Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LAGOS BEGINS INTEGRITY TESTS ON LEKKI GARDENS BUILDINGS

Monday, March 21, 2016

LAGOS BEGINS INTEGRITY TESTS ON LEKKI GARDENS BUILDINGS

The Lagos State Material Testing Laboratory said it had carried out preliminary tests on all buildings constructed by Lekki Gardens in Lagos, following the recent collapse of a five-storey building.

The Project Director of the agency, Adeoye Adesola, made this known on Wednesday in Lagos in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria.
The Lagos State Emergency Management Agency had told NAN that death toll in the collapsed building in Lekki had risen to 34.

Adesola said the test was ordered by Governor Akinwunmi Ambode to ascertain the fitness of all buildings constructed by Lekki Gardens.
The governor had on Tuesday ordered residents in all the buildings constructed by Lekki Gardens to vacate their apartments pending the conclusion of the integrity test.

Adesola said the agency would conduct further tests on all the buildings.
He said: “We are here based on the instruction from the governor that all the buildings here should be tested to know their integrity and if they are habitable for the occupants.

“The test is on now. People are already carrying out the test and we still want to work on the sub-soil. So the outcome will be communicated to the governor.”
Adesola said the test would include testing of the materials used for the construction of buildings in Lekki area, the foundation, soil and concrete.
However, some occupants of the buildings, who pleaded anonymity, urged Ambode to consider their plights and give them more time to evacuate their belongings and relocate to new places.

One of them said: “I moved in here barely two weeks ago and now we are being asked to move out. Where do we move to? It is very traumatic. The gates are partially locked. We can’t move out with our cars. Our freedom and movement are already restricted. Please let the governor have mercy on us and give us more time. We have had meetings with our agents and settlement of our rent is part of what we discussed. It is either our agents relocate us or refund our money.”

SOURCE: Western post

Chei this Lekki garden brouhaha eeeenh!

26 comments:

1. I really pity occupants of those houses.

2. That is bad. where do they want them to go.. Lagos state doing nonesense everytime. No time frame for people to vacate. They think we are in military regime where everything is OBEY BEFORE COMPLAIN

1. Am sure you wouldn't prefer the buildung to collapse on them.

2. Why only lekki gardens? Why not all houses in Lagos! Rubbish. All lives matter, be it rich folks or poor!

3. They shld have gotten a restraining order b4 the 2days elapsed and ask either the govt or the developer to provide accomodation for them pending the end of the test.

1. Restraining order in Nigeria?? Are you sure you are in Nigeria?? That stuff can't work here.

4. Chai, lekki garden it is well ooo. Pele.

5. Good development ooo.. thumbs up to the state government

6. This guy is in a deep mess only God can save him

7. I hope no be dem build golf estate!

8. Health they say is wealth and when there is life there is hope,that you are asked to vacate is for your safety , I don't quite understand why anybody will want to contest that. If I live in that Estate I would have packed myself without anyone asking me to.

Quality Control and assessment is necessary for every material to be used for construction and site engineers are so responsible for this.

What the Governor should do is to summon the building designers, to check the designs, and secondly the site engineers to check if they followed the design strictly.

Then find out if they got all their permits, from planning to construction commencement permit before they started building if not, the Ministry of Physical Planning should be sanctioned.

Am sorry they are starting with the last stage, though it is very necessary to also check the quality of the materials used.

1. Thank you. They need to check those engineers involved in the project. And talk to ministry of is it physical planning or works and housing sef? Story long my sister

9. Hmmm.... I have a lot to say but I won't talk before km decoded. Lagos state is on the right track. I know some shady engineers who were involved in this project, since as far back as 2013. The chicken has come to roost

1. I don't think anyone can be decoded here. People can only guess or give wrong assumptions unless you give details concerning where you live, your name and where you work.

So many people come to this blog and form I know who you are and make up stories about the person but in actual sense they don't know. They wish they knew or think they know.

2. Spill...*spreads mat* kamara I'm fine o!

3. Anon18:27you wish!

4. Don't worry black berry. When Lagos state does their findings, then I'd spill. But don't write off what their saying at all. This is no political witch hunt.

@Anon- hmm... Okay oh! I pray.

10. Pls how do I get loan for my business. Like 300k pls. I'm based in Lagos

11. The government should try as much as possible to have this done speedily and have a way to make the developers pay or relocate the occupants of the houses. 34 lifes is way too much. RIP to the dead.

12. As far as am concern. I reside @lekki gardens n nobody has told us to vacate our home . So I wonder whr u guys are getting stories from.