Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man To Die By Hanging Over N14,570 Robbery

Friday, December 04, 2015

Man To Die By Hanging Over N14,570 Robbery

An Ado-Ekiti High Court, yesterday, sentenced one David Olugboyega to death by hanging for armed robbery involving N14,570.
Justice John Adeyeye passed the judgment following the confessional statement of the convict and the conclusion of trial by the prosecution.

“An accused may be convicted on his own confession alone as long as the court was satisfied. Based on the confessional statement of the accused, the court found him guilty as charged. Besides, the prosecution has also proved his case beyond reasonable doubt by providing seven witnesses.

“The accused is hereby sentenced to death by hanging. This will serve as deterrent to others in the society. May God have mercy on your soul,” he said.
During trial, the prosecutor, Mr Alaba Adeyemi, told the court that the convict committed the offence on March 20, 2003 at Araromi Street, Ikere -Ekiti.
He said the convict, armed with dangerous weapons including gun and cutlass, robbed three people of N14,570.

Specifically, Adeyemi said the convict robbed Kola Owolabi of N8,000; Beatrice Olawumi, N5,000 and Idowu Abiodun, N1,570.
The prosecution called seven witnesses to prove the case.
The convict, who made confessional statement at the police station, opted to defend himself without a lawyer.

He pleaded guilty to the charge and also confessed to have been involved in series of robberies. The convict confessed to have joined a gang when he was in a prison.

Vanguard reportage

82 comments:

1. Poor man wey steal Maggi o boy na dem we de see for crime fighters....

Rich man wey steal Money we no de see their face for crime fighters..

Naija ele way???

1. Its not as if I support stealing oh, but I hate it wen its only the poor that gets convicted for stealing and d rich goes free, take for example our politicians, they steal us dry and go behind and return little or nothing, the law would just set them free this country really sucks.

2. Chai! For just oshi aguu? What about those their thiefry caused severe pains, hunger, suffering and even deaths? They r living large. Penny wise pounds foolish.

3. He already spent 12yrs in prison. He has practically paid for his crimes.
      He is about to be killed but he didn't kill anyone.

What he needs is rehabilitation.
      I wish naija Government will start standard rehabilitation programmes for prisoners so they will come out reformed and more aware of the dangers of committing crimes.

4. The man is not being punished because he stole 14k. He's being punished because of his offence which is armed robbery. If he had seen 10 million naira he would have collected it. The fact that d amount he got was paltry doesn't changed d fact that he robbed someone while armed with a gun. The law in Nigeria as per THE ROBBERY AND FIRE ARMS ACT is that if you're convicted for d aforementioned offence you would be sentenced to death. The law has prevailed.

5. Arm robbery is a capital offense and the penalty is death, so the man is not been punished for the amt he stole but for the fact that he was armed and someone could have lost their life in the process.

6. So they could make robbery a capital offence in the constitution,but refused to make stealing public funds by biro' a capital offence for obvious reasons.
      That's why corruption will never end,untill d penalty for it is death sentence!

2. Wat about those stealing big money and walking free e.g JONATHAN D ROUGE! ARMROBBER!

1. My anger is that this crime happened in 2003. So they kept him for 12 yrs in prison and still slammed him with this harsh judgement just for that paltry sum??? Nawa for the nigeria judicial system. In fact,d years he spent awaiting this trial should have bn enough punishment.

3. say wetin happen na,if naso then we need to hang dasuki den chop his head off quickly

4. His sentence is cruel, wicked and unfair.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

5. Choi. Whereas the people in Government who are stealing millions are not even in prison talk more of being hanged. Nigeria is a messed up country where only the poor masses suffer. Nonsense

1. I don't like it when things like this happen and references are made to bigger rogues in government. Perhaps they also started as petty thieves like this one. If they had been convicted early enough, they prolly wouldn't be making it big as mega thieves stealing from an entire country today. So I don't think any thief should be pardoned. Especially not the petty thieves who are training to be bigger ones.

6. bastard magistrate!!!

ofo loma shey ku!

oloribiruku oloshi gbogbo!!!

1. You must be a terrible woman in real life like seriously, what kind of mother and woman are you? Always cursing. Is your life that sad? When you went away, we had a break of this your uncouth statements. Anyway I don't blame you sha, it's Stella I blame for always enabling your curses, seems she also enjoys it!

2. Welcome bk pls tell chizoba to come bk oh

7. No sympathy. Let him die. Who knows how many he's killed? RIP in advance.

1. That is less than but allawee oooo. He could be locked up for years not an outright death sentence

8. Untop aw much naa! Kilode! Well I guess he gat blood on his hands! And d blood is screaming out revenge!

9. I weep for Nigeria my country
    *singing this line from African china*
    Poor man wey steal maggi u go see his face for crime fighter
    Rich man wey steal money u no go see his face for crime fighter*

10. He was caught wit Cutlass and gun. Now dose guns and cutlasses,what did he do with dem? Kill the innocent people he robbed in d past?

