Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pounding The Yam Chores Between A Man And Woman..

Friday, January 20, 2017

Pounding The Yam Chores Between A Man And Woman..

This caused a heated argument on a group on facebook over who should pound the yam?

Argument would be valid if both are at home as at the time of pounding right?

Why should anyone even pound when you can get Pound-o- yam to do it for you?

Some men are considerate and decide to help out in the Kitchen and some needed to be begged and nagged on before they do...........

108 comments:

1. Lol,people now use cake mixer to pound real yam,less stress,same result.

1. Ofcourse it's the woman. I don't like pounding yam cos it's so stressful. My hubby helps out with the pounding cos he loves pounded yam. So anytime I feel like eating pounded yam especially if he's at home, I cajole him to help me and he would gladly do it. I endeavour not to abuse it though.

2. Healthy living all the way. No pounding of yam.

I can count how many times I've eaten pounded yam since I've been on planet earth. I was not brought up with it.

3. I'm Ghanaian...and pounding is a man's job in Ghana...

4. When it comes to pounding I don't deceive myself, its energy sapping and have told my husband from day one I don't like pounding so NO mortal or pestle in my house we go for poundoyam, but I have brother that pounds well for his family and when visit he joins the wife to pound for his guest.

5. Abeg tell dem jare.
      Dooney's kitchen to the rescue, from food processor to cake mixer to a strong blender, I've tried all three for die hard pounded yam fans and they couldn't tell the difference.
      Much better than all those crap poundo yam flour filled with preservatives and adulterated with cassava.

I grew up with men doing the pounding tho but everyone don too tush nowadays to carry mortar and pestle.

6. I dunno but in my house,men do the pounding.

7. For real?
      Woowza. I will try it with my cake mixer.
      Interesting....
      Never given it a thought before now

8. In some cultures it's the men,in some cultures it's women but in my house my husband will pound because I'm too Slim to loose weight 😁

9. There is nothing in pounding yam, it doesn't even take me up to 5min to do so.....i don't see the stress in it.
      But just the one for me n my husband...

10. Nobody there is poundo yam. Feels n taste the same.

11. Abeg, he should not be angry, I don't /can't pound yam. In my house, we don't eat it like that except for parties. I always tell my boyfriend that I can't pound yam.

12. Me I don't no how to pound. So if you want to eat help yourself or we do poundo. Who says it's the ladies job? Make them pack to one side. My brother did while growing up, that's one of the reasons I can't pound till today.

13. Use to hate it but my mum thought me how to do it effortlessly only last year. It's not that hard to do by the way

1. Hahahahaa Danny, so u no get power to poud yam? Pounding yam is a man's job o, anywhere except lazy men.

2. In my place men do the pounding, expect in occasions were women dominate the kitchen.E.g (party cooking).And they do it because like they don't like the idea of having men around their space.

Infact I grew up to see my father and elder brothers pounding yam for the family as tradition.

3. My husband doesn't see why i should do such a stressful chore because we want to eat. He doesn't agree to pounding it myself. He will gladly eat poundo yam.I dont even own a mortar till date.

3. Pound o yam me @stella in Africa, our parents would tell you they prefer the native way which is pounding, so back to the question a man should be the one to do the pounding when the two patties at home.man's power

1. That pound-o- yam doesn't look or taste like the real yam joor. As I lazy so I kuku don't like pounded yam. But depending on the quantity, I can pound it myself, if it's much, omo na all man to himself o

2. Thanks for posting Stella.

As for me, I can pound for two. That's me and hubby only. Anything aside that, my hand nor dey 😀😀😀

3. Poundo-yam isn't anything like real pounded yam. Infact no comparison

4. Poundo yam to the rescue. Dangote flour, honeywell flour have rescued us women from that.

It is only old school men that will want their wives to pound yam for them.

thank God no old school horseband

5. Those days in my father's house, my younger brother used to pound the yam! (We are not pounded yam fan, we eat more amala than pounded yam)

I think the yam pounding is a man's duty, since I hardly eat pounded yam, I have never given a thought whose duty it should be.

If I were married to a black man who likes to eat pounded yam, I would have bought yam pounder machine, if he says he doesn't like it; I would have still find a way out without letting it cause a rift between us..

But, I strongly believe yam pounding should be a man's duty (that was how I was taught).

1. I've never pounded yam in my life and I don't plan to pound for anybody

2. You must..... For me

6. When I cook better soup and want to devour it correct pounded yam,I pound it myself because I'm used to it.
    Growing up,my dad eats pounded every Sunday,so my mum trained everybody(including the boys) how to enjoy pounding.

