Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

This one is very dicey!

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
OSU -THE OUTCAST

Please help a friend, she just found out that her fiance is an OSU and they have been together for years and he trained and provided for her through school.

The guy wasn't aware because he was one of the ''my father said am Ibo'' and her family and village people said its an abomination that she will be ostracised if she goes on with the marriage .

In my place we don't know what it is and I can't advice, please what do you think she should do coz right now she is drained, she wants to know if there are other people who have been in this situation and how they handled it.

*I cant advice,dont know anything about this except that most OSU's are RICH.

176 comments:

1. Poster,how does she feel about him?did she pray before she accepted to marry him?is this the man meant for her? if she has the backing of heaven then nothing any man says should bother her. "He who the Son of Man sets free is free indeed" meaning is free from whatever tribalism, stereotypes blah blah blah society has attached...bottomed line she needs God's approval, He knows the end from the beginning.commit the issue/your ways into Gods and He will establish it.

2. Haaaaaa lol @ most osu are rich
      I wonder what's really in that OSU thing

3. In 2017 people still make this an issue, cant deal with this ! Too much issues in life for this nonsense.

4. Most Osu r rich? Stella, where u hear that one? Abeg leave talk jare

5. I do not see anything about LOVE up there, all I see is ' he put her through school'. Didn't her parents know that some man was putting their child through school? Their own responsibility? Why didn't they research him then?
      Or is she one of those who 'enter into agreement with a man on the roadside'?

I am not Igbo and as a human see this Osu thing as discrimination. So if she knows, in her heart of hearts, that this is a marriage she will not regret Let her enter into it - without her people's consent ( cow I do not see her people collecting money on her head and all the traditional rites) and hope her people are not the wicked type but if it is not love that propels her, she should not do it

6. Yes most osu are rich and their girls very pretty.

7. Btw, the Igbos needs to come together and remove whatever ancestral curses/division/abominations caused this tradition to come into place. A culture is only as valid as the community allows. If a community refuses to sacrifice to a god, it falls into ruins and dies away. Remember how twins used to be regarded as abomination? Now almost every person taps into the blessing of twins
      Yes, it can be done!!!

8. Hanny thank u. Where were her parents when he was training her? Now they know he's osu? Mscheeeeeew

9. And u decided to try take my name? Wow! Just wow! I'm still here even though u don't get to see my comments littered err'where.

10. And u decided to try take my name? Wow! Just wow! I'm still here even though u don't get to see my comments littered err'where.

11. I am Igbo.
      But lots of stupid Igbo parents allowing a man send your child to school.
      Shifting ur responsibility to your kids to train their younger ones causes unnecessary pressure for young kids just starting life. I hate it with passion. Pls train ur kids yourself. Bad mentality. Thankfully my parents trained us to masters and still help whenever necessary.

12. You igbo's are a shameful lot. Look at who is fighting for biafra. Mschewwww,wch use less talk is all this Osu stupidity. The thing just dey vex me. Because the grand father was a slave then the person is forbidden to marry you. Person wey poverty dey baff daily dey claim better than person bcos of the so called Osu. Igbos you people wld continue to remain redundant and never well respected by the other tribes because you hate yourselves. How can you look down on fellow kinsman in th I day and age. See young people talking like stack illiterates. You can't fight wch battles,so how come people that are non igbos and marry this OSu people have successful marriages? Abeg make una pack well jare and stop all this stupidity. Mschewwwwwww... as long as you be live in osu You are as bad as all the internet trolls combined.

13. 23.59, you wrote MY thoughts exactly!
      In this time, age and era?
      The family did not know he was Osu when he was seeing her through school?
      RUBBISH!

2. Over to the Igbos, we've treated this more than 10times

1. N. Dr. Agwoturumbe10 January 2017 at 17:17

When I was younger, I said stupid things about marrying OSU. Now I am wiser, I will warn anyone who wants to marry one.

Would you eat food sacrificed to the devil? Whatever your answer to that question is, that's what you should do.

Whether we like it or not, a covenant with the devil has consequences. Some people run abroad bUT when it comes, it comes hard.

Be wise. Love is not enough. If you would never advise 2 people with AS genotype to marry, why advise someone to marry OSU

2. This goes to people that still believe in osu. U are still living in darkness. Do you not know that you have the right to choose who and who not to serve.when Jesus died,he said it is finished. That means,evil covenants and curses are all finished. Jesus has paid, that is one of the reasons he died,For us to be free from evil covenants and curses. Now let me ask you,when his ancestors are making that covenant,was he there? He has every right to stand up,wage war and break every covenant that he is not comfortable with. My pastor said,when he was a young boy,he usually wake up at midnight to eat food sacrificed at the four junction. This pastor studied and worked abroad before God called him to work for him. I pity people who still believe in paying for what they did not buy. As for me and my generation,we refuse to pay for what we did not buy. Poster tell the guy to be reading and praying at midnight with psalm 24 and Matthew 15verse 13.

