Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ibinabo Fiberesima - Segun Arinze Pleads And Prostrates On Her Behalf to the Family of Dr. Giwa

Tuesday, April 05, 2016

Ibinabo Fiberesima - Segun Arinze Pleads And Prostrates On Her Behalf to the Family of Dr. Giwa

The sentencing of ex Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN) president Ibinabo Fiberesimato 5 years in prison over manslaughter charges has evoked a lot of responses from people. Some in support of the judgement, while others criticize it.

The likes of Gloria Anozie, Charles Novia and now Segun Arinze are some of Ibinabo’s colleagues that have spoken out in support of her. Segun even took his support further by prostrating and begging the Giwas (Family of Dr Suraj Giwa who was killed in the accident) on live TV to tamper justice with mercy and forgive Ibinabo.

See the video below:

culled from bellanaija.

99 comments:

1. I think he should begging Lagos State Government not Giwa's Family. Good one from him though

1. Hmmm.. Go to their house o. Or rather, to the court.. it's no longer within their capacity to reverse her sentence. I'm sure u know this.

2. No one is above the law. They should allow her serve her punishment biko. What a crap! Hypocrites. All this nonsense can only happen in Nigeria. Driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs is a criminal offence in developed countries. They don't joke with it. In fact Ibinabo is not suppose to drive again for life except she attends a special driving course. Make I hear word. Every time we read accident cases on Nigerian roads online, lives are wasted by reckless drivers. No driving laws, rules, control. Tufiakwa very scary 😓.

3. Why are they begging on her behalf, can't she beg for herself?

4. In as much as I know as a lawyer there is Lil or nothing Giwa's family can do anymore in this matter; I honestly sympathise with Ibinabo. I feel goose bumps whenever I read this.

Personally, I see this as an accident that is why it hurts me. Drunk or not!

Would have said she shoulda laid low than partying since her case was still on; on the other hand it is easier said than done. She is human and everyday she wakes up and breathes in; there is a natural urge to LIVE

God be with u in this trying time IB*

5. This is not within the Giwa's family hands again! It is LAGOS STATE that is persecuting her! If 'they' have all postrated and begged the deceased family like this when the accident occurred, they would have forgiven her and accepted their fate. And she would have gone low profile out of respect for the bereaved.

6. This Arinze is a complete disgrace to humanity. A shameless fool. Gosh, the guy is disgusting. If he's begging that IB should not go to jail for her recklessness, pls he should also beg that all Nigerian prisoners should also be forgiven. I'm so sick of all the low-life fools calling themselves 'celebrity' in Nigeria.

7. If I were the Judge, I would sentence that woman to at least 20yrs in prison. These so-called celebrities and their sense of entitlement is unbelievable. Fake actors, fake lives, miserable souls. Bunch of idiots.

2. Stupid man. I see why Nigeria remains the same, retrogressive country. Can you not understand that this woman committed a crime and she has to pay for it? Whether she did it intentionally or not is not important. She was driving under the influence, most likely speeding and committed manslaughter. Why can't this filter through your skulls? Gosh. I pity the next generation. Is there really hope for a better Nigeria????????

YOT

1. My thoughts exactly.Nigerians attach sentiment to everything. This is a crime that require doing your time. Is that simple. People have gone to jail for the smallest reasons and came out reformed.

2. How many times does one has to scream that a criminal case is prosecuted by the state not individuals! And why beg, as if an injustice has been done? So boko haram, armed robbers, kidnappers, rapists, etc should beg and be forgiven. You may pity her, sorrier case have been prosecuted but let the law take its course

3. Anonymous 07:05 How can there be hope for a better Nigeria when heartless people like you exists? They should channel their energy on getting a good lawyer and stop begging the wicked family. Ibinabo did not kill anybody,what happened was an accident.

4. I'm tired of all these sentiments.

5. There is always a lesson in every situation, she killed someone due to her recklessness, is she not suppose to continue her life in a low key, I don't see her face in movies but when it comes to fighting over AGN position, she will be all over the news, her wedding was all over the Internet, her pictures every where, partying and the rest. What happened to being sober, staying off limelight knowing her history, must she be loud, truth be told, the family remembered her again due to these publicity because it's as if she is as free as a bird. She should have borrowed leaf from some of the married actresses, the likes of chioma akpotha, she is happily married with kids and you won't catch her partying in public. Abeg I don talk finish. I hope after this her trial, she will go and ynash down quietly so that her family will enjoy her in peace.

6. @fan eEmmanuel go out there, have an accident that kills someone and see if you won't go in for it..

3. This peoplee no ja at all...

Are they alright???

