Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Shops In Oshodi Destroyed And Owners Left In Tears?

Wednesday, January 06, 2016

Shops In Oshodi Destroyed And Owners Left In Tears?

Ambode what have you done?

People are crying,this wasnt what you promised them!

Does anyone know the real story behind the tearing down of shops at Oshodi?
The report published earlier today is allegedly a doctored one.

The truth please!....Please step forward if you were affected and crying now.

I am doing a comprehensive report on what actually transpired and why the shops were pulled down.......coming later today or tomorrow.

101 comments:

1. Ambode but y?,agbeje would av been a better candidate.

1. PARENTAL ADVISORY
      ^^^Adult Content^^^

Stella pls shove it, the Germany when u dey if it wasn't reformed and clean will u be there....

2. Bimfem hair care products for edges and healthy hair. whatsapp (07032378915)6 January 2016 at 17:01

Stella, so happy that particular area was demolished for the particular reason Ambode gave,pick pocket, robbery is just too much in that area. If it's not happening to you, you will be seeing them with your korokoro eyes and you can't shout or talk else, they beat you. That particular area is the area boys and robbers hideout.
      Immediately your dropping from a bus under the bridge, if you don't hold your bag well, they are. Ready to zip and pick your money or snatch your bag. If your driving, they will stop you and rob you clean.

3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

4. that road is very dangerous for anyone plying it! too many pick pockets. November last year, a friend had her bag forcefully snatched from her while waiting to board a bus to the office, in the morning! 7am and no one came to help. just before th xmas holiday I the lady in the car in front of me got robbed. same oshodi area

5. Use ur ID when insulting, that way you will be taken seriously....

6. Anonymous, na wa o. Why are u so pained? U won't grow in this life o. Take some honey, honey and add some sweetness into ur life.

7. BlOG AnALYSER: tank@human hair! My dear if u don't pass tru that area u won't understand. Life for those who pass tru there is hard. Even right inside your car u will be robbed. Thank God for this new development.

8. GOD forgive you anon ...this new year so much hate!!

9. That particular is where all the stolen electronics in oshodi r bought and resold. Good ridiance

10. You are a bitter soul who needs Jesus, I pray stella ignores u and God fixes you.Amen

11. This was how the rained fire and brimstone when Fashola cleared that axis. Only for them to later applaud him for sanitizing the place.

We need to be pragmatic and considerate of not only ourselves but of others when situation like this arises. We should debate the pros and cons and see whether it is of immense benefit to the citizenry, as opposed to whether just a few are affected by such drastic measures.

To what end would Ambode want to inflict pain and tears upon anyone? If not for the safety and betterment of majority. Evaluate the incidents that happen to those who ply that route daily, with those who live there. So many evils like snatching of cars and bags, way laying of pedestrians, even loss of lives and all sort.
      So if they discovered that these street urchins hibernate behind stores to perpetrate evil, why shouldn't they clear the area? I heard they've provided alternatives to store owners, what do they want again? Abeg let's not cry wolf where there's none.

12. Stellla, first of all I will like to use Abuja as an example. When El Rufai did massive demolition in the FCT, they went to the extent of cursing his lineage. FF today, we like to show off Abuja to foreigners and proud that Nigeria is not like all the dirty slum they show on CNN etc.
      We must grow as a country. Even in wars there are victims but the larger picture is that over time the generations coming will not know how many people died and cried because of area boys and insecurities in that Oshodi.
      It would have gotten to a stage where even the law enforcements can no longer enter there.
      I was at Peckham last month and saw plenty white people there, I remembered what that area used to be bk then, the British govt had to step in and demolish things, they don't want to have the so called " All black neighbourhood" once the atmosphere was improved, crime reduced and people felt safe to move in there both whites and blacks.
      Nigeria is a place where people just open eye and buid illegal zinc stores and start crying wolf when they are destroyed. How many of those people pay tax? They have also defrauded the govt, please we need to develop. we cannot compromise millions of lives by holding fast to everything. People survive war, famine, natural disaster. They will survive.

1. All to wicked the igbo traders coz they didn't vote for him this is the lagoon they told us we would get drowned In
      We want bifra plz we are Tired the electronic shops was the once affected the most the ibos

2. Go back to your states and stop complaining mbok.

3. Anonymous @16:15. I don't understand you, is Oshodi in Biafra?

You keep wanting Biafra but still won't leave other people's land. Is anything stopping all IPOB people packing up and moving straight to Biafra?

