Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Adeboye Blasts FG Over Laws Against Christians,Tells RCCG To Prepare For 2019

Monday, January 09, 2017

Adeboye Blasts FG Over Laws Against Christians,Tells RCCG To Prepare For 2019

General Overseer (Worldwide) of the Redeemed Christian Church of God (RCCG), Pastor Enoch Adeboye, has warned the Federal Government to stop meddling in church matters.

Adeboye, who spoke yesterday at the Redemption Camp, Kilometre 46, Lagos-Ibadan Expressway, Ogun State, expressed worries over deliberate anti-Christian laws by the Federal Government against Christians.

“The government has been showing increasing interest in church affairs. Unfortunately, for us in RCCG, it might not be very helpful,” Adeboye said.

He accused the government of not allowing the church (RCCG) to continue with its stipulated lifetime 100 per cent salaries to its pensioners.

“For example, when I decided on what will be the pension of our pastors, what I decided is not done anywhere in the world. That somebody will retire and continue to earn full salaries all his lifetime.

“This, I started, but government stepped in and made a law that we should be contributing to pension fund.

“We have to obey and we started doing that. The result is that pastors don’t get as much as they were getting under our own previous arrangement. But, what can we do? We have to obey the law,” he disclosed.

Adeboye disclosed that other fresh laws had been enacted by the government to ruffle the feathers of the church in the country, with a particularly targeted at the RCCG.

Adeboye also urged members of RCCG to register as card-carrying members of political parties ahead 2019 general elections.

His words: “Now there are fresh laws. We have a rough idea of what the law is about.

“Some people believe that RCCG is becoming too influential and we’re going to be more influential. When you get home, tell members to join a political party.

“Join a party and become a card-carrying member of any party. Just join any party. We shall decide issues right from the ward level.

“If you are not active at ward level, you’ll do what they plan and say at the top. Enrol in any party of your choice and have a card. When holding meetings at ward level to choose delegates, be there.”

“One Muslim in Ibadan said years ago that he didn’t know what’s wrong with Christians; that we help them to occupy political positions and refused to capitalise on our population. That’s going to change from now,” Adeboye stated.

From dailypost

65 comments:

1. The government want to reap where they did not sow.

2. Pastor Adeboye must warn them that as they join not to become figure head like VC but positive influence

3. Since synagogue don't have branches in Nigeria, the prophet can see vision be that.

4. And Osibanjo is the one used on media that no one can islamise Nigeria abi? Nigerian Christians would be shocked someday with their self-acclaimed intellect... Look around almost all ministries, parastatals, government sectors are headed by muslims with less qualifications and christians as their media aides.

5. I don't believe this one bit.

Pastor Adeboye had always been a careful speaker...
      RCCG members need to learn to keep shut!!! Especially these ministers...you attend a conference strictly for church leaders and the details of these appear every where on social media, if the message is for everyone then it would have been announced at the Holy ghost service! Common!

6. Tnxs so much...may wisdom not fail u. I pity whoever came out with dis story

7. Anon 15:14 God will increase His wisdom in your life. No truer words

2. The same thing am telling my Igbo sisters and brothers,join any party(apart from apc) and become a card carrying member. Buhari MUST GO!

1. Our pastor vice president should start the influence

3. Still arguing on a WhatsApp group about this issue. Sigh

1. Now the church leaders are waking up? I have often said this...when you behave as if it doesn't concern you, they would soon come for you

4. The federal government like interfering in mundane things.

5. # Buhari and osinbajo aka figurine)must go#my vote will count and i thank God sey i from rivvstt.

6. The media should leave RCCG alone. Why them dey always twist anything dey GO talk. Make una leave my Pastor alone.

1. @ Lafresh, I'm not surprised @ all, RCCG is a force(covenant church) to reckon with hence they always looking for what to say. God pass them.

7. Yes Buhari must Go.We must all stand and fight it.The hardship is too Much.

8. Life time pension for pastors?,with whose money?
    The gullible 10% payers?

9. Well said daddy G.O. Shebi their so called Sheik said women don't have say and don't have equal right with men in the Quran, abeg they should allow us be what kind of constitution is meddling with our Bible. Bokohari pls leave us alone.

