Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rev. King, The Law And King’s Supporters ...

Sunday, February 28, 2016

Rev. King, The Law And King’s Supporters ...

Reuben Abati takes us down memory lane by re-telling dramatically what led to the rise and fall of Rev.Chukwuemeka Kingsley Ezeugo known today as Rev.King.....
Rev.King,the man who has been sentenced to die by the hangman's noose for roasting six people alive in 2006....
This is an Interesting read,especially if you do not know the story before now!

Abati says....

''In the case of the State and Rev. Chukwuemeka Kingsley Ezeugo, the Supreme Court a few days ago, upheld the rulings of the lower courts and ruled that the bearded, self-styled “little god”, “Jesus Christ of our time”, and founder of the Lagos-based Christian Praying Assembly (CPA), deserves to be hanged, for enacting a form of horror movie which resulted in the death in 2006 of Ms Ann Uzoh. 

The simple import of that ruling is that no man is a king before the law, and that the law is no respecter of persons including those who describe themselves as anointed men of God, and who on that account use religion to commit atrocities.  
       But the most bizarre development since that ruling last Friday has been the intervention of a group called the Ndigbo Cultural Society of Nigeria (NCSN).  The group says Nigeria has nothing to gain by shedding Rev. King’s blood and that President Muhammadu Buhari should grant the convicted murderer state pardon because “he is still a spiritual leader to many Nigerians.” The Ndigbo Society is indirectly saying that Rev King’s life should be spared because he is Igbo, and a religious leader. This is nothing but arrant nonsense. It makes us wonder what happens to people’s heads once they are in the grips of the disease of ethnicism. 

Has anyone told the Ndigbo Cultural Society that Rev. King’s victim, Ann Uzoh, was also Igbo? Or is Emeka Ezeugo’s Igbo life more important than that of Ann Uzoh? Or the lives of the others: Jessica Nwene, Kosiso Ezenwankwo, Chiejina Olisa, Chizoba Onuora, Vivian and Uche? 

We keep encountering this kind of absurdity. Crime is excused on the grounds of ethnic affiliation. My-brother-can-do-no-wrong-once-we-are-from-the-same-village: and it is this that has created a web of conspiracy whenever and wherever the ethnic game is at play, and that conspiracy is against the state and decent values of national togetherness.

But we thank God for the courts of law, which in this case have brought the Rev. King saga to a closure.  And please note that if the victim in this case had been of non-Igbo extraction, perhaps the Ndigbo Cultural Society would have been more strident with their appeal. They’d do well to keep quiet and not further insult the memory of the dead. 

They are right on one score though: that Rev King is still a religious leader to many Nigerians. It is one of those funny things about the scope and spread of superstition and religious fanaticism in Nigeria that there are indeed persons who worship their fellow human beings and turn them into their gods. It is precisely this same form of delusion that led to the crime that is taking Rev. King to the gallows in the first place. 

It is why he still has followers who believe that the Supreme Court ruling is a joke and that  “Rev. King is superhuman, he can’t be killed by mere mortals”.  Members of the Christian Praying Assembly are still reportedly awaiting the return of the man they call “His Holiness”.  One Sunny, acting as their spokesman, says: “His Holiness cannot be killed. He is more than a mere human being and cannot be killed by any mortal…He will come back home at the appointed time and by then, the people behind this whole thing will bury their heads in shame…”  These characters imagine that the people who will bury their heads in shame include the Justices of the Supreme Court?

Apart from ethnicity, religion is another major source of crisis in Nigeria. It turns people’s heads, turns them into zombies and forces them, in many cases to worship man instead of God.  Across the country, every day, there are millions who have turned religious leaders including herbalists into “Little gods”. Among Christians and Muslims, widespread confusion over the interpretation of the doctrine has created such complexity that continues to lead people astray. Poverty and the scarcity of opportunities continue to drive people to places of imagined salvation. 

