment. You are one of the few people that I adore on this blog but today you show that you don't deserve it. Evil mind and people everywhere. I only pity the Muslims around you that truly see you as a good person.

2. For u av seen and know it all, may the Almighty GOD visit u

3. I thought u are a sensible learned person, I don't know u are a callous lady.Ur profession has made u heartless. I pity those ur patients ooo.

4. Abi oo.. Well said. Lool

25. This hajj has been going on for a long time, i dont know why they cannot be extreme measures to curb these kind of things. This no be am jare. The other day na crane, this time around stoning their devil and there was stampede. Can they not do this their so-called stoning in batches? Me no understand these people oh.

26. Just because they want to answer Alhaji and Alhaja.

27. Hian oh. So this came after the crane that fell also claimed lives? Sad news ! RIP to the dead .. Can't afford to sound insensitive right now but so many questions need to be asked.

28. Sad,may their souls rest in peace

29. Sad!
    This is why I hate gatherings.

RIP to them.

30. Is it not possible to organize the hajj more than once a year to avoid more than a million persons attending at once? Rest in peace to the dead.

31. Chai! So ha gara itu ekwensu okwute? May dia soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

32. This is very sad.God why?This is becoming too much in this month.Please God,protect ur servants who have yielded to ur callings.

33. ...but most people die in this Hajj? which kind pilgrimage is this one?

34. This is really horrible!! May deir souls rip

35. Chai!
    May their souls rest in peace.
    - Death on a holy land (Mecca) equals free ticket to heaven.

36. Devil dey him own...una dey go stone am! Chai! Smh!!!

Ghanaman signing out!!!

37. People same as u with blood running through their vains happen to have their lives ended tragically n all u stupid ones are saying is "good riddance?,good for them,they shall not rest in peace bla bla,blahh?" y this bitterness in ur lives?anyways wether u say rip or not rip is assured to them by d Almighty . sorry for you guys oo..no market today try next time!!

38. Stella dis isn't d worse tho...in 1990 ova 1400 persons died...d blame should b on d arabian govt.dey should regulate d numba of pple comin for d hajj..ova 2mil pple arnd 1 city..it will b hard to control such crowd..n pple die everyyr bcos of d hajj...may dier soul rest in peace tho.....

39. You see what saudi king as caused for announcing 11M each for the families of those that lost their lives in the crane crash. Because most people that lost their lives in this stampede were blacks. So sketchy

40. You see what saudi king as caused for announcing 11M each for the families of those that lost their lives in the crane crash. Because most people that lost their lives in this stampede were blacks. So sketchy

41. You see what saudi king as caused for announcing 11M each for the families of those that lost their lives in the crane crash. Because most people that lost their lives in this stampede were blacks. So sketchy

42. The devil dey on his own jeje, una dey go stone ham. I don't understand this peoples religion at all. It is well