3. Doctor don't teach me nonsense. It seems you went thru the four walls of college and that's it. Get out of here, mehn. NMTA

4. Why are Africans so backwards. People are asking God they are unmarried but it's Thier own fault. This is even worse than racism. So backward

3. She should part ways with him.

1. anonymous gangster10 January 2017 at 16:26

Faitho, did ur boobs shrink as you lost weight!? Na wa o! Suffry work out o! Loved ur old bod! 😋

2. Saggy muscles, shrinking boobs and bones inside flesh. Ugly lesbian

4. This is a serious one, will come back for comments.

5. abeg nothing is gonna happen to them. Let them go ahead and get married. why do we call ourselves Christians?

1. Give unto Ceasar what belongs to him & unto God what belongs to him! When the social stigma comes, will you come to her aid? This one no be Christian vs Pagan...it is in the DNA of Igbos, what she'll end up doing is dragging her own family in the Osu system in the name of love. Generations will pay for her infatuation of today. I'm thinking she genuinely loves the guy but it's better to let sleeping dogs lie

2. It's sickening really, what the hell is Osu, my bestfriend married one and damned the consequences, today she is blessed with 3 beautiful kids and they have migrated to Canada and are now Canadians, lemme see who will say that rubbish to her children.

3. Anon 15:47, they migrated to Canada? Heheheheh. They for stay here now. Una think say na by gra-gra. Once you stubbornly marry an Osu, you've dragged your family into the Osu caste system be that. Your children will suffer it someday, except they're ready to reside outside Nigeria permanently. Crazy! The more reason why it is very good to marry within your culture. A non-Igbo marrying an Igbo may never get to know about this Osu thing, but their future kids will bear the brunt.

4. Gladys pls marry an Osu 1st before coming to tell us nothing is going to happen to her.

5. Marry and osu right Asa nwa?? Do all of you that believe in that osu crap believe you will live forever??? Everyone will end up
      6 feet, so forget about all those stupid consequences mentioned. You all will die one day.....@@@BiaBia
      😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑😑

6. Always marry your tribe and Town person. It makes the job easier.

God bless my King

1. This your comment right here explains once & for all why you're so retarded! Generations of in-breeding within a tribe, sooner than later cousins marry cousins, imbeciles & morons like you are born. "marry your tribe" indeed, tueh, useless geh!

2. Ideato,on this, you're well on point. Marry from your culture.

3. Well said nwannem though it must not be from your town but more adviceable to marry from your tribe.

7. Like I said on the Igbo post...
    If the nigga is rich,she should ignore all the nonsense Osu talk and marry him!...
    It's only money that would make me marry an Osu man if I'm still single!...

1. No wonder Ibo girls can marry drug pushers,419 and anything. Money is always the answer

2. Chief chief.you and money be like 5 and 6.but hope you are aware that money isn't everything.

3. My linda, best advise if u see the unosu one who is broke nko?

4. Anon 15:24, you must be an 18th century clown to judge my people by the random and indiscreet rants of that mad dog up there.

5. If the nigga is rich? Igbo girls and rich rich. They can marry anything for money. For your info, money is not everything

6. Change is constant.. The money might not be there tomorrow, btw non osu marrying an osu brings misfortunes to the non osu. The best thing/ wise osu people do is marrying outside igbo tribe/ those that don't practice it.

7. Hahahahaha...
      Sense world,I will RUN oh without looking back!...

8. Well the Igbo's and catholics(not sure) take it seriously even with all the civilization we've got.
    Anyway, love is important and so is family but they will come around someday won't they? What does it matter that many years ago a group of persons/family were regarded as OSU.
    It's a barbaric and archaic tradition,it needs to be nipped in the bud because many generations down the line are still suffering for it like this case In point.

1. So interesting fact, the OSU caste system has no definite pattern. You and your family can be ostracised over a crime one family member committed.
      An osu can also be someone whose family was chosen to serve and worship the deity.
      If you have read "no longer at ease" by Chinua Ache be, he shared a lot of light on this tradition.
      These people really suffer a lot to the extent they are not allowed in the market place, or place where the "real borns" go.