1. In my place its the men o cos they are stronger. In the absence of any male ,then the female can take over the pounding. My paternal grandpa only eats poundy ,he cant eat any other form of swallow. Everyone is even used to it already in his compound.

7. In d village, men pound yam, now there's yam pounder, 30k or so, just cook n drop inside, it blends it into a smooth ball.

8. For Ekiti and Ijesha, they don't like Pound o yam, if e no be original, e no fit be like am. I don't know how to pound, if I marry from where they like iyan, hubby must be ready for the job and if he's not @home as @the time I want to prepare the meal, he will manage pound o yam niyen

9. It's a man duty to pound yam, only if he is not available the woman can do it

Long live SDK

10. y'all wonder why marriage don't last these days, this feminism of a thing is killing relationship. men and women are not and can never be equal, men are superior over women yes! my mum cooks, do laundry and all for my dad.. I will practically worships my husband! bunch of alaileko girls using feminism as an excuse. oshisco

1. Your thoughts to life though, just because its the way it is in your family doesn't mean its same with others. At least you read different opinions,all yu would have done is to drop yours and not talk as if you have issues with anyone. Mtchew

2. Useless small pikin. U sabi pound yam?? You'll also bath and spoonfeed too abi some women will erase their identity and self-worth all to please a man that will eventually stray! Most tribes in nigeria na d man dey pound yam except yoruba men.

3. Oponu aye.....what has feminism gotten to do with a chore that is clearly physical? House girl.

4. See ignoramus. I - a man - will NOT want a woman like you who lacks self-esteem and makes me her god. No be me you go send to hell by making me your idol. Please, have sense. Husband worshipper.

5. It's not feminism. In my mum's village,(Enugu state)they eat pounded yam and akpu,I ve never seen a woman pounding, the men in the house arrange palmwine and pound while the women prepare soup

6. Hahahaha someone got washing machine yesterday...what is it you want to get today lol...feminism this feminism that. Cant you ppl say anything without bringing up the word, mind you without feminism you wouldn't be able to go to school and learn to read and write. Yes you will be married by now pounding yam and worshiping your husband while getting ready to marry off your 12 year old daughter. I am a mother of three before you start calling me a gwes not that there is anything wrong for a lady not to be married. Every marriage is different, whatever you take from a man at d beginning of your marriage knowing you do not like...it will be difficult to change. So don't pretend when you know you don't like things happening bc you ll grow to hate him and....

7. But bonario's wife is very correct.
      Most women keep running away from their responsibilities.
      That's one of the reasons most marriages don't last.

8. It is true all of them dirty lazy girls will be calling feminism.

11. Pounded yam has a different feel from poundo yam just like when you grind pepper with local stone not blender.so poundo yam is a no no .I can pound yam but if my husband decides to help out why not. If I am tired why not?

12. The wife should pound the yam. The man can if he wants. I'm ijebu garri is my way 😂. Pound Kor pounder ni.

13. The house boy or you eat poundo yam.

14. God knows I don't have that kinda energy in me
    A man that loves pounded yam should be able to help the wife pound it while the woman makes the soup
    Pounding yam requires a lot of energy biko
    We always have boys in the house so my mum has never pounded yam
    God if i must marry a pounded yam lover please give him the energy to willingly pound it

15. lol.. Stella you go soon ask who suppose to sweep the house... abeg yam flour no be the real thing ooo.... if e no be mortal Pounded yam, no be original... the aroma when pounding yam is heavenly... Biko if I can make the soup what stops me from completing the treat by pounding the yam, unless hubby comes to take the pistol from me... me wen kukuma like serving my Oga as a king that he is now... little things we do as wives and mothers that counts....

1. Marriedchick, men pound yam in igboland unless you married a yaraba man.

2. Oh puhleez.lets hear word.
      Keep licking your husbands feet o and kill yourself.
      You must be a full time housewife

3. Thank u marriedchick....may God bless your home.
      There is no big deal in pounding yam.
      I don't see any stress in it.
      You girls should keep deceiving yourselves

4. *mortar and pestle, hun, MORTAR and PESTLE

5. @anon14:47 and what's wrong with my licking my husband feets? In as much as it's clean and healthy...lol...in fact I will wash his feet if I have to just to had extra sparkle... @portable... Don't mind them most of them are still in their parents house building castles in the air @anon14:43 thanks for the correction, you are a sweetheart... Someone once posted that A man that will cheat will cheat no matter what you do, but you just don't make it easy for him...

16. Yam flower anytime any day during d days of poundo after I finish cooking soup then I will have to wait for my husband to get home first before pounding yes he do d pounding, sometimes I do too but whenever I do he always complain that it's not smooth enough that next time I should please let him do his thing ......