The pastors promise miracles: they not only preach the gospel, they claim all kinds of powers including the power to make the blind see, to make the lame walk, and to help the unmarried find husbands and wives. Some of the pastors add a touch of the melodramatic to it: they give out clothes, cars, houses, and free food. 

But it is the people’s money being recycled and given back as token. The lifestyle of many of the religious leaders would make the Pope cringe.  They preach salvation and divine protection, for example, but they live as if they are afraid of their own shadows. The poor members of the congregation relate with the anointed man of God from a distance because they are not rich enough to get close to him, but from the pittance that they manage to make, they contribute tithes unfailingly, to make the man of God and his family live it up and boast that their “Lord is Good!”

The more stylish a religious leader is, the more popular. And some have even gone from being stylish to being practically unusual. There are churches where the Pastors slap, beat, and kick members. In some other places of worship, the Pastors are reportedly romantically involved with female members of the congregation, including married women.  There is freedom of religion and freedom of worship and association and so, anyone can call himself a Reverend, a Prophet, a Spiritualist or God’s Deputy, erect a tent and turn himself into some people’s God. Rev King actually lived like that, like a mini-God. He built a large cult-like followership and exercised near-absolute powers over his besotted followers. 

Ann Uzoh was one of his victims. Sometime, in 2006, he had set her and six other members of the church ablaze for allegedly committing fornication, witchcraft and other offences. He sat in judgment in his own court and issued a death sentence. Ann and other ladies in church were Rev. King’s sex slaves, and according to one account it was the rivalry between Ann and another sex slave that led to the dousing of Ann and others with petrol, their being set ablaze, and Ann’s death.

Ann Uzoh is better remembered as one of those promising young Nigerians whose life was derailed by religious hypnotism.  Young ladies who are still today selling themselves to churches and pastors should be reminded of her story and there is no better person to offer a reminder than the father of Ann Uzoh, Mr. Raphael Uzoh. 

In 2006, the Nigerian Tribune (August 9, 2006) interviewed him and reported, in part, as follows: 
   “The decision of Miss Uzoh, a Higher National Diploma graduate in Accountancy from the Institute of Management and Technology, Enugu State, to pack out of her parents’ house at the period without telling anybody, was said to have shocked everyone. According to the father of the deceased, during a chat with Mid-week Tribune, when he could no longer withstand the pressure being mounted on him by his daughters suitors who had sought her hands in marriage, shortly before she eloped with Rev King, he began the search for her until he was informed by some concerned family members that she had been sighted at the Christian Prayer Assembly belonging to the suspect.

“To my surprise, when I got there, based on the instruction of Rev. King to my daughter, I was told by some insiders that my daughter had changed her name to Ann King. And she told me that I was not her father, that she had started bearing Ann King, said Mr. Raphael Uzoh. He stated that despite this strange behaviour by his daughter and her unusual and sudden rudeness to him, he did not relent in trying to re-assure her that she was still welcome at home if she could still change her mind and come to her senses. Rather, he expressed regrets that his late daughter who was his first child remained adamant and unrepentant.

“However, the bereaved father, in tears, noted that sometime on Saturday, July 22, 2006 at the church’s premises, the accused person was said to have called the deceased and some other five members of the church into his residence and levelled some accusations against the worshippers who saw him as a little god. Mr Uzoh, now left with two children, said he learnt that once anyone was summoned by the pastor, that person, out of fear, must kneel down before the pastor, no matter how old he or she might be. There and then, the suspect was said to have passed death sentence on the girls for perceived fornication and witchcraft. He ordered for fuel and it was brought to him by one Kelechi because the first gallon of fuel brought by the accused person to sprinkle on the unfortunate worshippers was not enough, he recalled.”

That is not the end of the story. Mr. Raphael Uzoh, while trying to rescue his daughter, was ordered to join Rev. King’s church. He did and was given the assignment of lacing Rev. King’s shoes (!). Rev. King definitely lived like a king, and here are some of his followers still insisting that the hangman cannot kill him, even after the Supreme Court had spoken. It won’t be long before they start claiming that he will resurrect!  But what on earth could have turned a graduate of Accountancy into a willing sex slave in a church?  Unemployment?  