It's 2017, time for young ones to fight this sad and ignorant belief but too bad that many of them succumb to the demands of their family yet we claim we are religious people and carry the biggest of bibles ever made.
      You'd complain of racism but you're racist and practicing segregation within your own tribe, race and dwelling place.
      In 1956, Igbo legislators in the Eastern House of Assembly, stopped the practice of calling peopoe osu but then it hasn't stopped some people and traditions from doing it and rejecting marital relations between the people they regard as OSU and their family.

2. I am a Catholic. Nothing like that.

3. I'm sorry but what do Catholics have to do with this???? I truly do not understand.

4. Please how do you nip something that has become tradition in the bud? Are you okay?

5. Anon 15:41, yes I am okay thank you for asking.
      The only constant thing in life is change, just because something has been happening for a long time doesn't mean it can't be stopped. Just like the killing of twins was a tradition back then, does it still happen? #okaybye.

6. Catholics please don't bite me and I'm sorry that's why I clearly put not sure in bracket but as usual you people always look for ways to bark. Go on o

7. Doppel..., you were making sense, then decided to impress. You ended up not making sense. You don't need long epistles to make sense.

8. I thot osu means slave, pls let the so called family pack well jor
      They didnt know he I s an osu when he was paying school fees.

9. I am a Catholic and from the SouthEast, I have never encountered anything like OSU. Does it still exist?

10. Catholic as how? If they support this then they're not serving the living God.

11. I'm in my 40s and my father is a titled man in Iboland.Let me attempt to shed some light on this topic,albeit,briefly.
      In the olden days,most communities in Iboland had deities they worshipped.Now,there were slaves who were called Ohu(Oru, depending on the dialect).Rich families had slaves( who were bought) and captives from wars,Sometimes,whole families were captured during wars and they all became slaves in their new communities.
      To this day,there are families in my village who we know that their great grand fathers were not from our village but were bought by my great grand father who was a textile merchant and traded with the Aros who are in present day Arondizuogu and ather places where Aros are found.
      In those days,when the need arose for a sacrifice to the deities,people were taken from among the slaves.Depending on the type of sacrifice,the people for sacrifice were either killed or they were sworn to those deities as their property forever.In this case,as property of the deity,no one could harm them or kill them because they belonged to a particular deity.From then onwards,every single descendant of theirs till today are OSUs.As such marriage between them and Freeborns was forbidden and very great consequences befell any one who defied those restrictions.
      Again one can also become an OSU willingly if he /she committed any act considered an abomination eg murder,incest etc.They were punishable by death or outright ostracism.Such fellow could run to the gods for protection and swears to be a property of the gods forever.His hair is shaved and kept in the shrine as a sign of ownership by the gods.That way,he cannot be killed for his crime.
      I hope I have brought some illumination to the subject.

12. Aunty dopple, I love ur comments on ds blog, ur quite smart nd wise. But wen one critices our faith, we defend it. Stop criticising oda denomination nd focus on ur own race. Anyways, dey say pple who do understand something, are quick to b negative about it.

13. Catholics support it! I am not IBO but schooled in the east,mehn especially those from IMO state.

14. Anon 20:09 thanks for explaining what it means to us and how it all started. I always try to respect other people's culture but it's very sad though that a whole lineage could be affected by events that had nothing to do with them

9. Over to the igbos. I need to learn too cos I have always wondered what the OSU thing is all about.

Time to read comments *sits on Stella's couch*

10. Well, hope we get intelligent discourse from this. Let's hear from others.

My bit: The options are clear: elope or eject. Majority of the OSU couples did there marriage by taking the undesirable risk of eloping and hoping for the best. Can you do that? If not, let him go. Eject. Not after sharing the whole details with your family tho. They might be surprisingly supportive.

11. I would have said she should marry the guy, but her children may face a more serious rejection, don't know why the Ibos have refused to let this useless Osu thing to die, I would advise she forget about the relationship even though it will not be easy, if the reverse were the case, would the guy marry her.

1. I enjoyed Chinua Achebe's books and I honestly thought this thing had died a long time ago, in fact I thought it was more fiction that fact. I'm stunned it's still alive and well

12. She should marry him if he is rich.Everybody love wealth. No body will talk rubbish to him since he won't be asking anyone for anything.

1. Runs girl tinz...bu their talks you shall know them. Everything boils down to money

13. Well, is she a Christian?
    "For in Christ there is neither slave nor free" (google this scripture)
    If they ostracize her; that's part of the cross a christian should bear. As far as God is concerned, she has not sinned; if she hasn't opened her legs.

