Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Throw Your Cow Down The Cliff Before 2016 Begins..

Thursday, December 31, 2015

Throw Your Cow Down The Cliff Before 2016 Begins..

Take Deep breath cos this post might just be what you need to read....

Once upon a time in a faraway land, there lived a Chinese wise man and his disciple. One day in their travels, they saw a hut in the distance. As they approached they realized that it was occupied in spite of its extremely poor appearance.

In that desolate place where there were no crops and no trees,
a man lived with his wife, three young children and a thin, tired cow. Since they were hungry and thirsty, the wise man and his disciple stopped for a few hours and were well received. At one point, the wise man asked:

“This is a very poor place, far away from anything. How do you
survive?”
“You see that cow? That’s what keeps us going,” said the head
of the family. “She gives us milk, some of it we drink and some were make into cheese. When there is extra, we go into the city and exchange the milk and cheese for other types of food.

That’s how we survive.”
The wise man thanked them for their hospitality and left. When he reached the first bend in the road, he said to his disciple:

“Go back, get the cow, take her to the cliff in front of us, and push her off.”
The disciple could not believe what he was hearing.

“I cannot do that, master! How can you be so ungrateful? The
cow is all they have. If I throw it on the cliff, they’ll have no way to survive. Without the cow, they’ll all die!”

The wise man, an elderly Chinese man, took a deep breath
and repeated the order: “Go ahead. Push the cow off the cliff.” Though outraged at what he was being asked to do, the student was resigned to obey his master.
He returned to the hut and quietly led the animal to the edge
of the cliff and pushed. The cow fell down the cliff and died.

As the years passed by, remorse for what he had done never left the disciple. One spring day, the guilt became too much to bear and he left the wise man and returned to that little shack. He wanted to find out what had happened to that family, to help them out, apologize, or somehow make amends.
Upon rounding a turn in the road, he could not believe what his eyes were showing him. In place of the poor shack there was a beautiful house with trees all around, a swimming pool, several cars in the garage, a satellite dish, and on and on. 

Three good-looking teenagers and their parents were celebrating their first million dollars.
The heart of the disciple froze. What could have happened to the family? Without a doubt, they must have been starving to death and forced to sell their land and leave. At that moment, the student thought they must all be begging on the street corners of some city. He approached the house and asked a man that was passing by about the whereabouts of the family that had lived
there several years before.

“You’re looking at it,” said the man, pointing to the people gathered around the barbecue.Unable to believe what he was hearing, the disciple walked through the gate and took a few steps closer to the pool where he recognized the man from several years before, only now he was strong and confident, the woman was happy, and the children were now nice-looking teenagers.
He was dumbfounded, and went over to the man and asked:

“What happened? I was here with my teacher a few years ago and this was a miserable place.
There was nothing. What did you do to improve your lives in
such a short time?”
The man looked at the disciple, and replied with a smile:
“We had a cow that kept us alive. She was all we had. But one
day she fell down the cliff and died. To survive, we had to start doing other things, develop skills we didn’t even know we had.

And so, because we were forced to come up with new ways of
doing things, we are now much better off than before.”
Moral of the story: Sometimes our dependency on something small and limited is the biggest obstacle to our growth. Perhaps the best thing that could happen to you is to push your “cow” down the cliff. Once you free yourself of the thought “it’s little but it’s certain,” or of that idea “I am not doing great but there are people who are much worse than me” — then your life will
really change.

Is there a cow in your life that is keeping you miserable? Close year 2015 by throwing it off the cliff!

Culled from HERE

79 comments:

1. Bye 2015, welcome 2016.
    I am ready to meet you.

1. Sometimes we need to leave our comfort zones to move ahead in life. Lesson learnt.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

2. Thank You Jesus for everything You did for me in 2015,hmmm indeed I've been blessed beyond measure,it was an awesome year...oh Lord I stand in awe of You,You are too good to me,too good!i feel like Your only child,thank You in anticipation...oh I love what I see...2016 coming right up#cantwait

3. 2016!!!

See you guys next year!

4. Wow wow wow!!what can I say?
      2015 has been a great year full of lesson,joy and sadness,tears and laughter,but in all I thank God for the gift of life!!
      Who am I?what am I that he favour me so much?my family and I are grateful and we wish you and you and you and you!!happy successful 2016..see ya my honourable member of BVN

5. U got me Stells...ose!...2016 oya gbera osiso!

6. My ex is a cow that needs to be thrown ....

2. l I want to say is thank you God.... Thanks to everyone who made my 2015 a good year because I know 2016 will be a better year or even best,it all depends on God... Thanks to all my boos, my beas., mybff, my sweethearts, my loves, my siblings,my family members, my excoursemates, my friends with benefits them many I no fit list dem finish.... I love you all.... Let's meet in 2016 waiting for you guys there...... *kisses*

3. This is inspiring and has got me thinking!

1. She post my comment? Yeeey! This is a special new year gift, am super excited

4. NICE INSPIRATIONAL STORY AUNTY STELLA,MAY GOD BLESS YOU,I REALLY NEEDED THIS............HAPPY NEW YEAR AUNTY STELLA AND FELLOW BV'S.....

