Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Controversy Over Whereabouts Of Alhaji Arrested For Badoo Killings

Wednesday, August 02, 2017

Controversy Over Whereabouts Of Alhaji Arrested For Badoo Killings

There was a disagreement on Tuesday between the Lagos State Police Command and a 51-year-old resident of Magodo Phase II, Alhaji Alaka Abayomi, who was arrested in connection with Badoo killings in Ikorodu.

While Abayomi told PUNCH that the police lacked evidence and had released him,but the command said he was still in custody.

The oil and gas operator was apprehended for his alleged involvement in the attack on a family of five in Oke Ota community, Ibeshe, on Sunday, which led to the death of a couple and two of their children.

The police had said the arrest of Abayomi and two others, whose names were not disclosed, led to the discovery of a Badoo shrine in Agbowa town.

There was, however, a mild drama on Tuesday when punch visited Abayomi’s mansion on PSSDC Road, Magodo Phase II, around 2pm.

His security guard, Usman Zibo, said he had been released by the police and resumed his business activities, adding that he would return home later in the day.

No policeman was seen in the area during the visit.

He said, “I think the matter has been settled. He has been released since morning (Tuesday). He is not around now; you can come back in the evening to see him. I can’t give you his number, but you can drop yours. He will call you when he returns home.

“I have been working with him as a security guard for 10 years and I have never seen any trace of ritual killings. We had lived together in the Agric area, Ikorodu; we moved here three years ago.”

Abayomi, who called  around 6pm, said the police did not have any evidence against him, adding that he did not write any statement.

The 51-year-old, who spoke in Yoruba, claimed to have inherited the shrine from his forefathers, saying it was being used for healing purposes.

He said, “I am at home now; you can come now. How did people arrive at the name Badoo? Nobody knows those who are perpetrating the attacks. I have been living in Ikorodu for over 30 years and everybody knows me. I am into oil and gas.

“I use the shrine for healing different ailments. I took the police there. They didn’t allow journalists to interview me and they didn’t take my statement. I will sue the police for blackmailing me. Let them bring out any exhibit found in the shrine or in my house. Why did they release me if indeed I have connection with Badoo? They said investigation would continue.”

However, the Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, ASP Olarinde Famous-Cole, said Abayomi was still in custody.

He said, “He is assisting the police with investigations. Through investigations, we discovered that hoodlums in the area wanted to start protests. And it is possible that the evidence that may be used against him and others may be destroyed at the shrine, his home or place of business.

“We have gone to secure all those things, with the suspect in our custody. We will get back to you on what we have done. The suspect is still in our custody, but was told to go and protect those evidences with investigators.”

A resident of Agbowa, who spoke on condition of anonymity for fear of being attacked, said the shrine was used for ritual purpose.

He said, “The shrine has been there since 2005. It was a hunter that first discovered it and we brought it to the attention of the police. But the police didn’t take it seriously then. A lot of evil activities are perpetrated in the shrine. The police need to carry out thorough investigations.”

Meanwhile, residents of Ibeshe stormed the palace of the Ayangbure of Ikorodu, Oba Kabiru Shotobi, on Tuesday to protest against the killings.

The Chairman, Oke-Ota Community Development Association, Mr. Abayomi Adelakun, said the residents requested drastic measures to end the attacks, including regular supply of electricity.

“The attacks happen when there is no power supply. We want security to improve. We don’t want any killing again. The kabiyesi assured us that he would come to Ibeshe to have a meeting with residents. He promised that within one week, things would improve. The protest lasted for about five hours.”

13 comments:

1. @Goddess...Are u ok at all

The name Baddoo has been in existence before some hoodlums hijacked it and named their cults after it.

Better don't start insinuating what you cannot defend😤😤😤

LEP😛

2. @Goddess...Are u ok at all

The name Baddoo has been in existence before some hoodlums hijacked it and named their cults after it.

Better don't start insinuating what you cannot defend😤😤😤

LEP😛

2. I knew there would be foul play when the Lagos Police Force pulled down the video from their IG page. What healing purposes? An Alhaji owning a shrine? Jesus... This country is screwed forever.

3. Olamide, badoo

4. May God expose them all in their hideout

5. Nigerian police are not reliable and can never be trusted! They're saying different things while lives are being lost everyday and more people are in danger because of those nuisance.

6. I was born and raised in Lagos, Ikorodu has been known for human ritual killing, from as far back as when I was a child. Ritual killings in Ikorodu did not start today.

1. That's untrue. Stop peddling lies

2. Were you raised in Lagos or Ikorodu? I was born and bred in Ikorodu and didn't leave ikorodu until my early 30s about 10 odd years ago. Ikorodu i know was a lovely place where all family knew each other and you could tell whose dad or mum was driving along the road. So please say what you know madam Tina. FYI, Agbowa is not Ikorodu. Perpetrators come from outside committing crime against the people in community.

7. I'll be disappointed if the police frees this guy, if he's truly a babalawo wat are the graves doing there? Or dats where his forefathers were buried? How many forefathers for a he have? If U see his in-laws living large at the expense of innocent people's blood. How many oil n gas dealers have done such investments since rise of dollars but his wife n her family are buying a whole street in surulere and magodo hmmm there's God ooo. This guy's source of wealth is not pure he's so obvious he's a ritualist.

8. He uses it for healing purpose and no sick person was found there. How can one have a healing centre in s thick forest. Let's no be deceived.