Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senators Back EFCC’s Retention of 2% Recovered From Loot

Friday, November 18, 2016

Senators Back EFCC’s Retention of 2% Recovered From Loot

To buoy President Muhammadu Buhari’s anti-graft crusade, the Senate Committee on Anti-Corruption, has commenced a nationwide visit to agencies handling graft-related cases.

Committee chairman, Chukwuka Utazi, who led other members to Enugu State, yesterday, said the purpose of the unannounced visits to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission (ICPC) and the Department of State Services (DSS) across the country, was to identify areas that needed improvement.

The committee also revealed that the Senate, in a proposed amendment bill of the EFCC Act, would empower the anti-graft agency to keep two per cent of whatever it gets from recovered loots.

“We will pass the bill next week. We have made provisions for the EFCC to auction seized assets… Going forward, EFCC will keep two per cent of whatever it recovers for operational cost.”

Utazi praised Enugu EFCC staff’s diligence, despite poor working conditions.
“I want to appreciate your fight against corruption. We would have progressed more than this if there was no corruption. We have to supervise you so that you will be efficient. That is the only way you can do your job well…”

EFCC coordinator in charge of the South East, Mr. Johnson Babalola, commended the lawmakers for backing the commission on retention of a certain percentage of revovered loots.
from The Sun

??????

17 comments:

1. All the monies collected, what have they done with it.

2. Wait oh...
    EFCC no be financial institute funded by the government?
    The looted money which is realised is given back to the govenment and the govenment is now giving 2% back to EFCC which is under the same government that they fighting for?
    Are they not under salary or don't have allocation for there institution?
    Abi na mi no understand the grama for this text.

3. Isn't there a provision for them in the budget? What sort of aberration is this?

4. Toh...they should sha fight the corruption and not become corrupt while fighting it.
    2% should not become 20%.

5. 😒😒😒😒

6. If I know Federal work well, this means allowances wey get weight go enter EFCC staff hand.

Make I call my boyfriend say I need money.

7. To auction seize assets? These people are really big time THIEVES.

Mao Akuh

8. 2% of N500billion is what again...for e.g. Chai!

mao akuh

9. I think this is good, now efcc will Start probing like say their life depend on it, knowing fully well 2% would come right back to them, I think this should give them the morale to probe anyone any day anytime, especially those who "stole" big amount of money. hopefully the money would reach the lowest ranked staffs.

10. Hmmmmm...something for another govt to come and probe

11. This is not necessary that this time.
    Its more like loosing focus.

12. Hmmmmm. What will you not hear in this country. Make I just negodu.

13. This is a disaster . Buhari must go. This government is being run like a cattle ranch.