Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: National Universities Commission Abolishes University Diploma Courses....

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

National Universities Commission Abolishes University Diploma Courses....

WOW..Is this a good move?

49 comments:

1. Very good move! Universities use diploma to give applicants 'hope' and they cut it short by not giving you your course of choice or asking you to withdraw. Leaving you to go through regular admission processes after taking fees that are a little higher than 100 level fees. My friend gave up on going to uni after such an experience. We begged her for two years before she agreed. Thank God shes a graduate now. She was so frustrated.
      Plus, the runs to enter through diploma ehn.... Even when you pass your papers someone will just pay and get admission. And you now have to start all over again.
      Polytechnics should run diplomas and then one can come in for direct entry. Make we know where the problem dey come from Abeg.

2. Mine stopped abt two yrs ago but i guess it helped some to gain admission without jamb.Well wetin man go do,diploma programme should be fr polytechnics

3. You begged her for her own future.

2. Not too good jor..... Some pple don't have money to go for degree courses but can only afford diploma programme... And I will say some pple have used their diploma to get a job..... So it helps one way or the other.

Banning up and down, hope they won't ban lectures one day,,,LMAO

1. Den dey shud go to the polytechnic. Wat dey r sayin is universities for degree n poly 4 sub degree, diploma courses

2. They can't get jobs with university diplomas. Most employers do not recognise it. One might get promoted if already employed using it though.
      Might as well get a polytechnic one. HND is now equivalent to a degree

3. That is why poly is there for you to get diploma. University diploma cannot get you any work but Poly diploma is accepted. Most universities uses this diploma to extort students. How many university diploma students have ever graduated.

4. But diploma courses are more expensive na

3. In my opinion, I think it should be run by the polytechnic except for causes like law and some others I can't remember now.

4. It's a good move stella,in my school unizik ,its obvious that they do it to get income , out of over 2000 students that were admitted for diploma less that 400 were given admission, after 2 years of toiling..it is better abolished. I concur

5. Yes its a good move and its simply because Universities use these programs solely to generate money for themselves. How many people can actually afford these diplomas? If jamb's 3 year validity takes effect then I see no reason why Universities should continue.

6. Good move!
    At least,they will concentrate on UTME alone*

7. How will abolishing it help. Biko they should concentrate in strengthening the system

8. BEST MOVE. Diploma is a business venture on its own. After paying huge fees, no guarantee that you will be admitted.

9. Stella it's a good move. most universities e.g. unilag diploma or Sub-degree cost close to 500K. ND holders from polytechnic can't get direct entry due to they want to consider their product first before others. even when you have a good grade from the polytechnic. only those with science related courses are mostly considered.

10. Does this include remedial studies?
    Asking because I don't know.

1. I think so remedial and pre-degree. All of them should be banned. Enough is enough. VCs and lecturers just use it to chop money. Cos the fees are too high.

2. If you add a little you get admission in private uni. Not paying that much on probability

3. Is remedial studies degree or subdegree? If it's sub degree den it belongs to d poly

11. Everything that has advantage has disadvantage sha

12. I heard they're scrapping HND too o o
    That after OND, they OND people should apply for Direct Entry to Universities

1. Not true. Hnd as a certificate will be scrapped and polytechnics will be awarded degree.

13. Diploma courses are a fraud! They don't give jobs, they don't get the admission as well.

1. After suffering in unn to read veterinary science a 4 year course I ended staying 5 years + no govt organization wanted to employ me. I immediately enrolled to read Economics in uniabuja. Thou I got jobs with it in private firms. Not the best option for anyone

Let the young ones go to polytechnic for diploma and universities.

14. nonsense. will dis stop recession . this diploma have bn helping people who find it difficult gaining admission.

15. *shaking my head*good for them..missylynn

16. Enter your comment...Stella, it is a good move. Those diploma courses are nothing but money spinners for the universities. You cannot even get admission with it into a degree course in the same university in which the diploma course was taken. And the school fees and other attendant fees and books? Off the roof! Thank God!

1. I tell you. Add small money and go to private uni without stress. It's very frustrating to see how some students cry when the list comes out. Some won't even want to go home because of all the funds gone down the drain

2. I got admitted to UNIZIK through their diploma program, once you are able to achieve a good CGPA, your admission is sure. The only issue is most of the students are not serious with their studies, they forget that they still need to work hard to be admitted into the degree program. The only adverse effect the program has the fact that it prevents students with good grades from ploythenics from being admitted as priority is given to their students.

17. At this point, I don't care what the government does. Even people that have degrees they don't have jobs. Nigeria is a cursed country.
    God should blow the trumpet in Nigeria only

1. Cursed? Maybe on your end not mine. Nigeria is a great country. It's in God's plan and our country has a bright future. We are a strong, resilient, hardworking, happy, fashionable, intersting and smart people. God is building the leaders of tommorow in us, and some of us are going to take over as the demand for innovative leadership has become evident in the midst of these crisis.
      But there will always be wailers. Pick your side.

2. You are the cursed one. My country is not cursed.

3. No, Nigeria is a great nation!

18. hmmmmmm
    abeg
    meanwhile vote Stellalicious for NWAAWARD EG...
    To vote send Nominee’s name and the category eg. Stella Dimo Korkus, Blogger of the year to
    nwaawards@gmail.com . Voting ends on the 4 th of November 2016.

19. They want Unilag to go broke abi???? Abeg o, my Alma Mata has the best diploma program.....

20. I don't think is a good move ohh, it help some people

21. U see d thing is d ppl in Nigeria are called nigerians, so if it is actually cursed wat den r u? Pls speak for urslf n ur generation. We r nt cursed jst u n ur family dats y u dnt hav sense. Think abt it

22. Na today?

Let's see if they will sustain the Ban this time around.