1. Nwanne, forget all the "are you a christian"- "the scripture says" shit they're saying here. Don't go ahead with it. Quit the relationship irrespective of the pain that will come with it. All the people telling you to marry him will not be there when you're suffering the consequences of going against common sense. The best bet for your man is to marry a non-Igbo. Leave him NOW! The Osu caste system is very real even though I wish it could be done away with, but it is real. Why get embroiled in trouble you can safely avert?

2. Though u ave made a good point but dont u tink she need to go on her kneels to ask God for direction?...

OSU... my dear, i dont want u to come back here and start givin us another story ok...

Mc pinky

3. How can you call that common sense? It is more like common nonsense, you said so yourself that wish it was done away with

4. Many people paid the ultimate sacrifice to end slavery bcos it was/is an unjust and callous system anywhere. Now, alot more Naijas especially it's young class will have to stand up to a redundant/retard/discriminating OSU system and end it 4 ever. Lady/man go ahead and marry your "love" and let the chips fall where it may. NMTA

14. Can't this thing just end already?
    I'm tired of hearing this
    Where I come from we don't do it oh!
    But ndi ikwunne m(my maternal side) still believes in it.

1. I just asked my dad about this OSU thing he said our village is not concerned about anything that has to do with OSU. We don't ask questions about it when someone comes to marry. We dont acknowledge it. Some villages hate to hear OSU mentioned anywhere. Your people will not change their mind. I don't even know what to advise you. I feel for you.

2. Your dad is telling you indirectly that you are an osu.

3. You are right Ngozi...@Precious Ibik ask your dad very well..you're an Osu

15. This osu thing, even if they abolish it, who will start d 'abolishion'? it will still be embedded in the mind, of course u can't force a parent to give out their daughter to someone who's seen as an OSU, that mentality will be passed down from generation to generation cos since the time of umuofia, osu has been in existence, lol, me in particular, I would hate my parents if I was born one, no offence to d OSUS, and I cannot jeopardise my children's future cos of love. No way!

16. She should marry the guy if he's rich. Cos with money,no one will remember they're an osu. Talking from experience through,cos there's one from my town,he's very rich so no one so even the free borns always worship him. You only gets to know he's an osu by gossip.

Money answeret all things

1. God answereth all tinz and no money... Ur money can fail u anytime..

Go to God in prayer dear and let him direct ur steps

Mc pinky

2. God answereth all tinz and no money... Ur money can fail u anytime..

Go to God in prayer dear and let him direct ur steps

Mc pinky

3. The Bible says money answereth all things. Read it

4. N. Dr. Agwoturumbe10 January 2017 at 17:22

Go and ask Kema Chinkwe whether her money took away the reproach of being OSU. Ignorance is bliss. OSU is not about what people say. It's about a much sadder part of making an eternal covenant with the devil

5. @Adenji read the scriptures, the bible says: money answereth all things.

6. Fan I totally agree. Marry him if he's rich. When he's spraying money like emonry people won't care about osu

7. This n. Dr. Agwoturumbe is a big fool. So if the ancestors worshiped devil means the person is tied to devil? Besides show me an African who's ancestors did not worship or make pact with devil in form of other gods.
      Igbo people have big problem stemming from stupid tradition. And yes áfu oyigbo.

17. Are they from the same community if no then their is nothing to be worried about. But if they are from the same community it's a no no

Bv nnenna

18. She will face a lot of obstacles to the union if she does agree to go on with it. But my take is in the eyes of God we are all equal. She should pray and seek the face of God as regards this marriage and if all tarries she can do as she pleases. But osu's are blessed with prosperity.

19. I suspect d guy is a poor + stingy man coz I can't imagine an educated young rich + generous tall Igbo guy like me wanting to marry any girl ,she or her parents will be thinking about it twice.

1. Peace maker.... Money is not everything oooo

I don talk my own

Mc pinky

2. I know your mumu is ever ripe but didn't you see the part about him providing and sponsoring her through school?

20. Human beings SMH, Africans in particular always finding ways to make easy situations difficult, as if the African sun is not hot enough, imagine an innocent baby born & inheriting a negative brand that follows all thru his/her life. And we say we dont have racism here in Africa *yimu*..... even some churches will forbid their members from marrying from other denominations, yet theyre all under the umbrella of christianity, like what the fuck?
    A young lady narrowing down her choices for a lifetime partner, she'd look at Genotype, she'd look at Religion, she'd look at tribe, she'd look at financial security, she'd look at generational curses, she'd look at personality & physical looks, she'd look at age, Some even go as far as looking at D size.... after all these accessing, its no wonder the number of G...zz keeps increasing.