Wish we knew for sure if he had killed in d past.cos I am no advocate of hanging just cos he robbed peeps of 14K something.
    But if he had killed in d past,oh yes,off with his head!

1. Then what happens to d politicians that steal and kill? They go free, not as if I support what he did, but d law is always one sided in Nigeria

2. Very Misleading headline.
      You are being hung because you don't just rob,you have intention of butchering and shooting people dead!

Let's Pray never to run into this type of Robber,Very deadly!

Hi hun.
      Sup?

3. TGW!
      I dissagree with u on this
      Cutlass and gun? Yes
      He stole 14k? yes!
      Am sure he must have killed before or maybe even hurt someone with those but
      Our so called politicians have killed more without a gun and cutlass
      They have caused more harm than cutlass and gun can
      This man need rehabilitation more than such a harsh unwarranted sentence
      Then looters deserve to face firing squad
      Why should there be any difference since a thief is a THIEF anyways!

4. Goddess baby and Jbaby,today Is judgement for this man.
      Tomoro wil be judgement for the thieves in Govt. U heard our Sai.dey aren't going free babies.so let's chill.deir turn is just by d corner.ok?

@ Nwa baby m,howdy Sweet? Sending u warm kisses.
      @Ify,Sup Sis?

11. The judge is mad o! They should appeal this case and "disbar" the judge. What nonsense! Yes theft is bad,send him to jail. Why kill him? All the people thieving billions,how many have they killed? Abeg!

12. For stealing less than #15k? He also confessed to the crime.
    Death sentence is too harsh a punishment .
    I don't support him but come on, our politicians are loothing billions and non has ever received such hard sentence. Anyway what do I know

13. Mehn
    The judge woke up on the wrong side of the bed.

14. Hia, ooooooo chukwu abia ama

15. Less than 15k to be sentenced by hanging while our politicians are looting billions and yet nothing is being done to them!

And the fact that this crime was committed since 2003 means the thief has spent 12 years in a cell pending trial.
    I'm not in support of thieves coz I know if he wasnt caught then may have matured into a more deadly criminal... but I think he has served enough punishment with the 12yrs. Police cells are horrible, worse than prison sef.

There is hope for the poor in this country.

16. Haha
    Then all these politicians should be sentenced to death by firing squad
    Nawa o

17. Kai, death by hanging for a robbery case??? Not that he was proved to have committed murder in d act. Smh. The backwardness of ekiti people isn't leaving anytime soon.

18. God have mercy. He joined a gang in prison again.

19. If they are killing him over this, what will be punishment for looters.

20. Of course. That's the punishment for "armed" robbery. The intention is to kill if the victim refused to part with whatever he wants to steal from him. That's law. Stop this OMG.

1. Anony.
      Thank youuuuuuuuu

Yes we know a lot of politicians get away with stealing and more.
      This dude was convicted of armed Robbery!!!

Their motto is to rape and maim!

Maybe another law should be passed for stealing politicians to be hanged if that is what Nigerians want,but for now...let's discuss Armed robbery.

I still have a soft spot in my heart for people facing the firing squad or waiting to be hung...Even drug peddlers... but I guess the law,is the law.

2. Iphie, thank God u said d aim was to kill not that he was actually caught killing. What if his aim of holding d cutlass was to scare d victim and not kill.

This is why the Americans will always be way ahead of us. They don't sentence base on speculations but on facts. If there's evidence that he has killed in d process of robbing, den by all means, hang him if u must.

This decision is totally barbaric and I'm ashamed of those even supporting it.

21. Afterall, he is a thief, I just hope every robber caught would be given the same treatment.

22. So because of this petty sum, he's gona be hanged Abi, while the main thieves inform of politicians roam freely..
    God please come down already..

23. thelma enemuwe said...
    When rich man thief we nor go see their face
    Buh wen poor man thief dem go show him face for crime fighter,use am do scape goat and thereafter kill him.... Even a mad man knows this death sentence is uncalled for.... The judge is high on cheap drugs I swear...
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

24. And those that stole billions of naira r to die by wat???..... They are quick to determine the fate of road side criminals and 'yahoo boys' wen d pple dat has kept ds nation in financial distress r walking freely!! Dey r only law abiding wen it comes d poor maases...Anyways wat do I know? #lawlesscountry

1. Armed robbery and Pen robbery are not the same both both lead to deaths of the victims.

25. Why should the judge sentence him to death, that's too much abeg

26. Ewoooooo kill a man for stealing fourteen thousand naira? What has happened to all known billion dollars/naira thieves? If una touch that man his blood will be on una heads. Pls my people if you have opportunity to steal,steal plenty since ppl who steal large amount go free. Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeew for naija.

