Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saraki Lauds Army For Buying 50,000 Aba-Made Shoes

Monday, October 31, 2016

Saraki Lauds Army For Buying 50,000 Aba-Made Shoes

President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki, has commended the Nigerian Army for its decision to purchase 50,000 pairs of shoes from local manufacturers in Aba, Abia State, for use by its officers.

He said the move showed that the military was living up to its billing as an institution that could play vital roles in boosting the economy.

In a statement by the Special Adviser to the Senate President on Media and Publicity, Yusuph Olaniyonu, Saraki said the Army’s decision to patronise made-in-Nigeria footwear was a good example, which showed the force as a pacesetter and a truly national institution ready to contribute its quota in ending the present economic recession in the country.

The Senate President urged other military and paramilitary forces to emulate the Army by immediately banning the purchase of all imported footwear in preference to locally-produced ones.

He also urged the military and paramilitary agencies not to limit their patronage and promotion of made-in-Nigeria goods to only shoes but to other items that could be sourced locally.

Saraki also praised the Nigerian Air Force for cooperating with Innoson Motor Group towards the manufacturing of some aircraft parts.

He said, “This is the essence of the amendment of the Public Procurement Act by the Senate since June. The new law compels all ministries, departments and agencies of government to compulsorily give preference to goods and services, which can be sourced locally.

“We believe one of the gains that our country will derive from this recession is to make our people look inward and patronise locally-made goods.

“Patronage of Made-in-Nigeria goods is an obvious panacea for our economic problems.

“We will by doing that increase our Gross Domestic Product, empower our youths, challenge their creativity, increase revenue generation ability of state governments and improve on the sense of self pride and patriotism of Nigerians.”

Culled: Punch

38 comments:

1. One Anon was trying to make a mockery of me by saying 'otele' means daft, excize me aunty/gagool/uncle, otele means NYASH! Repeat after me Nyash! N-Y-A-S-H! Is dat clear? Now go and have urself a good Monday! Ikwakwakwakwakwa

1. Really wondering when you are going to grow up and stop acting like a child at dis ur age. Mtchew😕

2. See how funny the caption is😂

But on a serious note,kudos to them!
    Buy Nigerian-Made. Let's all do this.
    Home-made,Home-Grown;Our Very own!

3. Abum nwa Aba. The potentials in Aba, onitsha and nnewi is underutilized. Thank God we are waking up.

4. Very nice I must say.

Aba must rise again!!!!!!!

5. Good move, great news. Buy naija to grow the economy

6. Hope it will last. I can't get the image of the running and the boots opens mouth. Nah ordinary leg running e go come be be that.

1. Last till eternity okwaya, even original Italian shoes dey open mouth

7. Nice move. Hope our public office holders will follow suit. Let me await comments.

8. Hehehehehehehe. The more I look the less I understand.

9. It's simply because of the dollar rise,they didn't do it to boost the economy anything joo.

Everyone of them is doing anything to retain some change in their pockets.

Boost economy indeed!
    Building the nation indeed!

10. Cool.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

11. I hope Saraki himself will start making all those his fine traditional wears with made in aswani textiles... Hope he'll stop wearing those Italian leather slippers and shoes and start patronising Nigerian cobblers...

12. Hmmmm,so in other words,you senators no dey patronize Aba made shoes?for you to be celebrating this one.please Nysc should take a clue from this biko

13. Hope d soles won't pull off during a shootout?

1. It won't shut up, if they say make you bring money to construct better one wey the sole no go pull off now you go say no just give me the one wey the sole go pull off but na you go still dey bash them

2. Ah ah Chidinma Gift, you did not have to insult her. You can make your point without the verbal assault. Thanks and God bless!

3. Aunty chidimna which one you dey, for up you yab them say shoe mouth go open, now you are saying something else.

14. There's absolutely nothing wrong in Goods manufactured in Nigeria so long as they are made to last and up to certified standard.

15. He should be lauding there when it's time for senate to buy cars now they won't remember innoson mtcheeew

16. Hahahahahaha I no fit shout ehn aba shoe for army..ok oo make they no use am enter water ooo b4 the under go comot..

Missylynn

17. ....until the shoes disappoint them on duty

18. Hehehe..Aba nanya things. Disappointment in war front.

19. Truth is they produce nice and quality footwear its prize based though. Those ones that don't last are the cheap ones

20. If is thisbparticilar shoe am seen now hmm this one is correct aba
    I can't wear this

1. Define madness while looking at a mirror...do it 10 times smiling...