1. It's quite sad I agree. And we are here fighting for an independent nation IPOB. God help us

21. I don't know much about the osu though am igbo but I know of a lady that was said to be osu, in fact she is my sister's friend but she is married with two kids and doing well

22. I typed an epistle and it disappeared.. Phew!
    Let me try again...

I don't really know much about this osu thing but I do know it's not written on the forehead. Nobody was born an osu, it's the society 'foolishness' that labels one an osu.

Poster, tell your friend to go ahead in marrying him if she loves him! This osu stigmatization has to stop! The only outcasts I'maware of is the lepers and that has stopped to the bathroom of my knowledge...

1. OMG, I feel like crying

.. My second to the last line, I meant "to the best.... "

2. Lol @ to the bathroom of my knowledge.

23. This is the 21st century for Pete's sake. The decision is left for your sister to choose between someone she probably wants to spend the rest of her life with or break up with him because of some medieval beliefs that some people are properties of the gods. Trust me if the guy is well to do most people, if not all will not give a hoot about him being an osu or not.

24. Replies
    1. OSU means ogun state university there girls are into runz while their boys are into yahoo yahoo

25. if you marry someone who is osu becos they are rich,when you have kids the same thing happens to them,they become rejected in society....this practice has been on for long and i am yet to understand and why it started.
    I hear there is an osu caste in most tribes but that IMO STATE people practice it more.

can someone explain this thing well?Any OSU here

1. Stella it's not only Imo state oh!
      Awka-etiti,nnobi in idemmili LGA Anambra state is still practicing it.
      I'm sure
      IGBO ELDERS in the house should say something biko

2. The Osu caste system is an ancient practice in
      Igboland that discourages social interaction and
      marriage with a group of persons called Osu
      ( Igbo: outcast). Osus are dedicated to the
      deities ( Alusi ) of Igboland; they are considered
      as inferior beings and are usually separated from
      the Nwadiala or diala (Igbo : real born).

Mc pinky

3. Sdk ur right oo imo ppl carry d thn for head..nd d still preach agsnt it..

4. What useless society rejects dark skinned humans like them, bt if said girl brings home a white man na, they will jump @ him. And many of them are Christians o, claiming Jesus has washed away our sins with his blood. Smh.

5. Stella boo
      All the people here shouting n condemning the osu system would never marry an osu if they are faced with that option...
      Osu is pepertual!

6. Hmmm stella IMO state is the headquarters and almost the whole of (mbanu) are OSU

7. Yes o, not only nnobi and akwa-etiti. The whole idemili north

8. Hahaha Stella then the kids will marry other rich people too lol. We don't have this osu thing where I come from biko.someone here mentioned kema chikwe is an osu. Really? Never heard the Asika family are Osu before and they used to sing their praises even in songs.their dad was rich. Chinyere kemas sister was a strong woman too.btw I have a really good friend from mbanu.does this mean his osu? Hmmm

9. I don't think is only in imo state bc the girl my doctor cousin was supposed to do intro on her head this Xmas was said to be an osu and she is from anambra state . The intro did not hold again bc no family member agreed to join him and he himself said he won't even countinue to avoid discrimination and fallen apart with the family.
      My mom even told me of how her Friend married an osu and suffered. To me Jesus has set all of us free but that doesn't mean i will marry an osu whether rich or poor bc i wouldn't want my family or children to be discriminated bc of me.

10. Am from idemili North and I hate that place like hell. My great grandpa was a powerful dibịa and sometimes people pay him with people as slaves for him.
      But he had a great heart and took them all in. After his death children and osus started fighting for property that till date some lands are cursed and left bare. Ndị idemili kedụ k'ịmere. Biko nke dị n'akụkụ Jọdan na. Dalụ

11. Really? I'm from abatete to be precise and I'm just hearing this for the first time

12. I would have loved to tell you the story of my life for marrying a person referred to as OSU but for my shyness. Mind you, am not ashamed. I will call u soon to talk. A ten year old marriage.

26. I've heard so much about this Osu thing and it's not funny at all. Can't the Igbo elders do something about it?

Will read comments on this. Na wa! It is well

1. Who wants to volunteer to start the abolishing? If u try, u'll become one

2. Na dem carry the matter for head sef

27. Is there any repercussion if one marries an Osu?
    What crime does one commit that makes them label him/her as an osu?
    She should go ahead and marry him jor.
    What the hell is Osu?Mtcheww!