27. That judgement is ridiculous, the judge has to go back to the class room.

28. And then we are referred back to the holy book, "The wages of sin is death"

"Thou shall not steal" that's one of the 10 commandments.
    But do they listen? No. Now he's paying with his life.

29. *Sigh*
    Him own don end be dat!
    May God forgive his soul.

30. This one be as e get o! If na for this crime alone, it would have sounded harsh. But he's a serial armed robber & lives would have been lost in his previous escapades as well.

But our judiciary sef, if na beta rich nigga, several injunctions would have been secured to stop or postpone this trial. As na 'nobody', his was delivered swiftly.

May God have mercy on his soul as well!!!

*Ghanaman signing out*

31. When it comes to politicians they would never sentence them to prison talk more of death. That is when you would know that a case can be adjourned till next year. God have mercy on us all

32. What a stupid judgement. Those stealing millions are tagged political witch hunt.

33. It seems harsh at first....but...na amu robbery. no pity

34. WHO DOES THAT? total rubbish!

35. Death by hanging because of 14570? Odikwaegwuoo! This judgement is inhumane.what of all those politicians accused of money laundering and looting?
    What have they done to them? Am not in any way trying to justify their wrong deeds but they should have been lenient.
    Law is seriously meant for the poor.

36. Just 14,750??? Politicians loot billions of naira and the case swept under the carpet most times... I ain't in support of the convict but the punishment should be Commensurate to the crime!

37. ..... and TIFnubu is still alive and walking free abi?

38. Nawa o! Death by hanging because of 14k? That's too harsh

39. Whether it is #5 Armed robbery is armed Robbery, he could have made use of the weapon if the situation had demanded it. I pity him though, after about 12yrs in Prison *smh*
    RIP in advance.
    These days stealing with the pen is better.

40. That judge is a crack head. He didn't even kill anyone, why hang him? Just hope this is a joke.
    N14,570 only, and politicians are stealing billion dollars. End time judge no doubt

41. What nonsense, must they sentence him, wat about d people embezzling our money.
    Stupid

42. Pls let him die! Let him die in peace!!!!!!

43. Well the truth is the sentence is too much no matter the amount if truly it was just money,not that he killed.

44. The judgment seems harsh, but as an armed robber, he might have wasted lives.
    i don't pity arm robbers because they are heartless.

45. l'LL LIKE TO EDUCATE U PEOPLE. UNDER THE SECTION 401 AND 402 CRIMINAL CODE ACT THE PUNISHMENT FOR ARMED ROBBERY IS DEATH . ITS NOT THE AMOUNT STOLEN THAT HE IS BEING PUNISHED FOR BUT THE FACT THAT HE USED ARMS TO THREATEN HIS VICTIMS.

kiks

46. In as much as I was robbed of my hard earned money in July 2015, I will not advocate death by hanging. All those politicians stealing millions, billions and trillions, how many have been convicted, how many of them are in prisons and how many have been sentenced to death by hanging. In as much as I do not support stealing it is not enough justification now. That is they(politicians) keep on striking out death sentence for corrupt officials. Ok look at what is happening- mass arrest: 13b pounds, 20 billion dollars, 50b this 120b that.Which way Nigeria

47. Yeye Judge, na for poor man head una dey show levels. Don't know when our law will stop respecting persons like we have in sane climes. Judicial corruption is one major problems of this country, was thinking PMB is serious till I heard about the total acquittal of Sylva. Ndi ala

48. Yet,the ones who stole in billions,are walking about freely.
    Selective justice!

49. If that's what the law prescribes for armed robbery, which he is guilty of without reasonable doubt, then so be it. Besides he's not a first-time offender.

50. This is bizarre!There should be other punishment aside from death. Repentance is constant just like change is. This judgement is so unfair and surprising ahn!ahn!

51. It's not enough. All armed robbers should die by firing squad. Have you ever been in faced with a man armed with a gun asking for all your valuables? Do you know the cold fear and dread that sits in the belly?

I thought i would die that die. Luckily, he was happy with the loot he recovered from me and gave me a small tap on my head that he i am a fine girl. All the while pointing his gun at my heart.

52. A poor man has no friend.. even d law hates him

53. Y am I n0t surprise? Such tins 0nly happens in naija. Yet we av th0usand 0f m0therfuckers cald p0liticians given chieftancy title f0r stealing and are walking freely with esc0rts and c0nv0y ar0und t0wn. Mtcheeeee naija wia are we heading?