5. Word!!!!! Think outside the box, step out of your comfort zone

6. A lot of bvs need to push their husband and marriages off the cliff .

1. This mindset tho #leaveitin2015

2. Lol! I was going to say the same thing. I need to push my husband down the next available cliff. Stupid gold digger. Chasing worthless ideas that keep draining me of resources.

2016 is a fresh start.

7. Wow GOD bless u stella and d writter of this story...got some cows am already leading to d cliff!

8. Plenty plenty cows. I've already started cleaning house!

9. Awesome post. What better time for this, than the last day of 2015? God bless you Stella, my dear people. Happy 2016.Kisses

10. Happy new year stella...wishing u, ur family and all bvs a prosperous new year! I visit this blog regularly but hardly comment! But i have learnt alot here!

11. Hmmmm.... Deep! Time to step out of the comfort zone.

12. Nice piece Stellz...Happy new year in advance Everyone.glad been an anonymous part of this great family.

13. Hmmmmmmmm, just what i need now. Thank God we are able to move to our own house today, ever dor we are not able to complet it, no toilet, no ceilin in some part but all d same we thank God.

14. I just want to say thank u lord for all. Though the year wasn't smooth but I say u alone be praised

15. Enter your comment... Do the difficult.

16. I just want to say thank u lord for all. Though the year wasn't smooth but I say u alone be praised

17. Just want to say thank u lord for all

18. Am on Church right now waiting to welcome 2016 in HIS presence. O positive for the new and it shall be well work me and mone on Jesus name, Amen.

19. Woow....happy new year fam.

20. Compiling. My list will be ready before midnight. Aibt go no time in 2016

21. 2016 loading...
    Thank u LORD JESUS for ur grace and protection, I bless ur holy name JESUS

22. Permit me to steal it.....this is what lots of people including me need to do in the coming year.
    Thank you stells

23. Hmmmmm...... nice one to ponder on. Am surely stepping out of my comfort zone come 2016. God be with us all.

24. Great lesson! There is always something new and impactful to learn here. Oya my cow.....off you go!

25. Happy new year mummy stella.you hav done more than enough for me this year

26. Nice one Stella..lemmi check n re-check

27. God bless Stella.
    God bless BVs.
    See you in 2016.
    You all rock.
    Muah!

28. I needed this. Got it at the right time..tnx stellz

29. Yea...I think I actually threw my cow off the cliff at the beginning of December cuz i was looking forward to having a fresh 2016. Now I'm walking into 2016 with confidence. Cheers to d new year

30. All tanx to God 4 an awesome 2015.2016 shall be a great year,hapi new year every1.

31. All tanx to God 4 an awesome 2015.2016 shall be a great year,hapi new year every1.

32. Rubbish post o. No go push ur only cow o. Na hunger go kill u. Did d story mention Nigeria. A bird in hand o. D world is a mean place. U better hv a plan B b4 u push ur cow.

33. Sometimes we gotta leave our comfort zone

34. Thanx SDK
    What an inspirational thought to start my year with
    Remain bless
    That cow was already pushed down the cliff some mins to 2016

35. I am so taking the bull by the horns this year, God willing. Thank you Stella.

36. Very inspirational, so on point for me. Pls all the cows in my life biko oya jump down the clif. 2016 is my year to conquer all obstacles placed on my way in Jesus name Amen

37. Lord I am so grateful. What more can I say,thank u 4 ur blessings.

38. Nice one. Already pushed my cow down the cliff

39. Stella, this happened to me last year..major changes at work but the great thing is that we needed that shake to move forward. 2016 is here..great things to come.

40. This principle applies to Nigeria as a whole,we should leave oil and looting to find new ways,God will use pmb to achieve this

41. Waoooooo very nice n inspirational

42. No more hatred and negative banter. I will not call anybody fat or ugly on this blog anymore and I will not expect every black person to be light in colour neither will I yab birthday pictures again and i will work to better lives on this blog. These are my pledges for 2016

1. You really don't have any ambition do you?

43. This is deep stella

44. May the good lord set all things right in my life is 2016. Especially in the finances and marital aspect.

Come 2017...i will find this post and glorify your name because you will surely answer my prayers.ijn.

45. Mine has been thrown off the cliff. Now I for God to open my eyes to the other alternatives.

46. This is sooooooooo inspiring, we need to leave our comfort zones and try out new things.

47. Some of you need to throw your selves off the cliff. Your demon mouths are your own obstacle.

48. Nice story, my hubby threw our cow in 2014, I was almost discouraged but d business we started is doing great by God's grace we are employers of labour and things are even much better!

49. My hubby threw our cow off d cliff in 2014, it was rough at first but to God be d glory we r now employers of labour and doing much better.2016 will be much better

1. Happy for you. Things can only get better from here on.

Sherry's Daughter

50. 2016 is my year of restoration, I shall forth in all sides. Happy new dear stella and belove bvs

51. Happy New year Stella and SDK BVS.
    By this time last year, I was unemployed and anxious. However, God gave me a new start and pushed me out of my comfort zone by giving me a job that meant me relocating and working for free for the first 3 months. I thought it was a punishment but looking back, it's the best thing that happened to me last year. I thank and praise God and I pray he will meet you all at your points of need. Let's all remember to be kind always. Cheers to 2016!