This is funny

#GoodMorning

1. They are turning it into a movie script. Yeyebrities.

4. Is this not medicine after death?

1. No! It's medicine after burial.

5. Too little too late. Why can't they allow her serve her sentence in peace by supporting her emotionally, where were this same people 10 years ago...I just don't get

6. They should rest this matter biko. So many breadwinners/innocent people in prison, who will plead for them?

1. We won't hear word because in involves a celebrity. Road users lives are wasted on daily basis on Nigerian roads due to reckless driving. No one is speaking for those innocent souls. Nigeria has a long way to go believe me.

2. TennisFan, I tell you. Them go dey blame Politicians for everything when the problem is within.

7. I'm surprised segun arinze is acting like someone un-schooled it's a case of The State versus Ibinabo not the Howard family.

8. Replies
    1. Lol... All i see is d "how dare you" mouth and fake face... Dat movie don tey hence d bad hair and make up i guess. Una wéll done Hip TV, no recent movie she featured in u can use abi? Continuu!

9. Replies
    1. No! It's too early but they should let her serve her punishment in peace and quit all these sentiments.

10. Replies
    1. She is in prison. No one is above the law.

11. These artist shouldn't be dumb Biko, she committed a crime it's so she should do the time. See me see wahala prostrating to beg that someone that someone shouldn't go to jail because she's AGN president or wha??

1. I tire o, only five years for killing someone and they won't let us hear word. They should plead for those who are in jail for crimes they did not commit. She committed the crime so she has to face the punishment

2. Very silly of Segun.

12. I hope the prostrating is at their house and not on one social media somewhere.

For those saying the family can no longer do anything as the case is btw the govt and ibinabo, that's a big lie, the family pleading on her behalf, asking them to drop the case would go a long way in how things shape out. Just that they don't want to, understandably tho. But please if any family member is reading this, pls for the love of God and for the love of dr Giwa(I have a feeling that he was a very compassionate fellow and may not want this woman to go to jail for this), pls help her get off this. Ibinabo did the wrong things all along concerning this case, but pls genuinely forgive and help her in anyway u can. I think she's learnt a bitter lesson from all these already. Just my own opinion tho.

Pls and pls

1. CRAZE. dey ur head. stupid fellow like u

2. Illiterate as usual. The family could only have dropped the case before sentencing not after

3. Sorry my guy, u r wrong. The supreme Court does not go into facts after judgment is brought on appeal before it. The supreme Court can only look at the judgment and see whether it was proper. So too late to apologize to giwa family.

4. I hate to break it to you but I still will; you are slow in the brain.
      The family has no say in a case between the state and an accused.
      Secondly a judgement has been handed down at the appeal court. What do you want the family trouble do? Ask the state to disobey the court?
      As for Segun Arimze, he has always beend daft. So no surprises there.
      Nigerians just assume begging as a default position. We think begging resolves all issues.

5. eka,Ur idiocy na paramount ruler 4 ur miserable life

6. For everyone insulting Eka Joy.. this week may you all know no mercy either from God or man. May be pay for all your shortcomings before God and man no matter how small or big. When you all bring your frustrated lives online to insult someone that just aired her opinion. Idiots. The type of country we live in, one can't go out everyday without praying for God's mercy amongst others. You animals are coming here to throw stones that someone should not be forgiven. Isi mbebi kwa unu..

13. Mtchewwwwww! Ugbua ka chi fo

14. This Is too late, if they had done this immediately after the crash I think the family will accept. Beside it's a matter of Govt vs Ibinabo
    Were's Geneieve? She's very close to IB, Genny can so hide herself away from things like this

1. See you? Must jenny show herself on TV or social media to let u know she s supporting her? Mumu like u

2. Keep going anno to insult me
      If u get mind use your Id
      Fear dey catch u bah?
      Use your id to insult your mother that you've taken give away before
      Born throw away fool

3. True lilly. They should have begged 10 years ago. They should have all prostrated and begged all these years. This is disgusting

15. Shantelle loves Tuscany5 April 2016 at 07:40

I didnt watch. Dont want to waste my mb on fools.
    Adults behaving like kids, is it that they lack comprehension or what? Segun arinze don't tell me you are naturally stupid,you'v bn going on and on about this case. Where's the eye witness you said you said you spoke with?now you are postrating. Allow your friend to serve her jail term,come out and move on with her life,you ppl keep complicating her issues in the name of solidarity.
    Segun stop dragging the Giwa's into the mud,they'v washed their hands off this case. Don't be a dunce! Go and postrate to lagos state government.

SHantelle

1. Was it Segun arinze that said he spoke with an eye witness?

16. Will these people ever allow this issue rest?? Who begs unbehalf of the common man? Everyone is suddenly irritating me concerning this issue! Let her do her time in peace. ..
    No amount of begging will get her out of this one...gone are those days where celebrities and politicians are untouchable!