We need to worry seriously and do something about the growing hordes of young men and women who have turned themselves into slaves of churches, other religious groups, pastors and clerics.  Nigeria is losing too much talent and national productivity time to places of religious worship. It is sad that political leaders also patronize these haunts and their managers. Nigeria has become one big theatre of religious ritual. The name of God is the most abused name in Nigeria today. The resultant tragedy and hypocrisy are astonishing. 

For now, we can only hope, that all the religious leaders who use religion as a vehicle of abuse will learn the appropriate lessons from the saga of Rev. Chukwuemeka Kingsley Ezeugo a.k.a. Rev. King. And I am not in any way saying all clerics are bad; but that the likes of Rev. King bring the calling to disrepute and sadly, their population seems to be increasing. Rev King has had his day in court. The law has taken its course. Now, let justice be done according to the existing law, even if the heavens fall, quake or wail''. 

I wonder why they even gave him the hangman's noose,Is there fuel scarcity?

47 comments:

1. Igbo people fail to understand the basic notion that what is wrong is wrong no matter your tribe, race, creed, religion, color, culture and beliefs. It is very simple to understand but they just don't get it.

1. It's illiteracy that's worrying them.

2. This ll b the 1st time I'll read dis guy article from beginning to end, I feel ashame for my tribe, 90% of igbo always support evil, corruption, thief,crime. Wat a shameful attitude. So if we finally gotten our fake biafra is dis how we ll not unite? living like someone above d law. which one is our bro's and sis's? Wat a useless thinking! It time our brainless leaders think before people start seeing us as evil

3. Please the people supporting him are like 1% of the igbo community

Very few people who would rather play the tribal card than see justice

4. I can even concede to him spending the rest of his miserable life in jail but state pardon? That is absolutely preposterous!!

5. Our collective stand as ndi igbo in more ways than one embarrasses me. Oge obula anyi an'ezuzu. Allowing sentiments to turn even d most educated amongst us stupid.

Rev. King arrogates and appropriates d name and place of God to himself. And we think because he is Igbo he should go free after heartlessly burning 6 persons. If those were ur children, parents or siblings how would u feel?

Nnamdi Kanu wants a biafra and goes about committing treason, inciting, and misleading ignorant young people. And our claim to fame is that he is Igbo. Therefore he should not face d law.

We feel we do not get our political due in Nigeria. When have s igbos stood together for an honest course? Amongst us competition and sabotage is rife. That biafra will fast disintegrate to hamlets cos there has never been oneness nor d pursuit of positive general interest amongst d igbos.

Jonathan joined others further ruined dis country and people still drum up support for him simply cos he has Ebere as his second name. Stupid igbo people... when did he ever identify with u or brought u anything positive?

As industrious as d igbo man is, I await d day dat ethnic sentiments and sectionalism will not becloud our judgment.

Stella Odua, Alison Masueke, Adol Wabara, etc.... the list goes on.

Someone clearly commits evil or fails in his responsibilities and rather than condemn his/her actions we defend them on d grounds of being igbo.

Of they b igbo and want support then let them excel in dat which is good and honorable.

Only idiots see things from d tribe or ethnicity point of view - subjectivity.

Unfortunately, the fact day our grey haired men lead these coalitions of ndi iberibe, confirms to me dat indeed grey hair doesn't equal grey matter.

It is high time we start thinking objectively and setting d right precedence for our young people.

Pls give those this man killed justice. Then no one tomorrow will try such nonsense. He is man and therefore not above d law.

Yes I agree, illiteracy is worrying us and it gives me a bad headache.

6. Gbogbo bigz girlz.. so illiteracy is worrying dem? All of them? Ok professor doctor big girl

7. @Gbogbo bigz girl, its only foolishness that will make u refer to the average igbo person as illiterate. Go and check ur statistics please. Just because some group tags itself with some umbrella name to gain wider recognotion does not in anyway validate the ideals or demands by the group of people which it purports to represent. So please everybody should stop all this silly igbo generalisations and face the issues in play.

