Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former IGP, Etim Inyang Is Dead

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Former IGP, Etim Inyang Is Dead

Former Inspector General of Police (IGP), Sir Etim Okon Inyang, is dead.

The family of the deceased confirmed his death through a statement on Wednesday in Abuja.
Though the cause of his death is uncertain at the moment, but the family said he was aged 85 and died at the Reddington Hospital, Lagos.

The statement reads: “We write to formally announce the call to Glory of our father, Sir Etim Okon Inyang, Inspector General of Police (retd) which event occurred at the Reddington Hospital, Lagos, on September 26, 2016.
“He was 85. He joined the Nigerian Police Force on October 1, 1949. He rose through the ranks, becoming Commissioner of Police in Kano and old Bendel States.

“In 1984, he was appointed Inspector General of Police and served meritoriously until his voluntary retirement in October 1986. He was appointed Vice Chairman of the Constitution Review Committee in 1987.

“He was conferred with the National Honour of Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON).”

25 comments:

1. Eeya. RIP. I hope the street they named him after will mourn him. Very popular street though. Etim Inyang Crescent.

1. Named after him? When you are the first person to buy a land on a street you are allowed to name the street. He named it himself nobody named it after him. Gosh! You people should learn to read more not everytime SDK and instgram

2. Mzanon abeg shut up! Where did you spring from anyway.welcome back

2. Oh dear. Is this not the man Etim Inyang crescent in V.I is named after? Choi. RIP.

When it comes to emergency contraception, every lady knows the emergency contraceptive pill (postinor).Is postinor the right emergency contraceptive method for you? Learn more here.

3. So this 'Etim Iyang is a name of a prominent person in this country? I dinor know oh. Thanks for the enlightenment.

Rip sir

1. Same wuth Ozumba Mbadiwe, Muri Okunola, Ajose Adeogun, Sanusi Fafunwa, Musa Y'aradua, Adeola Odeku.. and so on.

All street names of prominent Nigerians. Lol

4. Person dun live reach 85 em still dey find the cause of him death when odas just dey die below that age dey go like chicken..... Very ungrateful people.

1. I'm not supposed to laugh at this comment,but for some reason I find it very funny....losing a loved one is not easy my dear..even if they die at age 100...you will still miss them and wish they lived a little longer..

5. He's tried; may his soul rip.

6. RIP, oga Etim inyang.

No more.....My friend, (Etim Inyang)' where is Anini?'

7. RIP, oga Etim inyang.

No more.....My friend, (Etim Inyang)' where is Anini?'

8. May his soul rest in peace 🙇🙇🙇

9. May his soul rest in perfect peace. Adieu, papa.

10. Oh. Former IGP under Babangida, I remember him. RiP