Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ambode Cries Out That Fashola Is Frustrating His Moves To Reconstruct Lagos Airport Road

Thursday, March 09, 2017

Ambode Cries Out That Fashola Is Frustrating His Moves To Reconstruct Lagos Airport Road

Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode on Wednesday lamented that the Federal Ministry of Power, Works and Housing led by ex-Lagos Governor, Babatunde Fashola is
frustrating the state government’s plan to reconstruct the Murtala Muhammed International, MMI, Airport Road from the Oshodi end.

The governor, who addressed newsmen at the State House,
Ikeja after inspecting ongoing projects in the state also said the
Federal Ministry of Power, Works and Housing is also frustrating the planned handover of the Presidential Lodge to Lagos long after President Muhammadu Buhari approved the
handing over of the project.

The governor described the Oshodi-International Airport Road degradation as a national embarrassment, saying that the state
government had the cash to do a total reconstruction of the road.

According to Ambode, “The road linking Oshodi to the International Airport, you would all agree with me is a national embarrassment.

“In the spirit of the regeneration and urbanisation that this administration has set out to achieve, we believe strongly that the image that is exhumed by the decadence of that road must be repaired and we took it upon ourselves to appropriate in the
2017 budget that the House of Assembly should approve the total reconstruction of the Airport Road from Oshodi to the International Airport.”

“The State currently has a design of 10 lanes to come from Oshodi to the International Airport with interchange and flyover that would drop you towards the Local Airport.

“The contractor is already set to go and everything as I said, has been completed and we already have the cash, but alas we are having challenges with the Federal Ministry of Works and Housing.

“This is a Federal and not a State road. The Federal Ministry of
Works believes that they should do the road, but they have not been able to do it all these years past.
“I just want to remind Lagosians that prior to my becoming Governor, the Federal Ministry of Works has been owing Lagos State a total of N51billion as reimbursement for reconstruction that was carried out by the State Government on federal roads in the State,” he said.

Ambode continued: “So obviously, what we are asking for is that whatever it is that we are asking for, it can never be up to the N51 billion that they are owing us. It is only logical that they should even give us part of what they are owing us so that we can complete this construction of the Airport Road within a time of six months.

“I just want to appeal to the Federal Ministry of Works, to let go
or reimburse us with whatever it is that they are owing us and even if they are not willing to pay us now, we have the money to do it. It is a national disgrace and we would not be part of it. We would like to do it as part of the celebration of Lagos at 50.”

From Vanguard

38 comments:

1. He is your oga so deal with it

1. Yes because u r Tinubu toy

2. Subtle attack on BRF from the stables of Ambode and Tinubu. Una well done

OK bye

2. Fashola do the needful nah, don't be a stumbling block.

3. How does. Fashola hinders you developing Lagos ? Indolent, lazy and lack of vision governor. Fashola had more harder chalenges in his time and yet delivered more than our imagination. Ambode or what are you called... You have no vision and full of hate for Fashola. You better repent.

1. Hey that's a Fed road. Educate urself. Although he is Tinubu toy, looking for how to steal fun's in d name of whatever

2. What are you trying to say exactly? because there is virtually no sense in this your post. How will this change the fact that ministry of works have refused Lagos state from touching federal roads? This is the same reason why people in Apapa axis are still suffering, federal factor! How is ambode visionless? You may want to visit lekki -ajah road or epe or alapere or ojodu Berger etc. Fashola spent 8years! Ambode is still within his first 4years! Please be reasonable when you send in your opinion. Calling ambode names won't make your post any sensible or better. Tx

3. @10:05 in as much as I don't totally agree with adulu, so u think what Ambode is doing now wasn't in d blue print already? R u a joke or what? Was it Ambode that proposed d fly over at Ajah? Railway at Alapere. Joker indeed, because he demolished roundabouts and installed street lights? Those r d only changes that r different, every other thing was on d blue print already b4 he resumed work. Tinubu stopped stealing 3billion naira from Lagos state, thanks to Fash, he insisted in community development with such monies instead of his using it selfishly. Who doesn't know what Tinubu and his boy Fowler is about? Now the egg head is a new pun in d game to steal Lagos dry in d name of patch and polish. Pls pick a history book and read b4 yawning. Ike

4. @ 11:02 You must be a demented clusterfvck to call me a joke. If you must address me,u better do so without throwing insults my way. I wouldn't want to drag your entire lineage into this discourse so respect yourself ,make your point and move on.

You are here to claim Gov Ambode is stealing from a blue print. Can we conclude that fashola also stole from the same blue print since bulk of the projects he executed during his tenure was initiated by tinubu? Anyways that is not the point here.....

The issue on ground is about the Federal road from oshodi to the airport which Gov Ambode wishes to reconstruct but needs the approval of the federal government. Even if fashola wasn't the minister in charge of works, Gov Ambode will still need the approval of the federal government via the office of the minister of works, be it you,me or sdk. It is that approval he is clamouring for here....you shouldn't neglect the obvious facts just to chat rubbish like your life depends on it.

Even if Gov. Ambode is not the originator of the ideas,it simply won't change the fact that if or when the project is executed we the masses stand to benefit directly from it. We shouldnt be blinded by unnecessary sentiments please! Abi, who sentiments epp?