28. James is an Osu...... but we still love him here even with his madness.

1. Speak for yourself sweetie. I don't hate him, no, but I can't stand the bastard either!

29. If you marry him your children will still be ostracized unless he is rich.

30. My dear if this your fiancé is a good man, a practicing Christian that has all the good qualities you need in a man.
    Take urselves to registry and marry him.
    In time when you start to have kids and the man is doing well and being a good husband to you. They will accept him.
    Must you do village things ??? in Lagos who knows or cares weda you are married to an osu or not.
    Just be ready to say bye bye to village moves during xmas. Enjoy ur xmas with ur man n future kids in your city. My 2cents.

31. ALL D ADVICE U WILL GET HERE BE WILL USELESS UNLESS U SEEK GOD DIRECTION,IF GOD TELLS U PERSONALLY TO GO AHEAD, DEN U GO AHEAD, BT IF NOT, LET GO. GOD HIMELF WILL SEE U THROUGH.

32. OSU still exist in some part of Igbo land and the marry each other..
    Every hard to see an OSU marring someone that's not OSU.
    But some will say that Christianity or modern age has taken over but that's lie..
    OSU still exist

1. Non stop.No one is willing to address the matter not even the so called igwe's and the elders.

33. Please can someone enlighten uw, well me .. what is OSU ?

34. Can someone explain what an osu is? Do they still exist?

35. Hmmmmm,in this civilized world? If there are Christians and believe in God ,then I do not think it will have any effect on them, my thoughts though.

36. The problem is that his children will be stigmatized, that is a trauma no one wants for their child. Wealth or love will not remove stigma, be realistic.

1. This reminds me of my friends dad that his personal driver is an osu. You need to see how her Uncle's humiliate the man whenever they travel to the village.they even called the father meeting to sack the driver but her dad refused and said he is jst his staff so he can't lay him off on that ground.

37. A couple in my church has been happily married for 12. The guy is OSU. The lady keeps thanking God she didn't listen to her relatives and miss such a man because of the so-called tradition 😊 so.... choose your battle.

1. I too like u, u must know somebody

2. You see? Correct babe
      Osu osu, that's how they will leave a good man just because of a tag and end up with a man who only has punches and blows to offer

3. May ur children marry OSU, how about saying amen?

4. Anon 19:32-😂😂😂 Amen! Rich influential OSU. P.S: I'm not Igbo so it can't affect me. Piglet!

38. There is an OSU caste too among the Ebiras of Kogi state. They call theirs 'orihi'. Their own stigmatization is worst than the Igbos.

1. Thank you Eminado. I know most tribes have this issue or some form of rejection but play it down unlike my people that don't know how to hide things.

2. Really? I'm really getting an education about different cultures today.

39. If u knw he makes you happy, love, care, respects u and above all a committed Christian, pls marry him,

40. This osu thing is painful. Christianity or what, no family will want to associate with it. Me self wey be Christian I no fit marry them if they like let them be dangote.

It is just a wicked tradition that some parts of Igbo follow religiously

1. Just as you are following it yourself religiously. Dont point fingers when you are guilty of same. In this age and time,people like you still hv this mentality and you wonder y you and nigeria is backwards

41. Osu originated from idolatry, in the olden days, there were people single handedly picked by the oracle to serve them, the oracle provides them with riches and prosperity , they are isolated, kept apart for the services of the gods, they are the mouth piece of the gods, they are not meant to interact with other people.

Now we are in christ, old things have passed away. Behold all things have become new. Christ has abolished it, it's negative effect is no longer active.

1. Thank you!
      Rubbish archaic beliefs and tradition

42. Stella OSU caste system is real. I know this because I come from imo state pls that is why when u want to marry both families are investigated so dat one does not marry an OSU. Pls she should not go ahead with the marriage o! For example if you are AS and your partner is SS would you marry he or she? This OSU caste system has been there for generations. The marriage does not end well o!

1. What do you mean by ' not end well' ? Is it that the couple will end up killing themselves?

And how can you even put Genotype disparity on the same level with something that has no physical manifestation of illness or death?

43. Stella. Why should their children be poor when their father is rich man?
    They get problem for head why they no go work hard and make money? Even me that is from a humble background, skipped classes some days to work and make some money for my sweet mum.still made millions b4 my 20th birthday.
    People remember u r Osu or whatever only if u r a poor man

44. I have a family friend that is married to an osu. When he got married more than 40 years ago his parents didn't come. His godparents stood in for him and now years later they are still happily married and are grandparents. The funny thing, is this kids are married to igbo people! So you see it depends on you and if you get mind to bone your parents. Funny enough, I have 2 igbo guys as good friends who will dammit all and marry whomever regardless of what tradition says.

45. Waiting for more comments on this osu thing

46. if u are osu and u are looking to hook up,hola jare.we dont forbid such in our place.whats that.

