Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Nominee Tells Senate ''Senate Should Be Scrapped..''

Thursday, October 20, 2016

President Buhari Nominee Tells Senate ''Senate Should Be Scrapped..''

LOL....

A nominee of President Muhamadu Buhari for the position of national commissioner of the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC, Aliyu Abubakar, told senators, before whom he appeared for screening on Wednesday, that the Senate should be scrapped.

Mr. Abubakar, nominated to represent North East on the NCC board, told the Senate committee on communications chaired by Gift Nnaji (PDP-Enugu) that the upper legislative arm was a waste of resources and, therefore, “must go”.
Mr. Abubakar, Bauchi State, participated in the #OccupyNASS campaign, months ago, seeking end to bicameral legislature, scrapping of the Senate and removal of Bukola Saraki as Senate President in view of his corruption trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal.

One of the committee members challenged Mr. Abubakar on why he led a protest against the Senate, same body he faced to be screened and confirmed for appointment.

He was confronted with photographs of himself and others protesting at the NASS gate and asking that the Senate be scrapped.
But an unrepentant Mr. Abubakar not only owned up to participating in the organised action against the Senate, but insisted and gave reasons why it should be scrapped.

That senators receive huge transport, wardrobe and dressing allowances and they purchase expensive cars from public purse, an economic loss to the country, Mr. Abubakar said.

“The Senate is an avenue for wastage of scarce economic resources of the country… Senate must go,” he said.

Addressing reporters after the session with the Senate committee, he attempted to clarify his position, saying that he only admitted to participating in the protest against NASS and stated reasons why he did.
“It is not true that I told members of the committee that the Senate should be scrapped. They asked me whether I was part of the group that agitated for the scrapping of the Senate and I said yes because of so many things involved in the Senate and their budget.

“They asked me to state the reasons why we were agitating for the scrapping of the Senate, I said it is because of their huge budget; they consume a lot of resources from the government; they put it in their own budget.
“Also, they have transport allowance and, yet, they budget a lot of money to acquire vehicles.”

Still, when asked if he stood by his position during the protest, he said, “The Senate must go because something has to be done to cut down the expenses on the Senate. I still maintain that.”

culled - premiumtimes

58 comments:

1. Who is this imbeside *yimu*, all dis illiterate go just go there! They talk nonsense, how can there be a country without a law making house... This imbeside should be jailed..
    #JOeFIRSt

1. U r d idiot..have u ever heard of unicameral legislature?

Jazz

2. Imbeside? Lol. It's imbecile.

3. You're such a low life, Joe first and it is ridiculous that you are the one insulting and calling someone names 😂😂😂😂😂 At least , learn to spell correctly... ' imbeside' indeed..chai...are you sure you went to secondary school? Abeg go collect your tuition fee 😂😂😂😂😂

4. Omg, is it imbecile this one is spelling as ' IMBESIDE?

Hahahahahahaha

What won't someone see on this blog?

5. Joe First or whatever your name is,you need to stop validating dumbness here. U r becoming a pest here. Olodo

6. See dis bunch of imbecides, if you have sense of humor, you would know why I put *yimu*, ominiknowests...
      @Ogwe, if you read well, you will know, unicameral only works in small country like Ghana, all countries with large populations practice bicameral, cus its the best, in Bicameral you can't maneuver the law in your way, and bills are properply debated on b4 becoming law, because of bicameral, public opinion are put into consideration b4 it becomes a law..
      BUNCH of olodo, goan read ur book b4 you collect me *straightface*

2. So hillarious. Do they still approve him?

3. So it is no longer Ghana must go, it is now Senate must go. But the Senate existence na waste.

4. Gbam,he said the truth.btw,what do they achieve aside embezzlement and squander.

1. In case you don't know their Job.
      They are the Legislators, they make and amend the Laws that guide this country, it is because of their law, that won't just make me shoot you for being stupid....

2. Who is this Joefirst irritant?

3. The person to teach you sense

5. I like him already. Nigeria don't need the senate
    #NASSmustgo

1. Nigeria don't needs idiots, you should be sent on exile.

2. Joe idiot I can see you are desperately trying to make yourself relevant.....that's not how to be popular on this blog....bloody fool

3. Both of you should polish your English before fighting. It's Nigeria DOESN'T need .....

4. He is absolutely correct, no reasonable bills to move the nation forward but their pocket forward, a senate agitating for immunity for her corrupt leaders, instead of passing a stiffer punishment for all political rogues.

6. Lmao.. we need people like him in government

1. Yes! After that, he will scrap, governors, ministers, local government, and make it a unitary government, giving the president , unrestricted sovereignty over the people, our constitution was not written for such governmental system,.. It will be an authoritarian rule..

2. Joe first, why are U replying under every comment.
      You are a Big idiot!!!

3. So! Idiots like you can learn

7. Hahahahahahaha!

If e get the appointment, then the Senate should be scrapped!

8. Scrapping their allowances is different from scrapping the body... smh, an fruit doesn't fall far from the tree...dumb nnama people

1. Super dumb!! He could have just said, their allowance should be reduced!

2. Joe first, you are the Super dumbest!!!
      Are U a messenger of one of the Senators???!!!

3. Joe first, you are the Super dumbest!!!

4. Joe first, you are the Super dumbest!!!

5. You go die replying all SDK bvns. Haba chill na everyone is entitled to their own opinion.
      Stella here come a new Bvn with a unique tackle system.

6. My point exactly... *a fruit mbok...

7. On point barbie, allowances should be reduced instead, what is a government without watch dogs to check mate their excesses

8. Yeah! Dey sent me, and if you have sense, you reply say your opinion, or disagree with an opinion , using *reply*, rather than attack me, for disagreeing, you need epp!...

9. hahahaha i want to know did he get the position that Buhari wanted him to have?

10. I tripped for the man. He reminded me of former governor of central bank while facing the Senate some years back.
    You should be able to stand by our words, even at the point of death.

11. Now this is what I describe as integrity!

12. This is the type man I like who dont care

13. Replies
    1. Integrity with stupidity...

2. Bia nwoke welder, stop abusing Bvs upandan.Every one to his/her thought. Abi you smoke something?

14. Presidency should be scrapped..
    After all they are not bettering the nation.

15. gbam!!! i agree 100% scrap it. all they do is embezzle money.

*hangs leg on the cupboard*

16. Honestly he has a point. But realistically it's not a motion that will see the light of day. And he just kised his nomination goodbye.

17. This one just kissed his nomination goodbye. They will never allow that 'insult ' to go. It will hound him through every appointment, except one that doesn't need approval of the senate.

Of course, he can't deny, when pictorial evidence is there so best thing is what he did, form bravado and stand your ground and then hope, they'll be executive pressure to push you through