10. I don't attend Redeem, but i think it's time people get more involved in the voting process. You don't have to like politics or be a politician to vote. Voter apathy isn't just a Nigerian thing, it happened in the U.S too.

Gideon: From Coward to Mighty Warrior

Yay! I witnessed a surprise marriage proposal for the first time

11. How does paying pension be against Christians? That policy has been there even before Buhari's administration. Abi I no understand wetin I read so?

1. anonymous gangster9 January 2017 at 19:39

Don't mind these charlatans. Wolves deceiving mumus. The abroad u all love so much, religion is regulated up to te extent we are seeing now. Plus, this law has been there! Adeboye is like 15 years overdue to have packed up! Get away from me, I do not know you! That's what he & others will hear!

12. Pastor Paul Adefarasin has been hammering on this get a party card we Christians are tired of laws given to us by unbelievers it must come to an end! Stella get a party card too

1. That's true and serious. He said so at The Experience.

13. This is serious....federal government should stop meddling in church activities

14. Time to join a party...things must change..Onward Christian soldiers,time to occupy..

15. Everybody eye don dey clear.This is just the bitter truth.If we want to see the change we yearn for, we must be actively invloved in politics.

16. Exactly!!! Christians like forming 'holier than thou'.

Join politics. If u don't partake in what's happening, then be ready to receive anything they give to u.

I'm ready to be a member abeg. Enuf biko.

17. Are they just waking up?
    Pastor Sam has always encouraged members to participate in politics.

We can't keep complaining and then leave everything in their hands.itis well.

18. I really don't know why FG should leave what is on their table and start looking for trouble. Is anyone disturbing the muslims

19. ALL THEY ARE TRYING TO DO IS TO WEAKEN THE FINANCIAL POWER OF THE CHURCH. BELIEVE ME, THEM GET INTENSION BEYOND THESE LAWS. JESU OLUGBALA

20. Buhari Must Go!!! There are a thousand and one more important issues, but NO!! Buhari wouldn't attend to them....Dude is incompetent AF

1. He is one of the worst Presidents ever.

21. Lady T/ am worth more than a thousand dollars9 January 2017 at 13:01

Hahaha people are suddenly waking up. That's great.

22. Not interested in Nigeria politics. The person that will turn this country around has not been born and does not belong to this generation. I can't be bribed or sell my conscience cos of politics and politicians cos they are all the same. This generation is cursed. Adeboye pls it seem you have not been praying for Nigeria, pls start now as a man of God you are. Don't believe that Nigeria is too big for God to handle, so Sir I expect your fruitful prayers on Nigeria. Thanks

23. If you wanna have people thinking and talking irrationally in Nigeria, add religion to what you are saying..

Save your time by assigning your ERRANDS to FAST and RELIABLE errands runners ✔ ✔. Holla!

24. The pastors are employed, so they want taxes. Next thing they want a share in offering. Next thing people go fear to go church. Apostle Suleman prophesied that this will happen. He also said they will come after him. I carry popcorn dey watch this govt like a bad movie i paid so much to watch. Tufiakwa!

Meanwhile churches go begin change their mandate fast fast. Bishop go change to Senior Admin, after two years, General Manager.....

I wonder what will happen in winners. They will try to keep it secret but linda Ikeji fans and investors are planted in every city of the world. ...lol, like Wendy Williams. ...

25. it is well with my nation oh.... Am so getting my party card soon... and counting my calendar waiting for 2019

26. Why did G.O resigned so fast? Oyedepo and the rest have have not implement the so called retirement policy. By the time the rest refuse to implement the policy, they will be termed rebels.
    It is a shame that the VP has decided to act like a coward, even if he is only a VP he can lend out his voice for Christians, Atiku had a voice as a VP. We have Christians in the legislature, what have they done to wade off bills or laws that negatively interferes with the church?

1. I'm telling u, he shudn't ave hurriedly resigned. Why was he the first to obey the policy lk the pointed a gun at him to compulsorily obey. Wt this single act of his, they will now expect other pastors to obey the policy.

27. Emmm if pastors r salary earners, the laws that govern every working citizen must govern them, the pension laws were enacted in obj's govt. y would pastors get lifetime salaries when they are no longer serving

1. anonymous gangster9 January 2017 at 19:41

Thank you. Less emotion, more logic!

