Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: JAMB: Cut-Off Marks Reduced To Stop Nigerians From Going To School Abroad

Monday, August 28, 2017

JAMB: Cut-Off Marks Reduced To Stop Nigerians From Going To School Abroad

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) has said the cut-off marks for admission into tertiary institutions were reduced to encourage as many Nigerians as possible to school at home.

JAMB said rather than have a situation where Nigerians enrol in “mushroom universities” and “glorified secondary schools” in Ghana, Uganda and Gambia, the board decided to take the heavily-criticised course of action.

The examination body said “tertiary institutions hardly fill their available spaces”, and that the need to go abroad is not caused by a “shortage of spaces or standards” but “partly” due to unrealistic benchmarks.

According to JAMB, the worst admitted cut-off mark in a Nigerian institution is “far better than allowing them to fly out to some of the institutions they are attending”.

JAMB reiterated that the decision was collectively made by vice chancellors of tertiary institutions, and as such, none can reject it.
 from The Cable

35 comments:

1. If Education Authority could come up with this kind of response, I give up on Nigeria!

2. Jamb should stfu...me that schooled abroad, i didnt reach cut off abi...i scored above 250 both times..where was the admission

3. Jamb should stfu...me that schooled abroad, i didnt reach cut off abi...i scored above 250 both times..where was the admission

2. Odiegwu!
    They are yet to tell us the reason they reduced it.

1. The real reasons they reduced it was to favour the not so educationally intelligent Northern students period!😀😀😀

LEPπŸ˜›

2. Lady T/ am worth more than a thousand dollars28 August 2017 at 17:57

I agree with you 100%. It is to favour the North. No doubt about it.

3. OK. They also fail to admit that most of these schools abroad have better facilities than what we have here, it's time to fix things!

4. For them to stay and enjoy more strikes by lecturers or students. The cut off mark is way too small. Nigeria just keep getting reduced by this administration.

5. Please let them shift let me hear word joooorrr..... as if this would have any positive impact on education. ..

6. oh please ! they should find another excuse.... The Ghana "mushroom universities and Glorified secondary schools" are even far better than most Nigeria Federal universities...Mscheew

So JAMB and FG go and remove the speck in your eyes first before looking for the log of wood to remove from anothers...nonsense

7. Is the cut off mark the reasons Nigerians go abroad to study????? OH MY GOD!!! everything is just wrong in this country!!!!

1. Even if they move the cut off to 50, I won't advice my enemy to study in nigeria. I am soo grabbing any opportunity to go study in a better place for my siblings. Nonsense.

8. What a lame excuse. Yimu!!!

9. school is not everyone JAMB

and our schools has no capacity

#GOAT™

10. na wa oh! there's always an answer for everything these days no matter how ridiculous it sounds.

11. Imagine their reason. They shld fix university facilities first, and make the system work perfectly jare. Mchhewwwsss

12. Hahahaha JAMB, even if your cut off mark is 2.5,students who want to leave will flee.

You want to encourage students to attend Nigerian universities?
    Then how about the focus be on improving those 1920 outdated facilities?

Pay lecturers well so they teach better and update the curriculum, so that students studying prehistoric theories are introduced to this Millennium quickly.

It's BASIC commonsense.

Lowering standards is never the way.
    Secretary General of the Anonymous BV Association (Aso Rat Chapter)

13. If they think that's the reason people choose to go abroad for schooling then there are dumb. Most Nigerian universities are outdated with bad facilities. Also In nigeria, a lecture might choose to victimize or harass you sexually. Also as at today ASUU is still on strike. Na real misplaced priorities

1. You people should learn to read and understand.This write up says cut off mark is partly the reason, hian.

14. The excuse if reducing marks to encourage more students to school in nigeria is weak.

Parents let their children go study abroad because of the better education they get over there.

Instead of telling us that the main reason is to allow the not so bright northern students access to our better universities they decided to lie and say rubbish.

