Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal University Shuts Down As Non-Academic Staff Begin Strike Because Academic Staff Hijacked Their Salary

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Federal University Shuts Down As Non-Academic Staff Begin Strike Because Academic Staff Hijacked Their Salary

Academic and other official activities were yesterday grounded at the Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO) by protesting members of the Non-Academic Staff Union of Universities (NASU).

The aggrieved workers, under the auspices of the Joint Action Committee (JAC) comprising of Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU), the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU) and the National Association of Academic Scientists (NAATS), said they were following the directive of the national body.

Chairman of JAC Comrade Ibeji Nwokeoma said: “The Federal Government gave N23 billion for the payment of earned allowance to all workers of Federal Universities, unfortunately, the money was hijacked by our sister union and they shared it as their spirit moved them, giving over N18 billion to the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) alone, leaving a little above N4 billion for three independent staff unions. ASUU hijacked the money at the national level in collaboration with the Federal Ministry of Education.

We want the government to obey the judgment of the Industrial Court. We can only end this strike if the government addresses the skewed allowance and pay us N66 billion which is the earned allowance for non-academic staffs.

From the nation

12 comments:

1. My children will not school in this country

1. I support you on that and my kids will definitely not go to school in this chaos of a country. 😀😀😀

LEPπŸ˜›

2. When will we live in peace in this country?

3. judgement day I will show God my Nigeria passport and my FUTO ID CARD because I have seen hell

#GOAT™

1. No be only you sef. The suffer wey I see for FUTO early 2000s na only God go compensate me

4. They are lying to themselves. The money that was realized was " earn academic allowance" which was even supposed to be for the academic staff alone but dey decided to give dem part of it. Now, the good did has turned to something else. Instead of fighting the federal government that gave out the money, they are fighting their school. This was supposed to be a federal affair not internal.

1. That is a big lie anonymous. It isn't earned academic allowance, it's meant to be for both academic and non academic staff.

5. Kryty please if you don't know what to comment you better keep quite instead of this nonsense you just wrote.GO and make proper inquiries before commenting.What they are agitating for is their write.

6. Its their right signed an agreed in 2009 by the then Yar'Adua government.