Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nationwide Blackout Allegedly Imminent

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Nationwide Blackout Allegedly Imminent

A nationwide blackout is imminent as Nigeria power generation has fallen below the 3,000 megawatts mark.

Sadly, number of idle power plants increased to eight on Sunday from five on Friday.

Reports say the nation’s power grid lost a total of 743.4MW over the weekend as generation dropped from 3,306.6MW on Friday to 2,632.4MW and 2,563.2MW on Saturday and Sunday, respectively.

It was gathered that a total generation stood at 2,886.7MW as of 6am on Monday, with seven power plants, including Sapele II and Alaoji II not generating any megawatt.

Other idle plants on Monday were Afam IV & V, Gbarain II, AES, ASCO and Rivers IPP, according to the latest data from the Federal Ministry of Power, Works and Housing.

Daily Times

38 comments:

1. Why the drop. Sebi rain dey fall enough water to move the hydroelectric plant..

Back to sanity... They should send out a memo on the cause of the zero productivity

1. Na wah oh!

2. Fashola, get in here and explain

3. Have not had light since Sat afternoon. God help us in Nigeria

4. Which nationwide blackout again? Is it different from the one we've been experiencing since 1960?

2. The whole warri and environs no light for d past one week. Gen everyday.

1. My sister na so we see am. More expenses, mtchew

3. What have we not witnessed, this is not new. If they like let them take it for 100years

4. Ew we that had been enjoying light in lagos. They have not taking our light since Sunday. Let me just enjoy while it last

5. They should do something about it .

God Bless Everyone.

6. No light in my area for some days because of transformer wahala. This country is a mess.

7. Can't this country build windmills as an alternative source? Build more dams? There are plenty of windy deserts in the north, Or allow individuals generate their own power.

8. What happened to generating electricity via solar energy?

9. @Bianca very correct, it's even more than a week in my area. Small time them go bring bill make we pay for wetin we no consume....

10. Obviously, there's no light at the end of tunnel...

11. There haven't been light in Victoria Island since 3 weeks now and my office has been using generator all these while. Na wa for naija o. When will it get better? When?

12. I dont expect to hear dis kinda tory during raining season. Naaah! This administration is nothing but a bad luck. Gosh!!!

13. And just yesterday a thought came o my mind. How would we cope should their be a total national blackout in this coubtry for say 1month. Lol..crazy thoughts

I wonder why that should even happen

1. My dear Nigerians will cope, it ain't new. Companies spend millions on diesel, and households spends thousands on fuel, so we have already adapted to having no light, so it is no news. The only thing that will be news is.... If they announce that there will be no interruption of power.

14. Why nah, for this holiday. Nepa ejor o, na Disney Junior they help us out.

15. My area has been in darkness since November last year.

16. My mum area always have light. .since i move to island with hubby i hardly see light here. Mum area be giving me life. If de tk the light 1hr its on till anoda 2 to 3days. Those single days dat i can watch season movies when am less busy

1. Ur 'mum' area no get name???

Anyways, here in ikd, we've been flexing light since Sunday now

2. We dey get light min 20hrs a day. In same estate, my salon area no dey ever get light.

17. Why is it so hard to hear good news about this country these days??? Well,we are used to generator.

18. as if there has been light before sef.

mtcheeeeew

19. Ah,our case is different from this oo,they have not taken the light since Monday here!!

20. Real bad luck.everything is just failing, I still believe in osibanjo though. Buhari should rising and let him take over
    During buhari's campaign, people were saying he's an honest man, he's upright and all, now where is the honesty in him? He has been sick since he came into power, one health issue or the other. He should resign please. We are tired of excuses, deceit and lies. Nigerian as a nation needs repentance,by everyone of us restructuring out mind and mentality

21. I really find it difficult to believe when people complain about light, the light here is extremely stable, in fact Dem never blink am since yesternight. And no! I don't stay on the Island

1. Same here. When I comment on post like this most times, they insult me.

We've not bought diesel this year, the tank is still full. We used the gen last when power was cut off during the flood and that's like 3weeks ago.

22. No light since yesterday oh. No wonder. Abeg make dem go gather all the water wey flood Lekki, Sango Ota, Asaba and use and generate power biko.😂😂😂 I thought we are supposed to be having better light now the rain is heavy but naija own must be different.

23. Light full apapa o. Thank God I left festac

24. hmmm @Blackberry Nigeria's case is ''A pity very painful''situation Its crazy , we dont have forward thinking leaders..A sensible country would have used the water from the flooded areas in Lekki, Vi and its environs to make a mini hydroelectric dam but no wetin full them empty heads is on how to loot money..Stella its not news..let them carry the light and the wire sef..No use..I have been hugging transformer in my area at Ijeshatedo, am still alive typing this message..so make them carry go..