Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Arsenal Ladies 1-0 Manchester City Women

Friday, October 02, 2015

Arsenal Ladies 1-0 Manchester City Women

Arsenal Ladies reached the semi-finals of the Continental Cup with a 1-0 win over Manchester City, as the holders lost for the first time since May.
In a repeat of the 2014 final, three-time winners Arsenal started brightly and Spain striker Natalia volleyed them ahead after 34 minutes.

Isobel Christiansen fired wide and Natasha Harding struck the crossbar as City pressed for an equaliser late on.
Arsenal will now host Birmingham City in the last four.
The Gunners beat their semi-final opponents in both the 2011 and 2012 Continental Cup finals.

The quarter-final tie between Arsenal and City had to be rearranged after the visitors were cleared of fielding an ineligible player during the group stage.
Natalia saw a low shot saved well by Karen Bardsley early on but the Arsenal striker would not be denied with her next effort, finding the bottom corner to complete a swift move from the home side.

City, who had won 12 and drawn one of their previous 13 matches, failed to seriously test Arsenal's Dutch goalkeeper Sari van Veenendaal.

Nick Cushing's side will now hope to pip Women's Super League One leaders Chelsea to the league title on Sunday, but must beat Notts County Ladies and hope the Blues slip up against Sunderland to stand any chance of becoming champions.
BBC report.

Manchester fans how market?

10 comments:

1. Welldone ladies, but I've never watched their match before and I wish to watch them one day.
    Proudly Gunners

2. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Congrats.... My gals are doing things though no doubt.... #NowPlaying enemy: jupitar....
    ***CURRENTLY IN JUPITAR***

3. Stella you dey use the ladies dey console yourself

4. The Men Will Suffer come Sunday, By Man United

5. So, Gunners and their fans r now so desperate for victory that they will celebrate a win for their women's team. O ma se o! Maybe u should enter ur ladies' team in the Prem instead of ur useless men's team. Tongue out....