Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Okocha Says No Nigerian Player Deserves To Be Nominated For CAF Awards

Saturday, January 09, 2016

Okocha Says No Nigerian Player Deserves To Be Nominated For CAF Awards

Former Super Eagles captain Austin Jay-jay Okocha, has said no Nigerian player deserved to be nominated for the CAF awards because the quality of Nigerian football had gone down drastically.

Okocha gave the damning verdict on Nigerian players after they once again failed to win the Africa footballer of the year award.

No Nigerian player made the final shortlist of three, and speaking shortly after Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang emerged the winner for 2015, a disappointed Okocha stated categorically that no Nigerian player deserved to win the award.

“We have to call a spade a spade and it is about time because we didn’t do well and I don’t think that any of our players at this moment deserve to be there,” Okocha said.

He however said the failure to win the award should be a big challenge to Nigerian players, admitting that it would be difficult to win it because Nigerian football struggling.

“We have been struggling recently but I think it should be a challenge to us to make sure that we should have one of us there next time around.”

-Edited from 366 Football

24 comments:

1. JAY JAY
    Don't start wat u can't finish ooooo

2. Yes non of them, in fact they didn't worth 10th

3. Na due sabbi

@JJ....greet your beautiful wife for me....

Unto that package

4. Yes no Nigerian deserves it for now.
    They should work harder and up their game.
    Lazy asses always giving someone hypertension when watching them play

I stopped watching Nigerian match long ago sef.

5. Sure! No Nigerian club did well on the continent. While our brothers in Europe were not better off either. So yes, he's on point!

*Ghanaman signing out*

6. So no nigerian won?cheii!!so wetin make yaya toure dey vex.shey they he don win am 3times.he be like selfish person.

1. I concur. .With yaya toure. .. most Africans have a slavish mentality. ..sorry to say....The guy that go that award didn't deserve.it...His dad is from Gabon and his mother from Spain. ..yet he hasn't played for his African country ?so what's African about his football .yes he is good .but then he was rated for playing good in a non African club...He can only be best African footballer. If his course serves Africa. ..playing well for a club and not doing anything for your country doesn't make one the best in the host continent of one's country
      When they called out best teams during the award.an African team was mentioned..yes on the world ranking they may not be first but they were first under African football....going by your analysis that toure has bagged that award ...4 times in succession then prolly the guy who came 3rd should have won it. .cos he has played African football ..played for his country

2. Do you watch soccer @ all? Who told you aubemeyang doesnt play for Gabon? Leave thrash for lawma

7. See my fav naija footballer.
    Watching Okocha play made me fall in love with football.
    He is right. Nigerian footballers are lazy now.

www.ckjacob.com

1. Nigerian footballers most times falsify ages...so when a 28 year old guy claiming under 21 plays against other countries with actually under 21...The older guy performs well..swiftly he us moved to an adult team as a rising..old man..hehehe..and boom...He can't perform against his real age mates..

8. Stella, ur headline tho. Thank God we normally read d main article or u would have led us astray with d headline. He said no Nigerian player deserved to win the African player of d year award and not caf award. I was already thinking he was trying to say the likes of osimhen and nwakali didn't deserve it.

9. He just said d bitter truth

10. He is right!All our players are below average.

FROM ROBOCOP

11. @orela please get your facts right. Pierre Emerick is a Gabonese Player. This young man played once for the French U21 team and has been a key player for Gabon in the past 3 AFCON tournaments.

So how does he not deserve it. Oh he isn't African enough but you can claim Obama right?

Aubameyang is the best player in Africa by CAF's standard and Toure should shut it already. Did they say Afcon Champ Players? Why didn't Mikel rant when he (Yaya) won it in 2013 and Mikel had a better year? Mikel won the AFCON with the Super Eagles and the Uefa Europa League with Chelsea. Then nobody cried Wolf o.

Miss Somerhalder.