Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CNN Features Nathaniel Bassey's Hallelujah Challenge

Thursday, June 15, 2017

CNN Features Nathaniel Bassey's Hallelujah Challenge

It is perhaps an unlikely setting for a praise and worship session. But every day at midnight, thousands of worshippers around the world have logged on to Instagram to lift their voices in praise and prayer, united by one hashtag: #HalleluyahChallenge.

More than 60,000 people have joined in the Instagram praise and worship in an hour long midnight gathering, which is the brainchild of Nigerian gospel singer Nathaniel Bassey.

It all started with a simple post on his Instagram page on the 31st of May, where Bassey signaled his intention to start a 30-day midnight praise challenge throughout the month of June.

Even Nigeria's expensive internet data costs have seemingly not deterred eager worshipers who have flocked to the livestream on his Instagram and Facebook pages.

At it's peak, around 68,000 people have joined the Instagram livestream, while over 50,000 joined the Facebook livestream.

Statistics from Evolve Press reveal 10,000 posts with the hashtag "#HallelujahChallenge" and over 18,000 with the hashtag "#olowogbogboro" making it the number one trend in Nigeria.

Bassey said he did not imagine the movement would become so popular on Facebook and Instagram.

"I had a sense which is the leading of the spirit to praise God the whole of this month," Bassey told CNN

"Against the backdrop of the challenges in the world today especially in our nation, with the scourge of terrorism and the recession ... it has brought a sense of hope and respite. It is a reflection of the desire and hunger for answers and for hope," he said.

Bassey frequently shares testimonies of participants who say taking part in the challenge has yielded results and a change in their circumstances.
 Edited from CNN.

Please what is the meaning of Olowogbogboro?Does it mean God of everybody?

85 comments:

1. Soon someone will calculate how many millions or billions they are making every night.

1. Hahaha.. As in, like say you know the thing wen dey my mind

Abeg after this @Halleluya challenge... I want to see @SINACH do "Miracle worker challenge "

I just love worship

2. It means The one with a long hand

3. Nice one. He actually started the online challenge May 1st with the tongue challenge.

Ukwu diamond, true talk.

4. This mumu ized uanikhehiis rejoicing on Facebook that her rubbish she wrote on the evolve statistics is on CNN oloriburuku dede God forgive me

5. Hahahahahahahaahahahaha! Galore!!! Kai

6. You are wrong. IG and Facebook is not like blogspot. He can't count billions because there is no pay per click or view thing. The most is that churches can pay him to come lead praise or something like that. If he knows how to monetize this though, it could end up being millions for him like. If he had done this in November then I am sure HOTR will pay him millions to promote The Experience or maybe gospel books advert. He could even direct you to a blog where he will connect his livestream and say he is doing this every month end and then he can earn money but for now, this dude ain't making a dime from this. And what's bad if he counts billions?

7. @Sandy, you don join?

@Yahoo boi.... With a name like yours... You are shouting

8. Olowogbogboro means someone with a long hand.

2. The mighty outstretched arms #olowogbogboro

3. Oba Olowogbogboro!
    Thank u father......🙏
    Stella,i tink it means the God of Big mighty Hands.not sure tho.

4. Olowogbogboro-God with Outstretched arms

5. Olowogbogboro means outstretched hand of God

6. Congrats to all who has joined. May you all continue to receive testimonies Amen

1. You no go join?😉😜

2. Amen yoriyori. what are you waiting for??

3. Yori Yori try join oh, Miracles no dey too much.God is ever ready for us

4. Me sef I never join.. .make I no lie una

I only pray on my room once it's 12am.... I do that anyways, before the challenge.. ..once I am awake at night, before stepping down to ease myself, before my legs toches the ground, I pray

My grandma taught me

I take authority at midnight

5. Prophetess galore, more anointing

7. Replies
    1. I joined in this morning as I found myself up at midnight.
      Not bad, any reason to worship God is good enough. Worship songs and prayers. imma use this medium to pray for Nigeria the most cos I think that's what it's there for. And really If Nigeria doesn't succeed how can I possibly succeed?
      Praying for the peace and prosperity of this nation. Ain't nth difficult for God

8. It means the outstretched hand of God
    This God is too good ooooo

9. It means the outstretched arm of God.

10. I need an explanation about this Halleluya challenge pls.

1. Me too and how to join please

2. It all started with a simple post on his Instagram page on the 31st of May, where Bassey signaled his intention to start a 30-day midnight praise challenge throughout the month of June.

Copied from SDK post.

3. Hallelujah challenge is basically worshipping the King of all Kings from 12-1am Nigerian time every night via Nathaniel Basseys live Instagram handle. Follow @nathanielblow on Insta. You'll see him come on live at that exact time. Join and receive your testimony.

11. CrazyHornyWife15 June 2017 at 15:22

I taught same too but I went on Google and it means the outstreched hand of God!!!

12. More than 60,000 people? Oh well, wherever you can find hope, grab it.

MISS Jacobs.

13. I think olowogbogboro means big hands or something of that nature

14. Replies
    1. I need to join the oh but tiredness will not allow me, someone should please wake me up by 12 midnight

2. Adara I'll wake u... it's an amazing an experience to be in Gods presence and going to sleep at peace.

Oh but how do I wake you .. oops!

3. I'm looking for who will wake me up too o😁😁

15. I'm not participating in it but I'm glad this is happening.

16. Nice! Its a good initiative by him I must say. Afterall, David with all his escapades became a man after Gods own heart because of praises so I believe the purpose(s) it was started for will be achieved by Gods special grace. I joined in for the first time this morning with kinda sleepy eyes. Saw numerous actresses commenting.