4. Biafra? Yeah right, is it not the biafra that was taxing their people on Niger bridge during the demonstrations?

5. Anon 16:51 shut up.if you have nothing else to say.Stop thinking with your Anus.

6. Anon 16.51, ur level of ignorance is depressing

7. Oh just stop it @ anon 19:51.
      You igbos have to stop this emotional blackmail. You want Biafra?

Wasn't it in your Biafra state that T.Orji destroyed the main market in Umuahia with some goods insides too?
      Same Biafra that ikpeazu is currently destroying some buildings and market structures in Aba, if he wasn't an Ngwa man...some dull people like you would still tag it victimisation.
      For development to take place, demolition of illegal structures must suffice.

I strongly believe they were given notice, they just wanted Ambode to do his worst. Typical Nigerian mentality, they love dying minute. Do BVN, they won't...block their accts they cry foul.

It cuts across everything they do...rubbish.

8. You don't need biafra to relocate to the east.

9. You want biafra? Then, you all should make a huge exodus to your states, develop it to the envy of otheres, and people will start to take you serious! During Xmas, census and Abiola crisis, Lagos is always decongested and crime rates reduced that I am happy.

10. Just relocate and stop whining like a toddler.

11. Like I said in the previous post. Is it only the Igbos that have stores in Oshodi? Is it only the Igbos that patronize themselves, so much so that Ambode will want to destroy their market?? Other tribes patronise and use oshodi market too, therefore a lot will be affected. But why choose only a tribe out of the many there to make them look like victims? You are being unfair and just trying to incite the Igbos against the lagos state government. What a shallow and baseless attack. Mshew

3. Pulled down? I don't believe this. Maybe dey were given notice but refused to go. Let's still wait to no what happened

4. Chaiiiiiiii
    In this hard economy.
    Wrong timing

1. I just feel sad for the owners of those stalls
      Did he destroy their goods too?
      This is not fair at all

5. 2016 is here now. everybody must expect the worst from buhari and his APC haramites.

1. Keep shut tony failure, ur PDP is forever dead. Ambode why dis heartless? When u ar not dasuki and his evil criminal in crime PDP

2. What is this one blabbing? Y limiting it to Buhari and APC? Isn't ikpeazu of PDP in Abia guilty as well?

3. Oh please. Buhari is ur president and you can't change that, go suck a pussy to pacify you!

6. Oh my God! I thought they said oshodi was closed down due to insecurity? I just hope they were given an alternative.. Well till we hear the full story,let me reserve my comment.

7. Must this Lagos state governors bring down a market once they are elected to office? #yabaand fashola

1. If they don't bring down dirty markets how would modern markets you see in developed countries be created?
      These markets were well planned. But trust Nigerians to turn it into their villages all because they want to sell goods.
      It's the local government chairmen who take tax from these stall owners without enforcing strict stall-planning rules and regulations that I blame. Lagos is too dirty and messed up and every effort to clean it up would affect one party or the other. But Lagos must be cleaned up. Nigeria has to be cleaned up. Simple

8. I saw the pictures of d demolished shops and I couldn't help but pity the honest lagosians carrying out their businesses there, adhering to the rules.

Ambode is a clueless governor that would rather take d easy way out than find something tangible do to solve the problems. What happened to strengthening the security forces over there since he claimed they were destroyed for security reasons.

I pity those women selling babies and adult wears to make a living, pity the men selling spare parts and electronics. I pity the barrow pushers loading their barrows with goods to make a living. I pity the women selling tomatoes and fish etc. I weep for lagos. He claimed to have relocated them but please how many people did he relocate. Can they even afford the place they were relocated to???

This is d most clueless cruel governor lagos has ever had.

1. See who is talking? Have you been to oshodious lately? Strengthen the b security force? No be human beings be police and soldiers? Those touts can kill and maim for #20! The traders would have been given ample warning, but as usual, they wave it aside believing they can bribe their way through as they have done in past administrations. No pain, no gain!

2. Look at Eka joy with cup overflowing with bitterness. Who are you kidding with your false sympathy. All because you heard Ambode, APC, etc bitter soul, go and find rest in the grave.

9. What Ambode has done is totally inhumane. It is bcos the victims are igbos. This is why it is better to allow the igbos to have a country where they will be treated fairly.

1. Anything stopping the Igbos from having ALL their shops at Ariara International market?

2. Well I dont think he actually set out for the Igbos. If you notice the trend, its mostly Ibos that seem to be greatly affected cos they are known to be business men and own most shops located in the metropolis. Remember what happened in the case of Yaba.

