Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Breakfast - Stuffed Moin-Moin Pies...

Saturday, May 28, 2016

Breakfast - Stuffed Moin-Moin Pies...

What are you having for Breakfast?

Picture this!

I am having Omelette mixed with Veggies today,its something new i want to try out.. with some brown bread and my usual coffee et al....what about you?Have you planned what you are having?

BV Chidnma has a idea what you might want to try out!

She says....
''I cannot make Akara to save my life. For some reason, no matter what I do, my Akara always turns out flat. Whenever the craving for Akara strikes, I always send for hot Akara from somewhere else.

On the other hand, I'm a Moi-Moi pro. Moi-Moi and I are best friends, but the fact is, when you want something sharp sharp, Moi-Moi is not the way to go because of the time it takes to steam or bake.

Then one day, I was browsing and I came across an Indian recipe for Crepes (thin pancakes) using Chickpea flour. Chickpeas and beans are from the same family, so I decided to experiment with bean flour and Yippeeee! It worked!

I made them plain for quite some time and enjoyed them, but I decided to play with some fillings. They turned out very nice. And they freeze and reheat well too, so easy breakfast in the morning or lunch.

You can fill with anything you like. I used corned beef and sardines. You can use boiled eggs, shrimps, etc. I hope you try it.

*The key to sealing these 'pies' is not to allow the top to dry completely before closing it. It should be a little wet when you close it so it can seal itself.

INGREDIENTS (to make 10 pies)

2 cups of bean flour (you can buy the pre-seasoned ones for akara/moi-moi, just check your seasonings)

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon of white pepper

2 tatashe, blended

1 atarodo

2 Maggi cubes

Salt, to taste

2 tablespoons of olive oil

Filling-Mashed Sardines, Corned Beef, Chopped Boiled Eggs, etc

METHOD

Put everything in a bowl (apart from the eggs) and mix well with a fork or wooden spoon. Taste and adjust salt to your taste 
Beat the eggs and add to the mixture. Mix well.

Heat a non-stick frying pan over medium-low heat. Pour in a cooking spoon of the batter into the pan. Swirl the pan to make sure the batter goes round.

Quickly add a tablespoon of your filling to one side of the pie, and close the pie. Press the edges to seal.

Cook for 1 minute, flip and cook for another minute.

Repeat till all batter is finished.

I served this with Quaker Oats because  I cannot make pap!

What's on your breakfast table this Saturday? I would love to know, and, if possible, try out new recipes from around Naija and the globe.

Here are the photos of how it turned out..

-BV Chidinma

Chidinma is a mostly self-taught cook who is contantly experimenting with different recipes, and is ready to travel for food (yes, it's that bad!)

*Wow Chidinma,this looks interesting,I make Crepes all the time so i am definitely trying this out.

74 comments:

1. Just finished Ogi and beans

1. Looks very nice, I'm definitely trying this. Thanks Chidinma

2. Ofada rice with ofe akwu for breakfast biko. No strength for plenty talk talk

3. Wowwww so lovely.will have to try it

1. Truth is I have noting to eat. I have small soup but will share it between noon and night. Let me fast this morning.
      I am happy I am alive. . that's all that matters.

4. Lol this bv is funny.. The way she said she can't make pap... No breakfast plans here... I dunno y I hate sardines, the smell irks me

5. About to devour akara with akamu

6. Shantelle's Empire28 May 2016 at 10:19

I'm @ the gym.
    Brekkie? I had weed and paraga to shine my eyes for now.

I'm intrested in sisi eko's brekkie,pls keep some for muah.

1. Ahah shan-tellyyyyy!! If u wait for me for break fast u go dizzy o. I don't do early breakie jare. Just a cup of cappuccino and Jacobs' crackers. Eheeh

But lunch is sure banker. Some basmati and correct stew. Lol.

7. I'm having kolanut and Kai Kai . As iche mbu.... That's the first thing to use and greet the ancestors. After this, na goat meat yam porridge with chilled coke.

My wife is everything!!!!

8. Mbok akara over moimoi let me know when it's ready. Bye

9. I had wheat bread,fried egg and tea.

10. Awwww!! This looks good honesty, have copied and saved. Good one BV Chidimma.
    Egg sauce with boiled yam this morning for us, garri and ofe onugbu in the afternoon then good old Ukwa as dinner.

1. This looks good HONESTY indeed

11. Nice one Chidimna. Stella I will send you nice fluffy Akara recipe for next week.

12. Mba I ain't doing this, hunger go kill me before I finish na. It might taste really nice tho.

1. I must comment syndrome in full effect

2. 11:31, I'm stupid and must be noticed syndrome in full effect. Nton!

