Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate President's Comments on the Rising Cases of Drug Abuse in Nigeria

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Senate President's Comments on the Rising Cases of Drug Abuse in Nigeria

#PromiseKept

''On September 29th, I expressed my concern on the rising drug menace in the country. I emphasized that it is time for all of us to recognize this problem and address it in a sensible manner.

Considering the socio-economic state of the country, this drug abuse issue that is often swept under the carpet must be brought to the forefront of our national dialogue before it is too late.

While drugs like cannabis and cocaine have affected many youths across the country, these days, codeine cough syrup and other prescription drugs have become “the new cancer” that is ravaging women and girls — specifically in the Northern part of the country.

Today at the Senate, we initiated action on this drug abuse issue by passing a Resolution on the need to check the rising menace of pharmaceutical drug abuse among youths.

Our resolution has called on the Federal Government to partner with stakeholders, traditional rulers, pharmacist councils and NGOs to create a framework for fighting prescription drug abuse. We have also mandated the Ministry of Health to provide drug rehabilitation centers for drug abuse victims that seek help.

Additionally, the Senate Motion urged NAFDAC to embark on a vigorous sensitization campaign on the dangers of drug abuse and steps on achieving a successful rehabilitation for people with the addiction.

Finally, we have mandated our Committees on Drugs & Narcotics and Health to come up with a legislative framework to deal with the abuse of prescription and over-the-counter drugs and develop a Bill that adequately deals with the problem, and report back to the Senate in the next four weeks.

As we move forward, knowing that there are many experts out there, we hope to continue to receive feedback from all relevant individuals and groups on how best to continue to tackle this issue''.

- Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki (CON), President of the Senate

9 comments:

1. The Psycho Guy........11 October 2017 at 07:22

Gerarahia mehn! Holy Moses. Oga catalyse job creation,eradicate corruption,better Nigeria and these incidents will stop. No be joblessness cause make we shidren Dem go begin find out say codine dey high? Codine! Codine!! We I dey take for cough na him pikin Dem dey use high. Chai! We are finished.😥😫😤

2. Foolish man because it affected the rich that is why you open mouth to talk.

Let more calamity fall on rich people and let's see if they can do something

3. Bukola Saraki, you raised a good point but we need physical actions and solutions! Nigerians are tired! There is hardship in the land. An idle mind is the 😈 workshop! Dr Bukkie, employ me to be your PA , Sir!

4. As spoilt as Bokola is, I've never heard of him using drugs, not much can be said for other senators.

5. Part of the contributors to enabling environment for drug abuse dey talk.
    Make una listen.

6. Could it be the kids of many rich Naijas are now caught up in drug/s abuse? Why would Saraki bring this to the front burner now? It's an expensive addiction and most Naijas never chop belleful to begin dabble for yeye something. Naso me see am.