8. Jonathan can do no wrong once we're from the same party.
      Chronicle Of Brainwashed Journalist

A Book By Abati

2. Stella you would have hidden the "Reuben Abati" or put it down down, as always,that way one can continue reading hoping it would finish soon, you just put it on the 1st line, mtscheww.
    Your last line, errrrr Fuel Scarcity? I dont get,asin they should have burnt him abi?

1. Exactly. BURN BURN BURN

2. Emeka Ezugo was a classmate to my cousin during his secondary school days. He was violently punishing junior students that refused to accord him respect that one day he beat a boy into coma. He was expelled from school.
      He Later Joined one controversial and questionable prayer ministry in Ufuma Anambra state also know as ekpele Ufuma headed by a strange lady called Madam Nwokolo, I heard back then that they do exorcism but somehow rev king became a violent exorcist that he often tortured people to death and the woman had serious issues with him so he left and started his own church in Lagos where he is not answerable to anyone. It is quite a pity.
      He killed people in Ufuma but unfortunately, the case was died because madam Nwokolo was feared.

3. Lol!! Stella fear God!!! Fuel scarce ooo

4. Lol Stella @fuel scarcity. They should "mistakenly" burn him in his cell.

5. Interesting read ! Very useless pastor. It was sheer foolishness on their part . How can u turn urself to a slave to a mere mortal like urself ! Some peeps gave turned christianity to ridicule

6. The day we start reading our bible and abiding by the teachings/worshipping God and stop idolising men of god thinking they can do no wrong,the better for us.

7. May God Almighty save Nigerians from all this evil pastors. Most Nigerians have been so brain washed, even the educated ones, smh. Imagine a pastor pouring fuel on his followers and setting them ablaze..*deep sigh*

8. OooooOooooboy! Shaking my head. Some so called religious leaders leading 'gullible members ' astray! Thanks God for Supreme Court decision. Lord bikoo save your people from all these prophets of doom, Amen.

9. I remember this story very very much.

10. Of course people get emotional when judgement is meted out to Criminals forgetting what they did.

I have read here that a man that went to rob with guns and machetes should be forgiven since law makers are stealing too.

People have even argued that drug dealers should not be killed the "Indonesia" style.

These are all sentiments,it does not rule out the fact that these people are heartless,wicked and had every intention to kill,maim,and destroy with their brainwashing,guns and drugs.

Reverend King got what he deserved and Reuben,i don't care about where he comes from. Just the way people beckoned on Ex President,Goodluck Jonathan to go beg the Indonesian President,i am sure that is what this group is up to.

Reverend King is a monster!!!

11. Ndigbo cultural group should be hung with him. When Oga Ruben hits that chord he is simply unbeatable when it comes to writing.
    Biko who misses Femi Adesina?

1. Anybody that advocates for this unrepentant criminal to be granted state pardon should be hung in his stead, nonsense.

Release him so that he can continue from where he stopped? Kill the mofo already.

Oga Rueben, well written, more wisdom to your brain.

12. Lol, Abati!!!! There is no fuel scarcity ooo. Make I contribute my 4 litres of petrol *strolls to fuel station*

13. They should douse him with the same fuel he used on others. I remember then when people used to revere this man. So many homes were broken because family members were seen as possessed. Many relationships were broken because of this man. Whatever he was feeding his members, na only them know.
    Since he made himself a law unto man and decreed death, the court of law has decreed his own. The people pleading on his behalf are his gullible followers. Nonsense.

14. Someone that they should have killed since.

15. Funny thing is that the church is still running as if the man is around.
    Only God knows the jazz that was done there.