13. Sanitation in PH, woke up to neighbour crying and praying, apparently she works with Diamond bank, i didnt even know sef, chai..... no appetite again to eat breakfast.

14. Interesting...Chi do you have a vlog or YouTube channel?

15. I've got to copy this in my cookbook. Thank you BV Chidinma. You rock.

16. wow!i wil try this one next Saturday..i love..

17. No morning food today.
    Make una no tempt me abeg.

18. Nna mehn...me neva know o! I'm just returning from my usual morning training.

Na Black Label or John Barr 1st o...just to open belle.

Afterwards, na as the spirit leads. Pple like us don't plan for meals. We just go with the flow & flow with the rhythm!!!

However, Ghanaman is open to suggestions & invitations as well!

*Ghanaman signing out*

19. Spaghetti with vegetable sauce. Go check d pics out on ig @moonik2_2. I love food and cooking is my hobby. Go to my ig page for more and interesting food pics.

20. In order words, this is moi-moi that schooled in harvard abi

21. T-bone steak with salad, that's for dinner. In Australia, it's dinner time.

22. Drinking water for breakfast.

23. Abacha with all the orishirishi, and fried fish.

Enugu abacha is the ish, maynne!!
    Had to learn how they make theirs.

Can remember my days in uni, whenever I bought abacha, I had to take it home and cut more onion into it, because they were always stingy with onions.

Now, I get same taste, with as much onion as I want...hehehe.

1. Pls can yu teach me how to prepare enugu abacha, it's been over 10 yrs I visited enugu or had a taste of it but I still dream of it.......Abeg help a craving sister

2. Choi! U just reminded me of one njideka that owns an abacha joint at university road beside chijioke salon at nsukka. There is hardly any week I don't go to town solely for this abacha. I miss nsk. Enugu abacha rocks! Dem sabi prepare am.

3. http://www.stelladimokokorkus.com/2015/10/sunday-special-recipe.html?m=1

Use this link, hun.

I don't use potash though. I use palm bunch (ncha), instead, and I don't use water either.

I rather dissolve the ncha, mix with red oil then add my other ingredients and stir before adding the already prepped abacha .

Hope this helps. :D

4. @White diamond is abacha supposed tohave a slight bitter taste? Tried getting some from Jevinik after hearing friends rhapsodising about it but I didn't like that bitter taste.

5. I'm telling you, Ebi. Na Enugu get abacha, hands down.

I think Okpa too, especially Nsukka side.

6. I remember chijioke, that boy that could make hair pass woman and njideka. Went there with my friends a couple of times. Never ate d Abacha tho as I don't eat it

7. Local Girl, nah, unless there's a lot of garden egg in it.

Personally, I don't like garden eggs because of its bitter taste, but I use the leaves sparingly. Can't be eating my abacha naked na.

Eka, try it someday na. You might love it.

24. Nice recipe.

I'm not much of a moin- moin lover, but this looks fun.

I suppose it'll taste great too, so I'm going to try it out.

Thanks, Dinma.

25. Fried Plantain and egg sauce.

26. When making Akara the batter should be as thick as possible. Add little water when blending the beans

1. True @Adaorah d bean mixture shl be thick watch d water during blending also stir for a while in a motar or with woden spoon in a bowl to incorporate air dat is key too.

27. Tea and bread, boring right?

28. Looks very nice. I'm definitely trying this

29. Appetizer garri and pure water with sugar

30. Akara and oatmeal

31. Noodles garnished with crayfish, ponmo, egg,onion and lots of atarodo.... wao! I enjoyed it. Had it with malt.

32. Rice and carrot sauce + beef

33. I had sandwich & tea.Mix your beans paste well if you are making Akara.mix it till it becomes fluffy,you can use mixer.

34. Akara nd akamu

35. Nobody dey eat rice n stew again, na wa

36. This is so nice, am definitely giving it a try. Thanks for sharing.

37. rich moi moi with cold garri and sugar*yummy*

38. The key to making Akara that will not go flat is to avoid blending tatashe with the mixture. Just atarodo and onions,then don't make it watery.mix very well,u will get a fluffy mixture that will give u Akara balls instead of flat Akara. Pls n pls,i need someone to open morning Akara joint along my street,Morris street,off Herbert Macaulay way,yaba. Its just so bad,no Akara seller around in the mornings. And it's not cost efficient for me to make at home except I use beans flour. U know,someone can open a small ministry by the road side selling Akara,fried sweet potatoes,fried plantain e.t.c.

39. Yummy, will try this
    Yes, I'm a good cook too

40. *is* pls before stella go use me do saturday laugh.