47. Dear poster,i think it just boils down to the risk you want to take. Its not gona be a jolly ride with your family infact they may wash their hands off you if you decide to go ahead with the guy. If you love the guy enough,i will advise you go ahead,marry the guy and damn the consequence but if its gratitude you feel,probably because he saw you through school,please leave him and let him go.

48. Is this my chronicle? This is me last year,but I have been trying to move on.....God!! it not been easy....he is IMO state(mbanu)we don't marry osu

49. In parts of delta state it exists also in Edo state you find them there. In some places like Asaba you're not even given some positions in government cos they do not believe they should lead. Not only can one become an OSU through idolatry it could also arise from the fact that the person was bought as a slave. Now note that the osu person can buy his freedom in some places but the stigma never ever goes away. A former female minister from delta state is also from the OSU caste and her dad is a traditional ruler in one of the towns.

1. Wow, just curious - how did her father become a traditional ruler then? Who does he rule over?

2. Like seriously even in govt? I just feel bad that they suffer what they didn't cause themselves. I will advice an osu to marry fellow osu or outside the tribe. If possible relocate abroad.

3. Let me clarify something here.You are most likely getting OSU and Ohu mixed up.Ohu( slaves) can buy their freedom but OSU's and their descendants are considered property of whatever deity their lives were dedicated to at the time.I always advice people not to get involved because its really spiritual.It's about convenants entered into by people who lived over a century or more ago.In my opinion,instead of getting into a lifetime of fighting battles,why don't you avoid the situation.Life already is full of troubles as it is,why make it harder by getting involved in a battle you don't know its genesis

4. So all these churches wey dey break generational curses no de break that one? Lmao
      You don't know that idols only keep being perpetuated when people keep worshipping them?

50. Are u in love with him? Are u both Christians? If so, thats all the answers u need

51. Poster let me speak for my self i will not marry one bc
    1, it will break my parents heart
    2, it will bring discrimination upon me
    3,it will bring contempt to my nuclear and extended family at large.
    4,it will affect the reputation my family has worked hard to make
    5.i don't have strength to go and start binding and casting deities that he was dedicated to.
    6.i don't want to be doing fasting and prayers all my life or one day they will inform me that is now our turn to start taken care of the oracle in case am not prayerful.
    But i will not tell you not to marry the guy jst follow ur heart if you are equal to the task.

1. Stella, pls do a post on this OSU thing, what it is and what it means. Let people comment on how it has personally affected them. Osu's can also comment on their experiences. The comments here have been enlightening, the most education in cultural practices I've gotten from a post

52. I remembered having an Osu as a friend in secondary sch,she was from my state and even from the same local government but my parents wouldn't allow me to keep the friendship.I used to pity her back then but now,she's married wit 2 kids and am still single,she married an Akwa ibomite,an engineer.

Personally,i dnt believe in this Osu thing,'cos,those graven images re man made gods.Idols that ignorant ancestors worshipped, I will embark on a fasting n prayers journey,call a strong man of God for liberation

Who tradition epp?Fuck stigmatisation!

1. See how your parents made you miss better friend?!! On top wetin?

53. Some people just refuse to develop sha. It's like still being hinged to the slave trade era.

54. Poster let me speak for my self i will not marry one bc
    1, it will break my parents heart
    2, it will bring discrimination upon me
    3,it will bring contempt to my nuclear and extended family at large.
    4,it will affect the reputation my family has worked hard to make
    5.i don't have strength to go and start binding and casting deities that he was dedicated to.
    6.i don't want to be doing fasting and prayers all my life or one day they will inform me that is now our turn to start taken care of the oracle in case am not prayerful.
    But i will not tell you not to marry the guy jst follow ur heart if you are equal to the task.

55. It's time Igbos stopped the practice of segregating a particular group, in a civiliized world there should not be anything like"real born" or "osu". We don't have the power to choose where to be born, God created us equal ,why should an idolatrous practice place some higher than the other. Some Igbo minds need transformation o

56. In Enugu state, we call them 'ohu' meaning slave. They're even more frowned upon than in other places..can't hold posts, titles, some lands, can't intermarry etc. The history is that in the past when someone commits a heinous crime that should call for a lynching. He runs while the villagers pursue him and take refuge with the oracle. In return for protecting him from the wrath of the villagers, he dedicates himself to serving the oracle, while the rest of the village shuns him. In time, he marries and bears offsprings with a fellow female criminal and they settle with other fellow escapees. The stigma started from not wanting to intermarry with the offsprings of cursed criminals. In my village when a daughter marries an ohu, her family mourns her. As in holds an actual funeral to signify to the rest of the village that they do not support the move. Then when they run into their daughter in a public place they start acting like they saw a ghost. Lol. We're very enlightened, exposed and religious in my family but hm, we don't have the liver to meddle in things we don't understand so even though we have sympathy for them and have a lot of friends among them, we just silently avoid any attachments that could lead to marriage.