16. So this man shud be freed bcos he's Igbo?wonderful!!what of those he roasted alive?were they frm another tribe?what shud their families do or say?people shud fear God wth d way they attach religion n tribe to issues.these foreign religions have done more harm to us than good,yes they brought education,food n all but our rights,intelligency were taken away.Some of us can't evn reason well again,can't do thngs or say thngs as they are.evn those that brought religion to us don't take it as much as we do here.no pastor can try this in a developed country n go free. we are filled wt evil.we dnt channel our energy at somthn beneficial to neighbors,family n country bt to us alone whc can't make us grow.what if those he roasted were frm another tribe?what wud have happend again?Indians,chinese didn't accept ds foreign religions as much as we do n they ar more developed than us.they carry their gods evr where they go to n yet God still answers their prayers,unlike we here,d foreign religions didn't make us see our selves as one,there by hindering our growth as a nation.let us open our eyes n brains.whether he's Igbo or not,a pastor or not,he was wrong,he committed Murder,nt one person,bt 6.no right thinking persons should make case for him.PJ.

1. I for one think his punishment was easy

He should he douced with fuel and set on fire or firing squad

That would have been better

But this things about people playing the sentiments card or tribal card is everything where. I have read a case here where someone was sentenced to death and everyone kept saying death sentence is too much a penalty.

I have also ready where armed robbers were caught and 3 bled to death and some people question why they allowed them bleed to death.

The 1% of the igbo that are playing the tribal card are just been daft, this is not to say if tables were turned and it was another tribe a certain percent wouldn't say the same thing

17. I am ashamed of indigbo mtcheeew

18. The igboitic bigot won't come out to say anything now, mtcheew. Hypocrisy has embedded in their brain that they can't think straight.

19. Lo @ fuel scarcity. That got me reeling with laughter

20. "Apart from ethnicity, religion is another major source of crisis in Nigeria. It turns people’s heads, turns them into zombies and forces
    them, in many cases to worship man instead of God."

I remember this case very well and I wonder what took them so long to pass this judgement.. I even thought he had died and his brainwashed members are awaiting his centurios coming..

1. So do I. Judgement had been passed. He kept appealing and now the Supreme Court had declared him guilty. I don't know where the moron wants to appeal next.
      But I just cannot wrap my mind round it. How do people get brainwashed? How?
      Is it due to not studying the word of God or just being plain gullible?
      I tire.

2. My sister!
      I ho to church h with mind, Bible is my watchword.. I can never fall to this gullible fake pastors that abound God help me.

So I watched another lost soul on Facebook today in the name of a pastor I couldn't help but shudder!!
      My people perish for lack of knowledge. ..

3. MrsB
      The two
      Ignorance +
      Our sheer laziness/poor prioritisation stops us from "studying to show ourselves approved"

21. Those still loyal to him should be captured and taking some where for deliverance

Why would you still be loyal to someone that committed murder? ? I can't even stand a pastor that commits adultery talk more of murder

22. He who kill by sword should die by it,.

23. Those ndigbos need to go for mental check up.

24. This rev king should have been burnt to ashes already, why are they still keeping him when there is no fuel scarcity.

25. The "is there fuel scarcity" part got me laughing so hard. The sad part is this monster still has followers.

26. Why will anyone who calls themselves a Christian call rev king a pastor? It is an insult....he is not and have never been....stop insulting the body of Christ with such examples

27. For this comment this group should be denounced. I'm Igbo but honestly my people let me down a lot. We aren't even learning as a people. We are way too partisan in our thinking yet very disjointed and disunited as a collective.

We clamour for Biafra without having capable political leaders with a good track record across Igboland. We blame the Federal government for the poor infrastructural development in our region while the state governments have failed in providing the basic amenities and services in various states (I'll use my state ABIA as an example.

We are so partisan to the extent that we openly support kleptocrats because they are Igbo; whats the common defense "are they the only ones?" "hausa people have stolen more" "they are only punishing them because they are Igbo". Some Igbos will even come out and criticize you for saying the truth, "are you not an Igbo man?" they ask. For shame Ndi K'Anyi, For Shame!!!!!!!!!!