17. Its no ones duty abeg...if you feel like eating pounded yam its either you do it yourself or go out there to buy it...some cannot come and have muscle pull because I wn pound!

18. People no longer do the pounding ting wen yam flour is everywhere cheaper and less stress

19. Food processor to the rescue! No stress, same (sometimes better) result!

20. It's a man's duty, but a woman can do it too

21. I believe that everyone should know how to pound the yam
    If one is married then is now the woman's job but ThankGod for technology..

22. The only yam I manage to pound is for white soup. Who has that strength? If you want to eat pounded yam enter kitchen.

My dad and brother always do the pounding in my house.

23. Thank God for yam pounder and yam flour. The man can help out when there is no other option than to use a mortar .There shouldn't be any debate on this issue, its nobody's chore.Anyone can do it.

24. Thank God for yam pounder and yam flour. The man can help out when there is no other option than to use a mortar .There shouldn't be any debate on this issue, its nobody's chore.Anyone can do it.

25. While growing up i remember my dad pounding sometimes not all the time tho like when mum is sick or not around. My dad isn't one to push domestic chores to the women, he washed he clothes and all but doesnt do dishes shaa. Till date my 65 year daddy cooks even when everyone is home. Sometimes before coming home he has already made dinner or lunch as the case maybe for everyone.... a very respectful somebori oh. Some visitors be suprise and looking at us with side eyes, he will notice and quickly chip in that he enjoys cooking and that the kitchen isn't only for the women..

As for future hubby, pounding is a major challenge to me, I do it sometimes but can't do it often. Will appreciate it if he helps out in pounding while I cook the soup and all but if he can't then we will reach a compromise of cooking it once in a long time not always and he will have to 'enjoy' it even if it doesn't cone out well..
    To the men, you know it's sexy helping out in the cooking sometimes... esp to some of us that our love language is act of service

1. Your daddy is my daddy.

2. Washes*
      Respectable*
      Ignore typos pls

26. @bonario continue being the slave....... Stella darling na man suppose do the pounding

27. This is a woman's duty nah!...
    Why should your husband pound yam for the family?...
    What nonsense question is that sef?...
    Is it not the woman's duty to cook and pound?...
    My husband is not a pounded yam person and even if he is,I will be pounding it by my self!...

1. I am happy for you.
      If your husband was a pounded person you will understand.
      Wen you don pound two three times you go get muscle pull. Then when you look yourself at the mirror you will realize you're slowly becoming a wrestler.

At that point you will start teaching your husband the Disadvantages of eating yam but pounded and cook.

2. So Linda, in your village it's a woman that pounds? I know that in most of Igbo land it's a man that pounds o

3. @queen.. I wonder what is so difficult in pounding yam that you and your husband wants to eat... It does not even take up to 15minutes of your time...

4. @peppi...pounding yam is not an everyday activity, it could once a week or two weeks... If you can go to the gym for exercise to keep fit then u can pound hun... It's just to set your mind on it...

5. @MARRIEDchick some men make it a point of duty to eat it every day.n if u have lyk 2 or 3 of dem in De house u know Wat it means.My cousin's husby eat pounded yam instead of any other swallow and his meal isn't complete a day without him taking swallow.smtyms his frnds join him home 4 fud or his Manchelor brother all in the name of eating pounded yam De wife will prepare..I think if it was you I believe you wud ve enjoyed gymin with motar and pestle.

28. I am idoma and its a man's responsibility to pound yam. My mum isnt from Benue either. My dad used to pound growing up, my brothers learnt and carried on the mantle.
    My male cousins equally pound in my uncle's houses when i visit.

29. I spent lots of my vacations with my grandparents while growing up, and I learnt to pound yam as a teenager, and it's something I love to do. I love the feeling I get on my upper arms while pounding, I guess it's safe to say I find it therapeutic.
    Asides that, I am a traditional girl, and if at all I want to swallow, the whole ready made pounded yam flour, or pounding it with a mixer doesn't sit well with me. It's got be with a mortar and pestle..

Having said this, I can't allow a man pound yam for me cos it's a skill I have mastered over time, and I am very critical when it comes to food. I'd hate for my man to pound yam for me and I will see a lump in it.its better I do it myself.

Dum Vita est spes est

30. Many agreed d@ it's a man jobs, why? Cos de think men ar stronger? Yet u wanna say a man s equal to a woman..lol

31. For some culture it is the men, while some it is the women. I say anyone can pound. If it is for two people, no biggy, but more than to i will need an assistance. Well God knows i am not a good yam pounder so he gave me a non Nigerian. So i have nothing to worry about, i only pound for myself when i have cravings or buy

32. While growing up, my mum calls my brother to do the pounding.
    If you send me, expect lumps. Lol
    Thank God for poundo yam/semovita and the likes.