28. Government did not stop you from voting or stop you from participating in politics. You guys are just waking up. He should be talking about his election of last week were he refused to step down as general overseer. He changed his stance after church election was conducted last week. I believe Nigeria clean up exercise need to start with churches and mosques.

1. Thank you o. He was supposed to step down at 70 according to the church's constitution now he wants to pin this one on the government. Only God know who dey serve am.

29. Its is happening.....I can feel it....This is getting more interesting....More shocking evens to follow.

30. Somebody please tell me what Osinbajo is doing in Aso Rock. Redeem members supported APC and Buhari because of Osinbajo and we can't feel his impact in this evil scam change government.....smh

31. 2019 loading..............drama loading.........APC your propaganda won't work come 2019......can't wait to vote out this clueless and incompetent government

32. It is unfortunate to see GO Adeboye paint this as if it is this present government that is against churches by passing new laws that affected him.

The law that mandated him to retire and hand over was passed in 2011 by a Senate headed by a Christian, and was signed into law by Goodluck Ebele Jonathan who is a Christian.

Fanning the embers of religious sentimenta cannot do the country any good, it just shows the churches probably have something to hide.

1. anonymous gangster9 January 2017 at 19:42

Gbam. Ur head dry dis!

33. To all readers and commentators compliment of the season,i am not a fan of Buhari or the present FG. Neither am i a fan of RCCG or any religious outlet.The fact is that,this law was enacted long time ago in 2011 and the CAN sued the FG but they lost.Since then,there have been a lot of appeals but the final verdict came out sometime late last year..In a nutshell,with the type of religious settings in Nigeria,where a whole lot of church goers are being robbed daily by the so called MEN OF GOD that were never even called by the devil,i see no meaningful development in the Country.Thanks to all..

34. Pensions Laws in Nigeria were established under the Obasanjo government to protect employees and ensure employers pay them pension, it was not targeted at any organisation but to protect employees.
    The Financial Reporting Council Act was enacted in 2011, google it. This again was to ensure financial transparency and it applies to all bodies incorporated under Nigerian laws, government and private.
    These regulations on retirement after a certain number of years did not just come into force, it was under this same law that Jim Ovia, who founded Zenith Bank from his sweat had to resign, Tony Elumelu too.
    Let us not be led by sentiments. If the law is faulty then it should be repealed or amended. But to say it is targeted at certain organisations is just plain wrong.
    Before laws are enacted or amended people are invited to comment during public hearings.

35. HOUSE OF GOD IS NOW A BUSINESS CENTER IN NIGERIA TODAY
    JESUS WARNED AGAINST THAT

36. Thought RCCG and their pastors said God told them that buhari is their messiah hence they made sure all their members went all out and voted APC. Why are they now shifting sides? Hypocrisy to the highest order.

37. If adeboye really said these, am highly disappointed. The law isn't a new law and he knows it, y does he want to hold th position of GO till death when he doesn't even own the church. He was suppose to retire at 70 but he turned the table when the other pastors raised the issue. Prof. Oloyede even acknowledge the fact that when law was first passed CAN notified their Muslim counterparts and they made it known that the law doesn't affect they the muslims and they went to GEJ. Let adeboye reveal what GEJ told them.

38. Christians and dere pastors should continue..... Now it ll be Christian vs Other political parties. And for sure politics is a dirty game...... Wen d dirty game started now dem go start accusing Muslim.... Make u na continu

39. Ii beg to differ with Daddy GO. You can pay your pastors full salary for a lifetime if you wish. Contribute 100% of their salaries to the pension fund monthly so that by the time they retire they have a lot in the fund. Please organisations all over Nigeria are contributing more than the stipulated percent for their employees why cant the church do same. Secondly you can choose to pay the pastors after retirement not sure the govt can stop you from doing that.

40. The day a church gets entangled in politics marks the beginning of its end.

41. Is it not funny that the same Buhari that ruled Nigeria 35 years ago and came to rule again in the same person that approved a 20 year limit on corporate and civil society leadership? Insincerity and devilishness masquerading as change. Fake Change.