3. Do igbos treat themselves fairly?

10. When I dropped a comment under the post and one stupid anon was saying I shudnt cause problems with my statement? Have you seen it now? Ode oshi

11. Same happened in Ekiti too, I'm just tired jare

12. Heard it was for security reasons. I hope the shop owners will be compensated.

1. He is supposed to compensate them first before pulling down the shops.

13. Waiting for d main reason for this.

14. Damn! What a way to begin 2016

15. This is heartless!...how can you destroy people's shops with goods inside?...
    Ambode is just a FAT idiot!...
    They are doing these things to punish the igbos but you know what?we will keep excelling....

1. KIA this is not fair at all..look at people that are managing with this economy
      I pray they get compensated

2. Like your husband's fat smelling mouth! Shediot!

3. Senseless lots! You people need to read more before spewing rubbish! They were relocated to another place. Biafra ko Biafra ni

16. Ambode will use any reason to drive ibos out of business. But one thing I love about them is they always bounce back.

17. FINALLY PUSHING THEM INTO THE LAGOON! I weef por my quantari nijeria!

18. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Sometimes suicide is the best option in this country, bcos i will rather die than involve myself in crime....

1. Suicide is also a crime. If you attempt and did not succeed, you will be prosecuted and do the time in jail.
      If you must attempt, make sure you don't fail.

19. I am waiting for the truth.
    I know one thing about us though,we don't respond well to any form of renovation or change(not the govt mantra ooh)

Maybe he is trying to erect a more standard structure. For a city to be built like the one you all gosh about..hope you know there is always a "tearing" down?

When bikes were stopped in some major cities,people screamed blue murder,alot of people lost their means of livelihood..today,those people drive buses,and the roads are safer.
    El-Rufai did same,although I do not know for sure if everyone was compensated.

Do you know that an area mapped out for demolishing has seen plazas and apartments been built over night in the last few years. Do you know why? They want to grab compensation while churning out sub standard buildings hurriedly.smh

Note to lagos state govt:
    If you genuinely want to build a bigger better structure for the masses, you must do the right thing.

You must relocate them Ambode..i know someone that lost her business for years because of what was done to Alaba market.

Make provision for relocation or renovate gradually..let them keep moving shop as you progress.

Remember that the owners of those shops would have rented,so at the end of the day,your negotiations with the owners might not favour the people that toil there day in,day out.

Don't deceive people,no one likes deception..be plain.
    Infact announcements should have been made via radio and TV stations...are you a thief in the night? Nothing to hide here if you ask me.

Lastly,do damage control. Those people shedding tears are human beings..it is not late to do the right thing.

Please disregard this epistle if we are totally off point abeg. Lolzzzz

1. Well said dear! Officially a fan

2. Nne you are on point! First it was tinubu and his family demolishing alaba suru market leaving people clueless. Most of these shops are owned by the igbos. All I know is that Lagos state has the worst and very wrong governor. Nobody should blab o! I just aired my opinion and most of you all just bury the truth with sentiments.

3. And to think you are Igbo and not taking it personal. *high five*

20. Was shocked too when I saw the news. Our govt as always, shouldn't he have provided an alternative before pulling those shops down? You just wake up and decide to end people's means of livelihood. Haa.

* Ayah Shehu *

21. Im sure they were given notice before it was demolished.

22. Do you actually think Lagos state government will just wake up in the morning and start demolishing Oshodi market without first warning the traders there to evacuate the place?

I'm sure they would have told the traders that the market will be demolished and that they should pack out of there but some stubborn people will refuse to leave and then they will start crying when the demolition goes ahead.

Nigerians are very indisciplined and think they are above the law. It is about time they start abiding by laws.

1. I wonder o. People will not stop to think before jumping on the bandwagon

23. If i say APC regime anywhere both state and federal is for the elites people will be talking trash. Clueless regime. Ammy.

1. Ok...but lagos has been an APC state for a long while now, so what exactly are you on about?

24. To be honest this government isn't working... everything iS just not working out.. am tired already... let's just elect a new president and a new governor

25. Well they were given notice and they refused to leave. There would always be consequences for saying Lagos is no man's land. Igbo shouting marginilisation when an lgbo is Governor of Delta state.A Delta. Igbo is Minister of Petroleum. We have lgbos in Lagos State of Assembly and as Lagos State Reps. My own personal opinion is that Lagos has to be reclaimed because Oduduwa is moving in his grave. Computer Village next please
    Ii don't hate the lgbos but l believe a significant number have to return to their states to develop their areas instead of shouting marginalisation.

