Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov. Wike Reacts To Students Protest At Chatham House London

Thursday, November 09, 2017

Gov. Wike Reacts To Students Protest At Chatham House London

Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers state has reacted to protests by some Foreign students from the state in London who claim that their fees have not been paid by the Rivers government.

In the video posted, Gov. Wike while speaking at Chatham house said that only students studying sciences like Medicine and Engineering will continue with the scholarship while those studying philosophy, literature, accountancy and other related art disciplines will return home back to Nigeria. He said That there are so many Universities in Nigeria and more than enough competent lecturers in those areas to teach them.

He went further to say there was no much money left in the state's account and he is only managing so the students should try and understand him.

*Which University and what competent lecturers?this is sad.

18 comments:

1. Nigeria my country.... Why start what you cant finish.... Why do you want to dash the hopes of those students..... If its to lavishly spend on irrelevant things money will be there

1. Well he didn't start it. Amaechi the ex governor started it and we know they are not on the best term

2. This is sad.......
    So those students will now start from square one again?
    God have mercy!

1. Which square one? Is there no university is Nigeria again? If they cannot school in Nigeria they should go a fry garri. I support wike 1000💯

2. Annoymous 11:53
      You are a FOOL.

3. He should let this batch finish before new rules abeg.

4. Yes!!...
    There are competent federal universities in Nigeria!,..
    They should return home if their parents or guardians can't afford to pay for their fees abroad!!...
    We are still in recession all thanks to Vuharia!...

5. At least he succeeded in showing the oyibos the kind of arrogant and rubbish leaders we have with his display and reaction towards the students he said were protesting in a country where police guard protesters.

6. Like seriously? you don't think there are good schools in Nigeria and capable lecturers... "The Abroad Mentality". I am proud Nigerian graduate, in the course of my work, I have met and participated in work related exams with people from all over the world (Indonesia, USA, Egypt, Russia, Ecuador, etc). While I was not always the best student, I was far from just average or mid class. That said, I think Wike's approach is wrong on all counts

7. Aren't there competent medicine and engineering lectures to?he shouldn't be selective because everyone has a right to study what the want,so instead,let them all come home

8. Na Rotimi Amechi fight dey cause this thing. Rotimi purposely left a huge debt for Wike to take over. These students are just unfortunate to be caught in the middle. Either arrange yaself sharp or go back home. Quite unfortunate. England wey harsh like poverty itself. Omo na all man to himself o...

9. He should have allowed this batch of students to finish. Wrong approach.

10. Stella what are you trying to say,what about those of us that schooled in Nigeria. anyways he should allow them finish

11. How about the Rivers State Scholarship Board students that are just about 11 in number? Why can't he pay those ones if he is sure he really wants to pay the students. It is easy to verify and pay those ones before you talk about the multitude in RSSDA