Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor, Deyemi Okanlawon Shows Versatility In Falz’s Short Film Musical, ‘Soldier’

Monday, May 16, 2016

Actor, Deyemi Okanlawon Shows Versatility In Falz’s Short Film Musical, ‘Soldier’

Acting in Nigeria seems to finally have come of age with a new crop of exciting acts coming into the local and global film industry and taking up where the 1st generation Nigerian stars left off. 

Prominent amongst these new faces is the fast rising actor, Deyemi Okanlawon who has in the past few years tantalised our screens with his refreshing and versatile acting skills.

[Picture of Deyemi, Ghana Movie Awards here  

In the recently released short film music video of Soldier by Falz The Bahd Guy directed by Clarence Peters and featuring Simi, Deyemi effortlessly takes on a rebel leader character similar to that of Idris Elba in Netflix's Beast Of No Nation and was, in those few minutes, able to take us from a sense of fear to laughter with the line “Sergeant, if you want the girl come and collect her” borrowed from the Headies 2016 fracas between Mavin boss Don Jazzy andOlamide - “Egbon Olamide, if you want the car come and collect it”.

See video here

Fondly called "Deyemi The Actor" by his colleagues and fans, he started out by featuring in some of the best short films and web series produced in Nigeria till date, including Gidi Up, Blink, In-Iredu, Knock Knock and Common Man, as well as music videos with Waje (No Be You) and Aramide (Feeling this Feeling) and has since starred in several award-winning feature-length movies such as If Tomorrow Never Comes, Falling and Beyond Blood as well as the CNN and BBC reviewed international TV series, An African City.

40 comments:

1. Yemi - how is your cousin Yemi Adefulu, your follow follow person for unilag

2. Somebody pls watch and summarise
    Even if it's free WiFi I don't have to waste it.

1. Watching this video can hardly be called a waste. A Lot of efforts was put into it and the hype is well deserved.

3. My best music video this year. I watch it every single day..
    Falz is exceptional.
    Simi is Perfect.
    The director who I think is Clarence (I may be wrong) did a good job.
    'Deyemi has always been a superb actor.

1. It would have been perfect if d video editor had made sure their lips in the video moved together with d actual song. But above all, it's a really good video.

2. U are 100 percent right.Clarence or no one superb video

4. Sorry to go off post!

So bcos I spoke truth, one Gagool attacked Me calling me pervert? Is not ur fault o 😢

Stellz pls post o! I don't kno y u won't drop my posts 😠😬

Kelvin Dat Edo Boi ( Stellz Cousin )

5. What should I do with this info?

6. Love,lovee,loveeeee this video. Simi is so pretty! her voice so beautiful. This could be my new woman crush.

1. When something more than makes sense we in more civilised world says "it makes boobie". This video make boobie finish!

7. Such a Fantastic Actor. Saw a movie of him with Blossom Chukwujekwu. What talented young man you are.

8. Replies
    1. Stella, I sent you a mail. Please respond if you've gotten it. It's important. Thanks

9. Are you just seeing it?

10. Greater heights Deyemi
    I Loved him from Gidi up
    Such a great act

11. Chai!
    The full Video is a must watch.
    I was just transfixed.

Simi and Falz are just a "couple" made in heaven. The chemistry between them sizzles.

I can't get over this Video.

*Rapping* I be Soldier man,I talking to you,you are respone

1. ***Continues**
      Emi okunrin mesan, u are asking me kwesion..

2. Iphie, my favourite is where she said 'your father.That part always cracks me up.

3. Abeggi, there's no connection between Falz and Simi o. It is AdekunleSimi2017. #simi'sbestfriend

4. @Whirlwind..
      And the way she did "waka" to him was epic! " Your father oooh see me see wahala,i don enter yawa oooh" LMAO! Simi is naughty.

@Anony. For reaaaal?????
      But I feel that connection between them like Rihanna and Drake though.

5. SexyBoolicious...
      This song gets me. Walahi.

12. There is something about him.Loads of charisma.

13. Shantelle's Empire16 May 2016 at 17:43

I love the part he said 'Ode ni ye.....if you want the girl come and collect her'
    Lol,he's a cutie. Ohon!

14. Another old video that stella is just seeing. Ok. Seen

15. The worst thing they will do is not to continue the video. After all they wrote 'to be continued' and I don't watch movies halfway

16. Lovely Video o! I watch it all the time. The concept was so good. Yea. He is a good actor. I like when he said "if you want the girl, come and collect her". Nice work Deyemi!

17. I say ur fada,I repeat am ur fada....oh! see me see wahala I don enter yawa ooo
    I tell my mama my mama tell my papa see me see wahala I don enter yawa.Soldier go soldier go soldier do anything u want but don't fall in love with me.Soldier me I no dey do and d song continues lol

1. Soldier find another boo, so don't fall in love, mo ni, don't u fall in love with me...with me...don't u fall in love with meeeee

18. Amazing actor! Love his interpretation of character. Phenomenal!!

19. Amazing actor. Love him here and his other movies