Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Kano Declares Friday Public Holiday To Mark The New Islamic Year

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Kano Declares Friday Public Holiday To Mark The New Islamic Year

The Kano State Government has declared Friday, Sept. 22, as public holiday to mark the new Islamic year.

This is contained in a statement signed by the state commissioner for Information, Malam Muhammad Garba and issued to newsmen in Kano on Wednesday.

The Islamic New Year, which is first month in the lunar Islamic calendar, coincides with activities marking the nation’s 57th anniversary celebration.
peace and prosperity of the country.

He called on Nigerians to join hands with the government of President Muhammadu Buhari in its determination to build a peaceful and harmonious country.

Friday, Sept. 22, is the first day of Muharram, the first month in the Islamic calender and it marks the beginning of the new Islamic year 1439 after Hijra.

NAN

6 comments:

1. It's a long weekend for kano people

2. What happened to the marks on his face? Have they reduced prominence?

See: The Richest Countries in Africa...How the mighty has fallen.

3. Yes I am going to stay at home make my moi moi oh my God!

4. ...and we complain that the economy is bad when a leader can just wakeup and declare public holiday! We have too many holidays in Nigeria; New year day, sallah(x4 or 5), easter, mothers day(x4), fathers day, childrens day, workers day, independence day, democracy day, xmas day, election day,...I beg make una help me add the ones wey you remember.
    Not nice at all!