Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Kenya: HIV Rates Decline Among Adults, Poor Results Reflects on Teenagers

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Kenya: HIV Rates Decline Among Adults, Poor Results Reflects on Teenagers

To improve on the number of Kenyans being tested for HIV annually, the National AIDS and STI Control Program(NASCOP) is gradually embracing the HIV Testing and Treatment Rapid Results Initiative (RRI) which targets people living with HIV and who are on treatment, who then encourage their families and friends to get tested.

Currently 6.5 million Kenyans are tested annually and only 30pc are found to be HIV positive with those confirmed categorized as late testers - they get tested when the virus is at its acute stage.

Existing country data shows that Kenya is below its targets hence the need to fast track this initiative.

Though there has been a progressive increase in access to HIV prevention, treatment, care and support devices including expansion of social protection mechanisms, resource mobilization, systems strengthening, leadership and governance, there's still a group of people who are high at risk of contracting the virus.

"Although The HIV cohort analysis shows that our viral load suppression rates are in the range of 83pc, suppression rates for children and adolescents are a challenge at 69pc and 63pc respectively, more must be done in this area," said Head NASCOP Martin Sirengo.

Almost half of the adolescents with HIV worldwide are in the six countries that include Kenya, Tanzania, South Africa, Nigeria, Mozambique and India, this is according to a HIV/AIDs report among children by the United Nations Children's Fund (Unicef) dubbed: 'Statistical Update on Children, Adolescents and AIDS'

The report goes on to state that 26 adolescents are infected every hour in the Sub-Saharan region yet only one in 10 is tested for HIV.

In Kenya, adolescents account for over 30pc of new infections with the main challenge being that of getting them on treatment.

NASCOP Head Sirengo noted that they are aware of the gap in treatment especially that of infected teenagers and that they are currently working with the ministry of Education to put together interventions that will help address the different needs of Adolescents i.e. Creating Age appropriate information, we have formed a taskforce with the ministry, stakeholders discussing how to include the youth in these response," he said

"There's also a package for teachers to let the teachers know what is new including the revision of the curriculum," said Sirengo.

culled -allafrica.com

7 comments:

1. I presently don't know my status did the test about 2 years ago and negative But since then have slept with 3 clean fresh runs girls without cd. I am just courageous less to go for a test but I desperately need to. I wish one can do the test anonymously by mail in the country.

1. Lol, u dey fear? Nd by d way, how did u know dat those fresh runs girls were 'clean'? I pity u

2. Remembering when we did the test in my second skul days! I dare not touch any one nor speak to anyone! Kenyans too dey fornicate,
    They need Jesus in their life
    #JOeFIRSt

3. @Anonymous

go to pathcare at tiamiyu savage Victoria Island and indicate that the results to be mailed to you, if you are based in Lagos. God bless you.

4. God abeg give our doctors the knowledge to the cure of this disease