Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CCT Finds Orubebe Guilty Of False Declaration Of Asset...

Tuesday, October 04, 2016

CCT Finds Orubebe Guilty Of False Declaration Of Asset...

The Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT) has found Godsday Orubebe, former minister of Niger Delta affairs, guilty of false declaration of asset.
Danladi Umar, chairman of the tribunal, delivered the judgment convicting Orubebe of the offence.

However, he gave him a light sentence.
“‎I hereby seize, on behalf of the federal government, the property known as plot 2057,” he ruled.
“The prosecution proved its case beyond reasonable doubt, and all evidence tendered are admitted.”

He held that Orubebe committed an offence for not declaring a piece of property in Abuja, which he claimed he had sold.
The federal government had filed a one-count charge of false declaration of asset against Orubebe.

The government claimed that he committed the offence while he was a public officer.
The former minister is better known for his outburst at the national collation centre of the 2015 presidential election, in an attempt to prevent Attahiru Jega, a professor of political science and chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), from declaring the results of the election.
Speaking with journalists at the end of the proceedings, Larry Izimoje‎, Orubebe’s lawyer, described the judgment as a travesty of justice.

“This is beyond travesty of justice. I can say that this is a case of whether you like it or not, I must convict you,” he said.
“That’s what played out today. Thank goodness, this is not where it ends. The court of appeal is there, so we will definitely appeal against it.”

The Cable

17 comments:

1. So they've not forgiven this man? Next time, he will behave well

1. Finally one person is found guilty. Chai

2. I just knew they (Apeecee) would come for his head after that his epic show during the elections.

Tired of this vindictive style of governance. Enough already.

1. If what happened was done to you and you are in power now, I can bet, you would treat this fuck up too one way or the other.

2. I know Don. But truth be told, this whole witch hunting thingy is angling towards pettiness.

It's not cool anymore.

3. Good.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

4. Hahahahahahaha...
    Is it now his turn?....
    When will Vuharia tell us about his forged certificate?...
    Mtcheewww...
    Yeye dey smell...

5. Orubabies lol..pele, ur turn don reach

6. Elder kollynxman4 October 2016 at 16:06

Will the property save Nigeria economy from sinking? Will it being us out from the recession?

7. Men are stingy, men are stingy abeg E!!! How many of u have taken your money to take a guy to a decent restaurant? Na so so boxers una go buy.... I come from a world where any can pay on a date... my ex Frances would always surprise me with dinner dates, take my car fill up my tank... would do same for her.. money was never an issue..i was just a normal guy@ Firs and she was with NPA was so much fun...(they didn't let her marry a Yoruba guy) my point here...just because we are guys doesn't mean we should pay!!! ask fellow bv in the uk!!!! When I did my master I found out that even for a white guys birthday u buy your own drinks... guys please date only gals that have sense not the buy this buy me that kind of gals that haven't worked and don't know d value of money

8. But why does he still want to appeal after claiming that he had sold the property before holding the position of a minister?

9. Settling political scores. Buhari never nforgives nor forgets. That's why he looks like a firewood despite sitting on top Nigeria's money.

10. Settling political scores. Buhari never forgives nor forgets. That's why he looks like a dry firewood despite sitting on top Nigeria's money.

11. 'We will not take this' Jega you are partial!!!!!! I can never forget how this man embarrassed himself

12. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    I knew they were gonna come for this one
    Buhari wey no de forgive.....
    Hahaha
    I'm sure he has a list he is ticking off names fromπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