Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Cache Of Ammunitions And Other Military Hardware Discovered In Imported Vehicle

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Cache Of Ammunitions And Other Military Hardware Discovered In Imported Vehicle

The Tin Can Island Command of the Nigeria Customs Service, yesterday, disclosed that its operatives discovered ammunition and other military wares, including two pump action rifles and 7,500 air gun pellets concealed in a container and a Toyota vehicle imported from the United States of America, USA.

Displaying the seized items during a briefing, the Customs Area Controller of Tin Can Customs, Mr. Yussuf Bashir, said a suspect was arrested in connection with the consignment, adding that Customs officers had intercepted the container since November 29 and examined it November 30.

“Customs officers isolated the vehicle to give it a thorough checking. We discovered 10 pieces of life rounds called Hornady ammunition, with the magazine.
“We will hand over the items to the Department of State Services, DSS, for custody of the ammunition because they are too dangerous to be with unauthorised persons.”

The command also intercepted another container of used Nissan Armada, 2007 model, with container No NSCEU718443\6 and Chassis No 5NIAA08A69N709779.

Bashir said that the vehicle contained one Omini American Tactical Riffle no. AR48634 and another one Moasberg American Pump Action with no. U648018.
He said 3,500 pieces of Premier Hollow point and 4,000 pieces of Premier Hollow point, which are all air gun pellets, were also discovered in the same container.

He added: “We also discovered nine pieces of military bullet-proof vests; one piece of helmet with rain proof, one pistol pouch, one riffle pouch, a set of military gas masks, 26 packs of military already-made-foods and two pairs of military booths.
“This is why we called reporters to inform them, because it is about the nation’s security. We must do everything we can to safeguard Nigeria.
“This will be about the fifth interception of ammunition since I resumed office in January. We have discovered 900 pieces of live ammunition, 200 pieces of cocaine worth N2 billion, which we handed over to the appropriate agencies, because we believe in inter-agency collaboration.

“We also discovered some rifles with and/or without bullets, 300 pieces of military caps, some military camouflage and other equipment.”

from Vanguard

*They should trace who sent the car and the clearing agent that was supposed to clear it.I am sure those things were meant for armed robbers to operate this season...or even for kidnappers!

8 comments:

1. Na wa. too many bad things. I am sure the guy wants to use it to protect himself in this country.

2. Not only for robbery and kidnapping o, remember d major one was intercepted in November, so it could also include for election violence and don't forget for Bokites guys too.....After drug trafficking, arms trafficking is next o....May God keeps sparing our lives.

#passengerpassingthrough

3. Damn!!!! D costorm ofisers' reaches jos increesed.

4. Haaa
    ...oga oooo
    Naija I hail thee