Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CBN Officials Storm Fidelity Bank Over $115m Scandal

Wednesday, May 04, 2016

CBN Officials Storm Fidelity Bank Over $115m Scandal

OFFICIALS of the Compliance Unit of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) on Tuesday afternoon, swooped on the headquarters of Fidelity Bank Plc, Lagos, as part of investigations into the $115 million transaction involving its Managing Director, Nnamdi Okonkwo, and former Petroleum Minister, Diezani Alison-Madueke.

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) is investigating Okonkwo on the suspicion that the money was used to bribe officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) during the 2015 elections. 

But the  bank has said the transactions – now being traced to the former Minister of Petroleum Resources – were duly reported to the appropriate agencies as required by law.

Daily Sun findings showed that the bank’s executive committee has already made a comprehensive presentation to the CBN on the transactions. The visit by the Compliance Department of the apex bank was however to compare transaction documents with the presentation made by the committee. Also, the presentation and documents will be compared with the statement made to EFCC by Okonkwo during interrogation.

Meanwhile, the board of  the bank has appointed the Executive Director, North Operations, Mohammed Balarabe, as the acting Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer with immediate effect subject to regulatory approval.
The board said the decision followed “the absence of the substantive Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer.” The board assured its customers, including its shareholders of its continued services despite the change in leadership.

But the bank’s shares fell for the second day hitting a two-month low on Tuesday after the EFCC detained the bank’s chief executive last week, prompting it to appoint an acting chief executive.

Sunnewsonline reportage.

*Its not as if the man was bribed directly with the money sef...And it was duly reported according to report....abeg these people should go after the real thieves and leave people alone...Mscheeeew!
Na wah..I pray the former Pet.Minister gets well soon quick to explain all these allegations levelled against her and if there is any change left from the supposed loot she allegedly has with her.

27 comments:

1. I am more concerned about the fate of innocent people that will be thrown under the bus.

2. Emefiele a stupid man. What of the money he was disbursing during Dasuki gate scandal, what has happened to him. NOTHING.

Stupid CBN governor. Shame on everyone fighting Fidelity Bank as if they are the worst on this earth.

1. Hes stupid yet the cbn gov.
      Onsa has an acvount with cbn and its not their duty to ask questions. Its like your bank asking what you want to use ur own money for when u go to withdraw.

2. That is ehnn. I'm just so glad dat he was not appointed by President Buhari. Nigerians would have impaled him since.

3. This is a terrible image for the bank. A lot of accounts would have been closed by customers because of this story.

1. Anonymous? Lol4 May 2016 at 10:53

I doubt it.

2. Anon don't doubt it o, me i'v stopped putting money in fidelity till this is resolved

4. Wow! Stella your comment is trully Nigerian. "Its not as if the man was bribed DIRECTLY with the money sef" first time I'm gonna post something here- I just had to.SMH. Anyway, we wait till he's proven guilty.God bless Nigeria.

1. Anonymous? Lol4 May 2016 at 10:54

U don't know Stella, she's indirectly throwing shade!

2. Anonymous? Lol4 May 2016 at 10:54

U don't know Stella, she's indirectly throwing shade!

3. Stella will make some comments and I will wonder if she is truly the one.

4. I tell you.I was disappointed with those words.

5. Na today you know that her I.Q is low?

5. Is there compliance Dept in Cbn? Pls check your reportage.

6. Anonymous? Lol4 May 2016 at 10:59

CBN is a joke. For over 7 years there has been daily remote & biannual on site inspection. So they didn't see these 'suspicious' transactions since last year?? When the heavy daily meals plus large brown envelopes they get when on site would have blinded their reasoning! Now running upandan like blind mice!

7. when will these chase end. we need true governance from our government

8. I am with you Stella on this 200%.they should go after the real thieves not this 'show biz' they are doing.smh

9. I am with you Stella on this 200%.they should go after the real thieves not this 'show biz' they are doing.smh

10. Will he refuse them of the transaction?...NO!
    Banks need money whether stolen, embezzled or earned genuinely.

11. I pray this case won't sink Nnamdi oh. Stella which one is he was not directly bribed? But he was aiding & abetting bribery abi? All dogs dey chop shit na the one with shit on its mouth will be called shit eater.

12. Haba Stella,the man was concluding transactions for NON account holders. Did he do it for free? Did he put his reputation and integrity on the line for absolutely nothing? Were these legal transactions? The EFCC cannot hold you accountable based on nothing. In a civilised world, if these allegations are proven correct, he will be charged with conspiracy!

13. Fidelity has apponted a fulani MD with devil's mark on his head. Buhari will now give them soft landing. Fake anti corruption fake change.

1. Hehehehe. Hohohohoho. And what are you going to do about it?

14. Buhari and Yorubas dealing with igbos and Niger delta. Their reign will end one day.