Enough already!

1. Ibinabo should serve her time. I think god loves her that is why she is been given the opportunity to pay for her crimes instead of her children. Life is can be funny a times. If you buy your way through stuffs like this, could just be your children that would serve double of this time in later years for a crime they might not even have committed.

2. Countless of innocent people are in that same jail for crimes they did not commit, they can not beg for them o. Busy forming concerned colleagues cos she is a celeb, tcheeew

17. Eryah...I think this is medicine after death.

18. Doesn't count, don't matter. You cannot beg for an adult, she had 11yrs to apologise on national TV or grant an interview, by any means just to apologise to NIGERIANS but she didn't want to hurt her golden career, Now you have a video that can be viewed WORLDWIDE prostrating and begging for her... How ironic!

I still maintain that 5years for manslaughter is a pat in the back, she got it easy, so what's all the noise about???? Is she above the law? Is she above being punished?

Sometime last week, I was taking care of my son, having a really tiring and stressful day but still on my feet taking care of him, I began to think on how tough it is to raise a child, physically demanding, emotionally draining and financially tasking, than I paused for a moment to imagine raising this boy to the point where he is grown, becomes a medical doctor and has his own family and someone kills his like that? OMG I would want justice by all means, premeditated or not, I would want that person you rot in jail. Now I am not wishing such on my child but that is me putting myself in Giwas family shoes.... IT IS UNIMAGINABLY HARD!

Let her do her time and be set free, 5yrs will fly by and she will be set free and start showing on screens again, but Dr. Giwas will never consult again, he will never treat a patient again, he will never celebrate birthdays and anniversaries again, his wife will never get a goodbye kiss, she is now a WIDOW! His children FATHERLESS FOREVER!

Asking for Ibinabo to be set free is SELFISH.

#nextbestthing

1. Really really love this reply. Its just selfish for people to even be begging for her to be set free as if it's a death sentence.

2. 1000 likes for this comment

3. Anon chop kiss.
      My tout exactly on this matter.

Y'all insulting SEGUN biko stop jor. He is just being a friend.

SEGUN u too bone jor. Let Ib serve her time. God forbid bt if this happened to anyone close to me I will carry the matter for head like gala. We understand its a mistake n could happen to anybody. I drive too n I pray not to ever run even a goat down, cos I will just start shivering n I know I won't run away cos I will be soooooo freaked out. So my dear SEGUN this one dun pass be careful so pullout I don't want people insulting u for nothing.

Meanwhile my love for u increased after u assited my friend Kelechi uhegwu.

19. Eaaaya ,but is coming too late ,they should have done this long ago .it cant change the judgement

20. Omo......they should stop this ignorance Na. What is all this? Would be allow our backwardness affect us in everything? THE COURT sentenced her not the Giwa family. Is this how America and other civilised countries go about begging to be let off the hook and their judicial system prevails? Let us stop brandishing our stupidity and do the right thing. Later if EFCC gives option of plea bargain everybody will stand up and have something to say. What's the difference, with all this show of shame. Is she above the law. Abeg joor. What rubbish.

1. Many Nigerians are so myopic and sentimental. No one is above the law period.

21. What's the meaning of all this ? Where were you guys in all the ten years of adjourning the case till verfit was given ?
    You people should leave Giwa family alone and go and beg the state.

22. Nonsense.
    This is an example of what is wrong with this country.
    mtchewwwww

23. All these people acting like they like Ibinabo more than she likes herself should just take a chill pill and allow her do her time in peace. Tired of this story jor.

24. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. Not might he would hit u again. A woman is suppose to be respectful until she is disrespected.

2. Break up with him. U are an abuser. Ur type will push a man to d wall n cry foul. Whn u get married, I wish u get thrown out before someone hits u.

3. You caused it how? Simply because you put off the light he was reading with? Can't he put it on or leave the room for you?? He has no justification to lay his hands on you talk more of using his belt.Nne,afa gi wu sorry if you eventually ends up with him.nwoke afu wu ekwensu puru odu! Ngwa,go back to your parents house osiso..

4. My dear,he has no reason whatsoever to hit u.of all things,his belt. Meaning that it was premeditated. He should have just ignored u and stand up to put on the light. He would do it again trust me. I have dared my hubby so many times to try him if he would hit me and he has NEVER failed the test . Run as fast as your legs can take you.

25. Ibinabo do ur time and get it over with. U had 11 years to make amends but u neva did. I hope ur sparkly career gets u out of this one! Nemesis finally caught up with u and ur colleagues r here crying wolf! Pls go to prison nd b absolved of that guilt nd fear dt has been hanging over ur head for years. It's just 5 yrs, just 5 christmases.u will b out b4 u know it unlike Dr Giwa that will never enjoy that luxury. Hav a beautiful prison experience.