1. Wow, this is deeper than expected.

57. Dear poster is not advisable to get married to an osu. Cos the burden might be too much for You nd ur family.

58. I want to make my comment by asking these questions to those who discriminate against other igbo humans.if after thinking and answering them u are not linked in someway to d so called osus u are justified.Have u or any of ur relation ever taken blood transfusion? If yes is the blood osus or dialas?Have u or any of ur relation marry outside igbo tribe?are u or any of ur relation twin?if yes then u and ur relations are a taboo or osu bcos it is igbo culture too.if u or any of ur children or relation children develop teeth at upper jaw kill them it is igbo culture.why do we deceive ourselves bcos d circumstance is at our favour?christians is blood of Jesus not enough to wash sins? Is God still punishing children for their parents sin?pls repent b4 God ll strike u straight to hell fire.

59. In the original osu caste system, as I was reliably informed,talking to an OSU automatically makes you an OSU, even touching them makes you an OSU so if we are to go by that almost two-thirds of Igbo's in present day will be OSU because osus don't announce themselves until one goes and makes enquiries about their family.
    I want to believe that some of you telling her to run away from the guy are Christians.
    Are you trying to say that salvation did not extend to the so called Osu?
    Are you trying to say that the finished work of Christ on the cross is not enough? What is an OSU caste system compared to the devil itself, hell and all the demons, yet Jesus overcame it all.
    Igbo people, let us remove ourselves from this mental bondage. We are the ones calling the white man racist, tell me are we any different from them in this case?
    Every one was created in God's image.
    Those that married osu have been living their lives without any issues. This is 2017, let us put behind those barbaric beliefs and set our minds on things that will profit us.
    Let us take heed lest we become the cast away on the day of the coming of our Lord.

60. Not all d osu people that are rich lies from the pit of hell, do people still believe in this clap? I tot Christianity has taken over, thank God for the kind of family that I came from, I don't believe in it and I will never believe in it, if your friend believe in it then it will have effect on her but if not she can go ahead and stick to what makes her happy.

Osu na person set that rules and na person fit break am too. Cheers.

61. Osu this, osu that, abeg make we hear word. no be God wey creat una creat them, what offence did they commit, as if your own forefathers no worship idols in those day. Superstitious beliefs. Abi una dey wait for another white woman to come to nigeria and stop this osu rubbish just like the killing of twins.

62. I thought this Osu thing have been abolished.......So it's still in existence in 2017......gosh, can't deal. Sis,if you love him, and you're sure he adores you, please go ahead and marry him.....love covereth all thin

63. Lmao! Going by this stupid logic, 80% of Yoruba's are Osu. Because most families were dedicated to the worship of one deity or the other! Rubbish and nonsense. I love Yoruba culture. Just so beautiful. People whose ancestors were slaves have even been forgotten. Most slaves bought their own freedom and became totally free and full members of their society!

64. This is a not a tricky situation. With all the chronicles on here, if being an OSU is your most pressing issue before going into a marriage. Then you have a problem, I'm afraid. With all wife-beaters, cheaters. jobless people available, who NON-OSU epp???? Like what are the benefits to your health, wealth or day-to-day life by being non-osu. I bet this lady goes to church religiously and yet wonders what are the little hindrances to her prayers

65. @Anonymous 23:59 that you. You took those words right out of my mouth.
    How can a group be fighting for thr actualization of a certain sovereign state but still claim to have rejects and outcasts amongst them.. You see why it would never work/
    If I had access to Nnamdi Kanu, I would have asked him his views on this Osu matter.
    Ibo people nor dey try at all o

66. Osu is a general term for any body that has the backing of the gods, deity or whatever the land deems sacred. The reason they advise that free born should not get involved is because in the olden days,whatever you did to them that they considered bad and call on the deity to fight for them the answer was instant death, so because of this, they keep away from them. They are not harmful, but they words are sacred. This is different from some of the explanations stated. Some are just saying what makes them the outcast, but why they are considered sacred is because their people still think the deity still fights for them. The prosperity is as if they strive on their own to make things work for them, because even if they walk into someone's farm and take anything from that farm, the owner will dare not fight them. I hope I made sense sha. lolls.