Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate Queries FG Over Unapproved Subsidy Payment

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Senate Queries FG Over Unapproved Subsidy Payment

The Senate is set for a showdown with the Federal Government over the alleged payment of N26 per litre to subsidise the pump price of Premium Motor Spirit, also known as petrol.

The Senate Committee on Petroleum (Downstream), which was on Thursday mandated to investigate the current crisis over supply of the product, on Friday, asked how the government was maintaining a pump price of N145 per litre when the landing cost of the commodity was now N171.

President of the Senate, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, had on Thursday directed the committee to cut short its recess and “immediately” convene a meeting with stakeholders in the petroleum sector over the current scarcity of petrol.

Chairman of the committee, Senator Kabiru Marafa; and Chairman of the Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Senator Aliyu Sabi-Abdullahi, who jointly addressed journalists on the matter in Abuja on Friday, stated that the Senate was set to move against anybody or organisation found to have caused the crisis....

from punch

7 comments:

1. Hmm... Lets see how it goes shaa

Happy new year in view.
    Missed u all

My Pinky

2. I said it! The Senate would never do anything in the best interest of the masses. So many people would say president Buhari is to blame. Hope you can see that the members of assembly block a lot of his policies?

3. So they want to use style to increase fuel price. Saraki becwarned because Nigerians will resist.

4. The masses are really looking like. Customers to these guys.

1. The senates are doing their job. Who told Buhari to remove the subsidy and give us sufferings in the first place? GEJ tried it and he accused and lambasted him and now he wants to do a wuru-wuru so that we will accuse the marketers of hoarding PMS? He has given us suffering by removing it so why trying to sound good in the midst of punishing us? Senates make una block it o. I don't mind buying a bicycle.

2. This comment has been removed by the author.