1. People are now joining for fun and to see others comment to mock them. Imagine someone munched Ini Edo's comment.

How do people even praise and comment or read peoples comment?

I don't even read or comment, I just go on with my praise and prayers.

2. Yeah right @Swaggie! For fun ooo from what I saw this morning. Me join and was reading comments. Loool! Very distracting. The person that munched Inis comment is very senseless cos thats not somebody joke with. Instablog9ja didnt now help matters join. Mscheeew

3. That's Nigerians for you.

I love me some praise and worship, but can't join cos of TD, also I don't do IG. I wish there was a link like BBN days then I can definitely join and praise baba.
      @lafresh, queen of IG (no offense ma) can you help please?

4. Adanne, are you on facebook? If yes, follow nathaniel bassey-official to join the challenge

5. I use to be, not anymore, thanks btw.

17. Look at God.
    God just announced Nathaniel Bassey through this movement.

1. God is always faithful

When he gives you instruction, you follow immediately... If he had procrastinated,

2. @chi, honestly. And he can make multimillions if he's smart. That may not be his original intention though.

3. Everything is not about the money. God glory is more than enough money. Glory to God Eyenekami Nath?!!!

4. @Ageless if you know him well you'll know he isn't doing this for money but if after it opportunity comes for him yup make money then.Who knows but definitely nut from the actual challenge itself

18. Please bvs,how do i join? I really need dis now. I know it has gone half way but its never too late.

1. Follow him on his instagram page Nathanielblow click on his profile picture @ 12 and it's a live video you participate from there.

He also has a Facebook page

19. It means God outstretched arm, Woawuu nice one.

20. He just heard the voice of God, he obeyed, no struggling or arguing, he just did it and an overflow of "instant" life changing miracles, back to back, all over the world. Wow!

21. And it had to be in the month of Ramadan? Lmao. There's good in sharing sha. God's mercies never run dry during Ramadan. Let's all tap. Kisses to all Nigerians

1. Sorry he started this last month with the speaking in tongues challenge.

2. What is this one saying?

3. In the month of Ramadan? 😂😂😂 It's in June. One of the 12 months we have in the Gregorian calendar.

4. Yes.. It has to be in the month of Ramadan

We want to pray the Muslim's out of Nigeria

Olodo

5. What????? @anon 15:38, do you guys really think the Christians are in some form of competition with you guys? Why do Muslims just like trouble, or what do you mean by that statement? So because of Ramadan now, worship of God should be differed? Or the whole world should stop breathing? Why do you guys always feel the whole world revolves around your religion alone? Your sense of entitlement is annoying as always. Christians do 40 days fasting during lent, some churches even do 100 days, yet we all go about our daily activities plus spreading love, et al. We don't even see you guys, that's the truth.

That was how some fanatics said NYSC should not hold because of Ramadan. If you can't go to camp during fasting, then defer your service. Pls don't annoy me this night. Mtchew...

I want to believe you are alone on this statement, so I wont generalise. And learn to libral and encourage other Muslims to do same, OK?

Now go and break your fast.

22. Outstretched hand of God. I have not been participating. Gonna give it a trial.

23. hahahahaha Sandy babiby i no join oooo. Those wey join God go bless una oo

24. I joined yesterday . Omo 1hr was like 5 mins

25. Hallelujah!!!!!!his life will not remain the same after this too!
    Been tuning in since Friday and I know things have changed!

26. This is what you get by following the leading of the Spirit of God.
    Just obey....
    This has brought hope, peace, joy and relaxation to most...

27. Where are the nay sayers? This is a global movement. I see people finding God (actually finding Him) and giving their lives to Him via this movement.
    God bless you Nathaniel.
    I would have loved to participate but I can't join because it clashed with our church 30days vigil.

28. Stella it's the Outstretched hand of God...May the outstretched hand of God visit us all in Jesus name

29. I found myself awake some minutes after midnight. I joined In. Praise opens doors of miraculous wonders(if you believe).

30. This challenge didn't start this month, it began in the month of MAY! We did the 1hour tongue challenge for 30 days we prayed for an hour but the time was not fixed.
    Mostly at 12, sometimes at 3am.....
    Then atbtge end of the tongue challenge, he saidbhe had the leading ofbl The Holy Spirit to do anchor a praise and worship session, thanking God for answered prayers.....

Nne na so e take start o.
    Like play like play
    We were not even up to 4000 during the last month's prayers.
    I am glad this is happening
    I am glad an army has risen.
    God bless you Pastor Nathaniel

Those saying he wants to cash on this publicity, lmao. May God forgive you all

1. You've really been part of this.

Tongue challenge didn't have this much publicity but I also thank God this is happening.

The hand of God #olowogbogboro is really involved.

2. Swaggie, and you guys did not tell us. You too gifted. Enh? Na only una waka come. Ok oh. May we all testify in Jesus name, Amen.

31. This is great 👍 ...i must join tonight

32. Let your outstretched reach me daddy
    Olowo gbogboro

33. Stella, hmmmm see how CNN yab us. See what caught my attention: "Even Nigeria's expensive internet data costs....". I reserve my comment

34. I always look forward to it.. God blesd him for this

35. Thanks all for this publicity. I am joining tonight though in the diaspora. Midnight praise and prayer works faster than anything.

36. God is awesome

37. The outstretched arms of God must locate my family and I

38. #Olowogbogboro.. God is faithful

39. yes ,it has to be in ramadan because JESUS IS THE LORD OF ALL LORDS AND THE ONLY WAY TO HEAVEN .