1. Ibinabo had a court case coming up and she was busy gallivanting and "Peacocking" the previous week at a red carpet. Just negodu.

26. This is not the time for begging,but a time of sober reflection,just encourage your colleague,5yrs will be like yesterday,by d time she come out she would have learned a lesson.

27. They should have done this since, not now, but no they were busy licking GEJ,s ass,and Ibinabo gallivanting, attending all events and showing off.

1. Ibinabo had a court case coming up and she was busy gallivanting and "Peacocking" the previous week at a red carpet. Just negodu.

2. Yea with show back dress that caused controversy. She only misses the glitz and glamour. Namsense!

28. This apology is coming late, you guys should have apologised before now.

Though Ibinabo did not handle this particular issue well, the family should please have a change of heart and tamper justice with mercy. I am very sure she has learnt her lessons in a bitter way.
    All these celebrities apologising, why didn't you guys persuade her then to do the right thing?

29. Ibinabo should serve her time. I think god loves her that is why she is been given the opportunity to pay for her crimes instead of her children. Life is can be funny a times. If you buy your way through stuffs like this, could just be your children that would serve double of this time in later years for a crime they might not even have committed.

1. You're very right. That's why when certain things happen and someone is like this woman doesn't deserve this or that, I don't talk. Cos u don't knwo what their parents and grandparents have done

30. Mtcheeew medicine after death,u people should allow ds woman do her time n forget about prostrating n begging d family,IB had so many years to do ds but instead she was gallivanating upandan.

31. The last time I visited port harcourt prison,there were over 4000 people awaiting trial for petty crimes or false accusations.Many of them women. I also knew a lady whose son was accused of kidnapping,she was arrested in place of her son and spent 3 years in port harcourt prison. But no,ibinabo is too royal to do time for a crime she committed. Nigeria!

32. Dey have already raped her in prison as 'welcome'

33. We Nigerians sometime act like backward people. Why beg family? she being withheld by family? Common guys. You all should channel your begging to the court system and lagos state government for her pardon not family. Yes it's good to apologise to the family but rally by her Nollywood colleagues will help her more. Her other colleagues are silent that shows the level of friendship one get from people, you are only loved when things are good.
    How can our court system function with the way we support every known people found guilty of crime? Is our jail system only mean't for the poor and unknown citizens? I think our legal system need to use some highly placed individuals as an example before we can grow as a nation.
    All she need is Governors pardon not family.

1. Thank you so much jay Moore, thank u... Gbam!!!!!!

34. Abeg they should leave the family alone and allow her serve her time

35. I still maintain that Ibinabo doing her time is not the issue, just that the state of Nigerian Prison is worse than death sentence. Except they indirectly wish to kill her. I know you may ask about the others that have been arrested since if they are dead. Well the government won't release the names of pple that have died in the prison due to suffocation, malnutrition and illhealth. Atimes they leave d body there for some days before carrying it out to punish the inmates. If you want her to pay for her crime why can't u charge her a sum that will be difficult for her to raise? This was an accident for Petes sake. All the pple Dangote truck has been killing don reach 1000 yet no body has gone to jail for all that.

36. Segun Arinze is just wasting his precious time. The family of the dead man can not listen to him. They did not listen to Mrs Ibinabo, how will they listen to him? They are simply wicked, heartless, unforgetting and unforgiving.
    How do anyone expect the stone hearted family members to forgive. when the are busy celebrating her being sent to jail. As if any thing can bring the dead man back. The man is gone and gone forever.
    The man's time on earth was up. Mrs Ibinabo is just unlucky to be at the wrong place at the wrong time.

37. I hope the Supreme Court will do the right thing and set the innocent woman free.
    She is a law abiding citizen. We are not talking about Aileen Wuronos, the serial killer here.
    Any attempt to lock her up for 5 years is inhuman, unjust and barbaric

1. You are an imbecile.......no dispute.

2. Ur just a mumu, it's people like you that's is the problem of this country. I bet your not a graduate Cuz if ur , u should know the law is no respecter of any ody

38. This is an accident which could happen to anyone. If she could survive these few weeks in prison then she will till the jail term is over. She will be fine.

39. This country we backward to a shame. I keep saying this so called celebritists can be the dumbest set of people in the world. Would segue try a thing like this in America and not be stoned with tomatoes.? This woman killed someone. To hell if she is one of you. You can go and plead as well on behalf of Rev King too for clemency. Shame on you.

40. Ibinabo should please serve time ,the integrity of this country must be protected . If someone dt stile bread can go to jail of bread who is ibinabo ?? Should only the rich be pardoned

41. this life get as e be o.
    No one knows morrow