Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Acting President Osinbajo Says He Does Not Need A New Official Residence

Monday, February 20, 2017

Acting President Osinbajo Says He Does Not Need A New Official Residence

Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo, on Sunday said the Federal Government would at the appropriate time convert the new official residence being built for the Vice President to another use ebcause he was not interested in a new official Residence....

Osinbajo said this in a statement by his Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Mr. Laolu Akande, amid continued criticism of the project which is expected to gulp over N7bn.

The statement read, “For the umpteenth time, we like to clarify that the proposed plan of the immediate past administration to build a new official residence for the occupant of the Office of the Vice President, including the controversial gatehouse preceded this administration.

“The project which started in 2010, was initiated and funded by the immediate past administration, but had never featured in the two budget proposals of the Buhari administration: neither in the 2016 nor the 2017 spending plans.

“Any suggestion therefore that this project benefits our administration or that it reflects our spending style or preferences is not only misleading but blatantly false.

“Besides, the incumbent Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, has said publicly that he considers Aguda House, which he currently occupies, a befitting official residence for the Vice President and sufficient for his needs.

“While the project is now about 85% complete, the Federal Government, in the circumstances, will decide at the appropriate time what is the best use for the 14 buildings already on the project site.”

From thenigerian.ng

16 comments:

1. Yes.. This is my acting President making sense

2. @Galore if Tinubu is teaching him then surely Tinubu is a really smart man. Whether you like it or yes Osinbajo is very astute! You can't take it away from him. He was my Prof in LASU and I can beat my chest that Naija couldn't have asked for a better VP. Contrary to what y'all think this short man is somewhat of an activist bc when he believes in something he will fight for it with ALL the arsenals available to him. His dogged attitude earned him a termination in LASU but where he is now...

2. 7bn for official residence?
    There is God oo

3. Nigeria I hail thee.Always looking for something to blame on Goodkuck Jonathan.

4. Beautiful but hope he is not having other motives

1. Lol... Ofcus he is

Sharp man wan be President now

All ds talking nice Na him mentor @Tinubu dey teach am

5. Wise of u to turn it down sir!
    It would be an unwise thing to do.To go on with the said project and at this time?

Some people acquiring properties at the expense of public funds.Like they would go with them when they die.

6. project which is expected to gulp over N7bn and there is no money in the country.

7. Another lie to discredit Gonathan's administration. Kontinue

8. It is not to discredit Jonathan. We love GEJ but that administration was beyond wasteful. This administration is blind the last was sooooo careless. I pray the VP can turn somethings around as he is a good man and an active lawmaker.