Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Consumer Advocacy Foundation of Nigeria Declares March 1st #NoBankingDay

Monday, February 29, 2016

Consumer Advocacy Foundation of Nigeria Declares March 1st #NoBankingDay

Consumer Advocacy Foundation of Nigeria (CAFON), a consumer advocacy group in Nigeria declares Tuesday March 1st as #NoBankingDay, in protest of excessive bank charges which include:

• N65 charge on every 3rd withdrawal from other banks.
  • N1000 for Debit card issuance and renewals (which is free in many countries).
  • N100 annual Debit card maintenance fee.
  • N105 charge on every online transfer.
  • Monthly account maintenance charge of N1 per mille.
  • Various deductions from Savings Accounts.
  • A new Stamp Duty charge of N50 on every credit over N1000. And many more...

This protest is to alert the banks on the following demands:
·         Review all banking charges downwards.               
·         Banks must notify consumers on any fees or charges BEFORE deduction from accounts.
·         Bank forms and contracts must be reviewed to include more protection for consumers.
·         Consumer complaints must be resolved promptly and satisfactorily.
·         CBN must review the new Stamp Duty, Account Maintenance Charges and Annual Debit Card Maintenance Fees.

As a show of support, we expect consumers of the banking system to do the following:
Don't visit any banking hall on 01 March, 2016.
Don't use your ATM cards.
Don’t log in to any online banking and don’t transfer any money from your phones, tablets, or laptops.
Don’t make any online payments. 
Don’t issue or present any cheques dated 01 March, 2016.
Avoid doing any banking transactions on 01 March 2016." 

For more info, go to:

34 comments:

1. The deductions these days is now too much

1. As in, the unwarranted deductions is really discouraging . Oh Lord, come to our rescue

2. The charges are terrible.
      I think there is no need having a bank account again.
      The other day, eco bank deducted 350 from my account 4 no just cause,the following day 100 4 maintenance of their dead bank......their judgement day is coming.

2. I support no banking day, they are all THIEVES
    arm rubbers

1. N105 online tf charges,fidelity bank charge much more dan dat

3. Lol... This gotta be hard,no atm! Sheet!

I wish ppl can do this tho cos d rate at which dey deduct money from ones acct is annoying!

4. I support it too but mbok does this mean we get a public holiday? I want one extra day biko. Let the people that want to protest protest while we stay at home and watch them on TV.

5. Wrong protest as long Nigerians are concerned, who cares

6. Lol . I wish you guys all the best

I hope people will adhere to this.

I doubt it all the same

7. I totally support!!!

I was robbed by a bank I trusted so much last week! In thousands of naira. Just like that!

I put up my two hands, legs and all of ma body to support abeg.

8. Yes I support this initiative. Banks are offering us customers a service but these services should be free. Why should we pay? Are banks not charitable organisations? Are bank staff paid salaries? Do banks pay taxes? Boycott banks and keep your money under your pillows. This will not attract any charges!

9. Here in Canada... it's true debit /credit card is issued free but u still pay for monthly account fees unless u are a student or new immigrant.. monthly account free is averagely $10 but waived if you have a minimum bal of $2500....
    So let's do the math.... 10*12 =$120= 16800 naira annually...
    This charges are used to maintain the accounts and service customers..... something nigerian banks need to work on... if u wan collect money at least show for it.....
    My 2kobo

10. no banking day, why can't we do same for DSTV,power Holding, price of fuel, food stuffs in the market, bag of rice?

11. Zenith bank, diamond bank, skye banks always remove money from ATM at first instance. You withdraw N20,000 65k, you withdraw 5,000 (65k). I support.

Make i withdraw small money first, i no want to hear how come again

12. Will the holiday be for only bankers. Me no support am at all.

13. The charges of these so called banks are terrible.. professional thieves!

14. BV Cocoz, do u support?

15. It isn't a holiday, just a day to protest the exorbitant fees banks charge customers. I doubt if this would work though.

16. This is good am in total support, the money they are charging us is too much abeg.

17. iSupport #NOBANKINGDAY March 1st,2016

18. Stories dat touch. It can neva work in Naija.

19. But you all know this will not be adhered to right?! That said......let's move on.

20. Now that's my boss Madam Sola Salako...we are not banking tommorow.

21. Na only people wey no get money for bank go support this thing walahi. If you get money for bank, Na to jump and pass o. I doubt if this woman account dey flow with milk and honey, other wise she no go get time think am talk less of act am. Na wa! This is talakanchi walahi.
    Its good sha. But a typical Nigeria won't do this "all things being equal"
    I wish her all the best in her hunger ooooops banking strike

22. Make I hear say I get alert for bank and because of this yeye one-man strike make I no go withdraw? Say who die? I know her before? Honestly if she see 1 million naira alert tomorrow, she go go for back go check atm or withdraw something sef to buy something for road. Na poverty strike be this. A dangote kind of person will NEVER I repeat NEVER have the time to think not to talk of calling for a strike like this. With this current change system sef, what was she thinking? Its good o madam (let me not kill her spirit) but just keep trying, one day we Nigerians may respond well ( by then you don give us notice to keep ego for house abi?)

23. Make I hear say I get alert for bank and because of this yeye one-man strike make I no go withdraw? Say who die? I know her before? Honestly if she see 1 million naira alert tomorrow, she go go for back go check atm or withdraw something sef to buy something for road. Na poverty strike be this. A dangote kind of person will NEVER I repeat NEVER have the time to think not to talk of calling for a strike like this. With this current change system sef, what was she thinking? Its good o madam (let me not kill her spirit) but just keep trying, one day we Nigerians may respond well ( by then you don give us notice to keep ego for house abi?)

24. Ur papa @ anonymous 20:58