What kind of Mumu thinking do these Government people have sef.

LEPπŸ˜›

15. After writing jamb 3 times without having the cut off point I left Nig to a place they won't need jamb,they're now reducing the marks. If I was in Nig all what I'm going through here won't have ever happened but I kw God is with me. I'm favored and blessed

16. Nigeria increase your standard of education, is not by reducing cut off marks.. If this country keeps producing half-baked graduates, we are going nowhere. Shikina!

17. You cannot reduce cut off mark to encourage people to school in Nigeria, why not improve on the educational sector. What they have over there on a scale of 1-10%, we have 0%.

18. Who wants their child to be victimized in a Nigerian university? I got a call yesterday that I'm yet to recover from. A lecturer deliberately failed me in a course that's basically my major. Something I'm also learning on the job. Saw the carryover(my first ever) and went to meet him cos everyone I sat with passed but me. The man flared up that I should have met the exams officer. Long story short, against all the lecturers advice, I applied for remarking(final exams, so no fear of further victimization). The letter was processed and remarking done. I got an A in that course. He's being investigated. My staff adviser called me yesterday and asked if the lecturer had ever asked me out. I replied in the negative and he hung up. I called him back and asked for explanations. He told me the idiot lecturer said he failed me because I'm always forming too busy to look for lecturers to curry favours. Now, with this personal experience, even if universities offer free education, my kids can never school here cos I don't want them victimized. JAMB, you people had better increased the cut off to the high figures. Imagine someone who scored 243 in JAMB not getting admission cos she had nobody to fight for her and youre here reducing cut off to accommodate people that refuse to study. Don't reduce our educational standard more than has been reduced please. Imagine my cousin completing her med-surg degree in less than 5yrs in an American uni and rather than tackle the issues that cause incessant strikes, you're here yarning dust

19. What are these ones saying. Or they are reducing it for Buhari's ppl that cant pass jamb.
    Which university classes are not full to capacity. Maybe the ones in the north.
    Its a good one anyway, but they shld speak truth its cos of the Northerners. They also need a complete overall in secondary sch education. My friend hired a supposed sec school graduate in Abuja as shop assistant, that can hardly write receipt well or use computer and she's trying for jamb.

20. They reduced the cutoff because of new and/or struggling private universities. Federal, state and well established and popular private unis have no problems filling their slots. More like they are overfilled. Yeye dey smell. No good uni that isn't begging for students would go as low as 120

21. When person where d rule bin dey follow cow,wetin u expect.....u guys remember how buhari suffered to explain himself about school certificates,so this is done to allow those ones where d carry cows to branch university when d cows Don eat tire and then see how inside university dey for 4 or 5yrs,like that he may hv completed d course..and thus will hv a degree so as to come and take power....we r in ogbono soup because power isn't leaving the north soon...

22. They are very dump to think is the reason why people school abroad, they should just come out with the truth that they want to encourage bubu northern people to be educated

23. I said it! They want peeps to stop going to GH for study

24. What's the justification for most, if not all, of Buhari's kids & majority of the ruling class children going abroad to study? Could it be due to the fact that these kids were unable to meet JAMB's high cut-off marks? Oh, let's see: maybe it's actually bcos the ruling class knows it's failed in providing quality education for otherwise poor Nigerian students; this persistent dismantling of what was once, world-class citadels of learning over the years thru nonrecognition of ASUU rights/compensation; diversion of education funds into politics; near absence of research facilities and academic promotions based on primordial ties have undoubtedly led to this final uncoupling. Why? Well, in part,to show most southerners/westerners who like to boast about their educational credentials/aptitudes, this means nothing in the Naija landscape (think: Boko Haram). As long as the northern oligarchy/feudal lords are in power, this is what Naija will get: poor educational quality while, their children study in Oxford & Harvard, among others. It's worth asking: how long will Naija youths take this crap lying down? QED@atm