When it comes to cooking, I am one helluva lazy woman. I go the easy route. Lol

33. I don't like poundo one bit. I can count the no of times I've tasted it.
    While growing up, I always wonder why people pounds yam when it can be eaten with good fried egg..
    If I eventually end up with a lover of poundo,he either pounds it himself or we get a machine that does it..

34. I only pound the one I eat, I don't know about a man pounding for the family but I do see them in restaurants pounding yam and fufu

35. Where i come from, women do the pounding. If marriage never hungry you, please stay away and stop making excuses! A wise woman keeps her home, don't let these SM silly arguments ruin your home.

36. #Take your attention away from what you don’t want and place that energy on what you wish to experience*

37. Me wey common cocoyam for soup dey tire me to pound. I've never pounded yam in my life cuz we don't eat it @ home. I just pray to marry a domesticated yam pounder pounded yam eating husband, if not nah koko pounded yam em go chop ooo

38. Dunno whose chore it should be, all I know is I don't like pounded yam and don't like pounding either. If who I eventually marry loves pounded yam, he will either pound or I use a food processor. Life ain't too hard. I don't even think I will need to mortar in my kitchen in my marital home. I threw mine away 2 years ago and haven't looked back and yet I have cooked cocoyam Oha, banga, ofeakwu, white soup and atama; all mortar related food

1. My mum being an ekiti woman can eat pounded yam as the 3 meal of a day, she pounds most times and dad helps occasionally. I never took interest and she thought I would be forced to learn someday! I only started eating it in buka during uni days and God being God, my hubby could care less about anything solid.

MrsBee

39. Lmao@ fantastico. Please calm down. Lol @no be me you go send to hell.

40. I am an Esan woman. I've been pounding yam since forever, thanks to my mum the task 'master'. Lol

When I am at my family home, I do all the pounding, I sure can do it in my own home.

MISS Jacobs.

41. Am from benue state, Idoma by tribe. And I can boldly say pounding is a man's job, in short in my place is a taboo for women to pound. Yes..... I grew up seeing my Dad pound for my Mum, even in my old age the man still de pound and he is in his late 60s, no be say we the girls no sabi pound oh but he will say it's Man's job. So tell me, when I eventually marry, one man go say mk I pound for am? Tah!!! If he can't eat semo, poundo yam or Eba he should forget it...

42. Kenwood food processor is what I use and within five minutes or less,pounded yam is ready.Its poverty that causes all this argument of pounding & washing,if a couple have good jobs,understand each other &
    communicate well,there won't be such frivolous
    arguments.My single BVs,marry your best friend & you will enjoy your marriage

43. We rarely eat pounded yam, so I don't have that problem.

44. It can be done by anyone.
    Me, I don't like pounding because after Pounding blisters will appear on my palm

45. For me, the man should do the pounding. It is too much work for the woman.
    C.O

46. It's like married chick wants to win a food processor *side eyes*.

I concur with Mrs Anonymous. It is poverty that causes all these arguments. Buy a washing machine and a Kenwood food processor. Save yourself all this plenty talk about whose job is this. Anyone can pound yam abeg.

Some women do all the above and yet their horsebands still follow women who fix nails 24/7 and don't cook.

1. Tell me about it. I can't proudly say I have ever settled down and cook for any man. Yet them no wan allow me breathe. Even the two exes wey bn like food like wetin I no know. One tried to make me enjoy cooking sha but ina. Anyway,am forcing myself to because I don't want to be embarrassed in my marital home. Lmao

47. Why would anyone subject themselves to that level of discomfort when carbohydrate is present in many other food. You stress to pound and after eating you feel so heavy. My mum walks around about 30mins after eating pounded yam to make sure it digests quick otherwise she sleeps off!lol

MrsBee

48. It depends on Wat you are pounding..crayfish,pepper (woman) pounded yam (man)

49. There is nothing wrong in it if the man helps his wife to pound, the man should be the one to pound it. Everything you people be saying do it for the men, so what the man should do in the house is just to cross leg, watch tv and press phone while the woman put everything on her head? Though I can pound well but I will still call him to help me abeg.

50. Hian! In my house its men that pound oh. My mum made that very clear from the start. That women don't need muscles. If my future husband can't pound then we get pounding machine or we do poundo. Can't shout. I can't even hold pestle sef. I've never done that.