5. Abeg don't mind this one Jare. He/she hasn't experienced the liberty Gov ambode has afforded lagosians. If we are going to be petty here, I'd state that ambode changed the blue print Cos the lease of life removing a stupid roundabout has afforded us is beyond belief. But like my poster said, that isn't the issue here. I'd be the first to castigate Ambode for not obtaining appropriate approval to execute a project so pls guys join me in begging the minister to allow ambode help us.

6. Government is about continuity, its not about who stated a project or whose blue print is being used. This has been a plus and Lagos that projects are not abandoned. They have all them well to build a better Lagos.

4. Hian, do ur own and let fashola face his own.

1. This is not about ambode and fashola. It is about the Federal govt. not wanting states to touch anytin federal. In this case,ambode is only seeking permission to reconstruct the road for the betterment of Lagosians/visitors as a whole. Federal govt should approve biko! they will not take care of their roads yet,they won't allow those interested in taking care of them do so in peace.

5. Oga go sitdown. Leave Fashola name out of your predicaments. Instead of you to ask him for assistance.

6. This is d type of argument I want to hear, even if there is kowoje aka Kwaraption in the middle. Na me go do the road (lag), No na me.(ministry)...In any case make una settle d matter sharp sharp make d road get done.
    Ambode suppose shame sha, FG through ministry of works and housing owed Lagos state N51b before he became governor, now he is asking FG for that money back.......but na Fashola b d governor that time wey we dey talk abi? So Oga Fash b feeling like that was then , this is now. Besides if I could do it on lagos state money, so can u. So if u cannot wait for FG, please feel free to spend lagos state money just the way I did.

1. No mind am, he will rather buy wrist watches and pose for pictures. Egg head, 1st sign of empty vessels that were helped into position, designer items to feel among.... Empty set of humans copy cats never with original idea, always waiting to steal other pples ideas with there fake 'package ' lifestyle... I spit

7. This is d type of argument I want to hear, even if there is kowoje aka Kwaraption in the middle. Na me go do the road (lag), No na me.(ministry)...In any case make una settle d matter sharp sharp make d road get done.
    Ambode suppose shame sha, FG through ministry of works and housing owed Lagos state N51b before he became governor, now he is asking FG for that money back.......but na Fashola b d governor that time wey we dey talk abi? So Oga Fash b feeling like that was then , this is now. Besides if I could do it on lagos state money, so can u. So if u cannot wait for FG, please feel free to spend lagos state money just the way I did.

8. This Ambode sef...
    Do your work and leave Fashola alone mbok!

9. Not like he wants to come back as governor again

10. Lack of ideas n visions has killed you already,Mr Amboeday

1. God bless u at 10:11.fowl Yarsh don open if na to wear watch snap pic he go carry am for head, empty vessels, there talks r always vain, wen u hear them talk u go think say na there idea, Oya Nah use d proposed vision u had during ur election, idiots stealing pples ideas with there FAKe lifestyle of packaging to get to d top, Oya deliver Nah, d brain Wey get d idea don get sense, him or she no dey gree revel again. Idiot don hook. Fuckards.

11. Lack of ideas n visions has killed you already,Mr Amboeday

12. Please you guys should read and understand before commenting.

@ anon 09:45 he asked FG to give state the go ahead for the reconstruction of the road even if they are not willing to pay the 51billion now,as the state can fund the project. I am sure you didn't read that part.

@ anon 10:11 kindly tell us why you think Gov Ambode lacks ideas and visions? If you were made the gov of Lagos state today,what will be your vision for the state and what will you do differently from Gov Ambode?

1. Anon 10:50, I hope u read d part where he mentioned part payment or at least promisory note to pay.
      Its all about d money. We haven't heard from fashola, but i don't see him hindering lasg if they don't harass Fg for money.
      Fg perhaps have plans for the road and lasg probably prefers to do it so they can inflate d cost. Whc ever way, pls btw d 2 ogas pls get d road done. Esee

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Somebody want to pocket some money for his selfish reasons....

14. Fashola?Am bode Otide. You've been trying and a Christian. Do your work..God shall continue to keep us.He slumbers not or sleep...Osibajo.V.P shall pay.

15. Fashola?Am bode Otide. You've been trying and a Christian. Do your work..God shall continue to keep us.He slumbers not or sleep...Osibajo.V.P shall pay.

16. Whatever happens and he does,I still won't like him,I can never like him.....team BRF all the way & by the way I'm a born,bred and raised lagosian so I know what I'm saying.

17. Fashola, thought you will be better than Amaechi. Go ahead and use your position to make Lagos great. Fix the road or give them the permission. Amaechi, instead of fighting, use the opportunity to fix the PH international airport. It is a disgrace. A tent thay has been used for nearly 7 years now. Fix it, it should become a legacy of your time as minister.

18. Fashola, Minister of Darkness, mind yasef ohhhhhh......let Ambode work....

19. Hmmmm. We dey shine our eyes

20. There are so many other roads that can be developed in Lagos State and will benefit the majority of people rather than the tiny percentage using a road to the International airport!. What happened to all the roads in Alimosho, the local government that delivers the greatest vote to any sitting governor? Alimosho has been neglected for so long. i dont get what all the cry and hue is for just one stretch of road when the same amount of money can deliver 100 roads in the same Lagos State.