Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Edo Workers Jubilate Over Payment Of 7 Months Salary

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Edo Workers Jubilate Over Payment Of 7 Months Salary

The joy of workers of Egor local government council, Edo State, knew no bound on Monday following the payment of seven months of the 17 months owed them.

The jubilant workers commended members of the State House of Assembly for the approval and timely release of funds for the payment of the salary arrears.

President of Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE), Edo State chapter, Comrade Young Ilenikhena, who confirmed the development, expressed the workers’ appreciation and called on the state government to pay the remaining arrears.

Also commenting on the issue at a plenary session, Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Justin Okonoboh, said the payment of the seven months salaries was as a result of a recent resolution of the House which mandated the State Government to source the sum of N366,467,000 from the Central Bank of Nigeria to pay the workers.

He assured that all categories of workers being owed in the State would be paid, just as he sued for patience on the part of affected workers as they go about their normal duties.

“With this gesture, the council workers have been paid seven months out of the 17 months salary arrears owed workers by the council,” he stated.

*They borrowed monies from CBN to pay?abi i no read well?
*Sigh*..Thank God they paid up but these monies will be used to settle igbese acquired over the months....

33 comments:

1. Thank God! This one na real better rain for them

1. What a relief. I hope measure are taken so this doesn't happen again.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

2. If dem no borrow, una go complain. Dem borrow, still wahala. Abeg let them borrow to alleviate people from poverty. When the time comes they'll know how to pay back. After all na Nigerians kukuma get the money and central bank. Nobody cares where they sourced the monies from right now. Na to pay the igbese wey dem don owe since the govt has been owing them go dey their minds right now.

2. This one na election strategy. He wants Mr. Obaseki to be the governor. So he has seen mugus on the Edo State workers. Let them continue borrowing to pay workers. At least the workers are happy for their salaries now.

1. Make Edo people shine their eye well well o, correct election strategy!

2. Obaseki his puppet without certificate..

3. Now wey dem don pay una if una like make una nor get sense o. Go vote for the Urchin's candidate once more. This time they will owe y'all for 4 years and pay when its time for fresh elections.

4. Foolish workers, jubilation over your entitlement when u should be requesting for the outstanding 11months. Don't be fooled, election is around the corner that's why u were paid. It is such character by workers that make Politician who are the servant to Lord over the masters who are the masses.

5. CBN being used to get Edo state Governorshio ticket.

6. So Adam,you have time to rant about PDP's failed government and you had not paid salary???
    You need to keep that hole in your face quiet,do ya work abi face ya work!!!!

7. Are you kidding me? Why are they jubilating, shebi is their hard earned money? Mhen this country is fhucked for life, imagine a civil servant jubilating over his salary not even increase in
    salary oooh. People haff suffer sha.😕😕😕

*crosses leg like a mermaid*

8. Nice political move only fit for the gullible.
    Election is about a month away from now. The political sepulchre has to be whitewashed so that votes can be gathered.
    I just hope the downtrodden will vote with their brains and not their stomachs.
    Salary has turned to borrowed carrot and stick to be paid back in taxes.

1. Just Imagine! Cos Election is approaching, he should have done this before now. Mtcheeeeeeeeeew

9. Borrowing money from the CBN to settle workers?
    Shame on Oshinmole

1. No problem, let him go and borrow from World Bank to pay the balance we don't care. A former labour leader that should know better a big SHAME on him

10. They should better open their eyes and vote wisely.

11. It's a sin..why owe 17 months salaries? I wonder how the various local govt administrators and governor of the state sleep at night...they now paid 7months and made the workers look like they did them a favour by paying such..they should have tendered apology letters to all workers and promised to pay the 10months owed soonest!..

12. The new administration will come n pay the balance. Failed leaders everywhere.

13. Hmmmmm!
    Strategy.

14. thank God for them but this is really shameful!

Vote SDK for Best Blogger of the Year!

http://www.podiumawards.org/VOTENOW-PAGE/

15. I'm happy they got part of their money. Pls vote wisely this time around don't let this jubilation cloud your reasoning.

16. What??? Jubilating over what they worked hard for, they had better open their eyes 👀 open to vote for the right person.

17. I predict that Lara Oshiomhole will be pregnant after this.

18. Loveme jeje is from Edo state, wow

19. Election strategy Edo people collect more money vote out Apc that's d only remedy