1. Dotty your reasoning is flawed.

The tribal sentiment is unnecessary. ..if Ambode has to get demolitions done for security reasons. ..so be it.

The tribal angle to your argument is UNNECESSARY.

FYI...The computer village you mentioned above is a source of revenue even to the Lagos government. ...in your state of "denial" you have failed to realize that Yorubas, Igbo's & many tribes erk a living there.

Stop that shii mbok

26. It will be very bad of him if he did not not serve notice before demolition.

27. Stella, stop this.
    How do you want meaningful development if the ones causing insecurity are not pulled down.

There's no way Lagos state will just wake up and start demolishing. Am sure adequate information will have been given to the traders but they would refuse to leave until die minutes.

See the case of Alade market in ikeja. They've been on the case for more than 9years now. Yet, people are still there trading. New tenants are coming in.
    If we wake up to the news of its demolition now, everybody will start screaming for the governor's head.

The oshodi traders have been relocated. Let them occupy the new place. shikena.

28. Kwa kwa kwa kwa kwa kwa!
    Shebi Legosians(instigated by Tifnubu) refused to give Jimi Agbaje a chance because he's PDP and most non-indigines wanted him!
    Dem go chee chumtin*in my lil niece's voice*

29. This action will make the traders come out in full force and put their wares on the road. He should just build a better market and make the rents cheap. That's all

30. Why are they frustrating people esp the Igbos? At least prior notice wouldn't be a bad idea. You can't just wake up n put a halt to someone's means of living. What happened to better security? If robbers are operating at the state house, will he just pack up n leave? Won't he look for ways to fight the issue? The armoured cars, CCTV, flying jets abi helicopter, n co...what are they for? Really bad!

31. So the best solution to our problem in Nigeria , is by destroying people's shops and goods

32. I can't believe that the same blog visitors cheering him on earlier are now walking tail between their legs. Really??
    People claiming notorious no notorious have not even stepped their feet there once, they just jump on the bandwagon.
    That being said, can he speed up work on the mile 2 - Badagry expressway??

33. I don't understand the rationale behind demolishing shops where peoples means of survival lies. His predecessor, BRF was able to manage oshodi all through his tenure. God help Nigeria and Nigerians

34. Oh dear...
    Poor traders.

35. Igbos are isrealite of our century
    You can wicked them, curse them,hate them,afflict all sorts of pain to them

But the good news is that......eventually victory will be theirs....PRAISE THE LORD; HALLELUJAY!!!

36. Jungle inside Lagos,Its no go area.What danfo drivers do there is nothing to write home about.Demolition welcome.

37. This is bad and totally unnecessary. Ambode should go back to the drawing board and borrow a leaf from his predecessor.

38. Stella go dy Germany dy supply una wey dy naija Nigerian news! Chai! My ppl...reading comment

39. so because they are ibos lagos should not move forward in the area of security and beautification?
    This repugnant attitude of ibos should stop, you are subject to laws of wherever you find yourself, you either comply or go back to where you came from. Lagos is not a lawless society and we really being here means you are subject to our laws. Lawlessness should end in your place not another mans Land
    when Peter obi sanitised Onitsha you didn't accuse him of being anti ibo, but now Ambode is doing same you are quick to label him a tribalist. Why do u always have a persecution complex that tends to make you repugnant to your hosts everywhere?
    SMH

1. Repugnant attitude of Ibos you say?

Every HUMAN is allowed to air their views please don't turn a seemingly harmless demolotion exercise into an opportunity to voice your deep seated intolerance of other tribes.

Thank you

40. People from biafra do not have a say in what goes on in Nigeria because it is not their country. Nigeria is trying to move forward, trying to protect it's citizens against crime and make the lives of Nigerians better and if biafrans don't like it, they should go back to biafra.

41. Igbos are Israelites of our century.
    They better Israelite back to Biafra

1. Third comment you really need to chill and make new friends outside your comfort zone. Hatred kills

42. This would have happened during the era of BRF, an alternative building had been built for them about 2 years ago,very closeby, almost same proximity, buh the refused to relocate.

43. oh dear God, i believe they were notified but they should have given them last chance to move their goods. may God console them. may God help Gov Ambode