Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court declares Day Time Oro Practice And Restriction Of Movement Illegal In Ogun

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Court declares Day Time Oro Practice And Restriction Of Movement Illegal In Ogun

An Ogun State High Court sitting in Ipokia in Local Government Area of the State has declared the day time observance of Oro festival and its restriction of people’s movement as illegal.

The court ordered that the Oro Festival or ritual could only be celebrated by night between 12:am and 4:am and subject to the approval and undertaken to maintain peace.

Justice Sikiru Owodunni in his judgement also ordered that Oro Festival worshippers have no constitutional authority to impose curfew on residents of Ipokia, Idi-Iroko, Ihunbo, Ifonyintedo, Ogosa, Koko, Ilashe, Ibatefin, Agosasa, Oniru, Mede, Ajegunle and other villages in the area.

The suit was filed by Christian Association of Nigeria and Muslim Community in Ipokia against the town’s Oro Festival worshippers.

The Court in its judgement ordered perpetual injunction restraining the respondents, their privies, agents and cohorts from declaring or imposing a daytime curfew or in any manner interfering with the fundamental rights of the applicants to freedom of movements.
From the nation

16 comments:

1. 'Oro' practice in the day time!! Mbanu!!!!!!!

Good morning my pple...

chim-oma a.k.a Miss Kapusu

2. It should extend to ikorodu Lagos. Awkward tradition

1. Ikorodu own is a learner for where ajilete,oke odan,igbogbo,remo,ota,atan and likes dey,9am at times,oro is out and u would have to lock up by force

2. Pls oh. They should really extend this to ikorodu. Their own is just too much. @toyosi, Igbogbo is also ikorodu na. Those people carry oro for head.

3. Abeg..what's the consequence of not obeying this their oro rule??? Anyone knows? Just curious

3. Great news. This should also be imposed in certain parts of lagos most especially ikorodu.

4. Nice one, Abeg this should be extended to Ikorodu. Haba! In this day and time!

But I guess some of the Ikorodu residents enjoy it cos they get to stay off work.

5. I hope the CAN in Ikorodu part of Lagos can do the same. You will expect the so called "Mega City" to have gotten rid or curtail the excesses exhibited by these people who impose unconstitutional curfew on the people anytime they so wish and we have a government that has turned a blind eye, for whatever reason, I don't know.

6. Very good. I dont see any good in this Oro at all

7. Hmmmm, I hope there will be no blood shed.

8. Good move
    Other states should follow suit

9. How will they enforce implementation?
    People better stay indoors when they want to start their parade

10. Better! Both day and night Oro is just a total crap and should be stopped!

11. This is good. Why would you restrict people from going about their daily activities and still do thesame at night? You should practise your Religion in peace without disturbing others.

12. Oro is not crap because the people believe in it and practiced it for long... If they stop it without consultation or alternative way to do it then it may lead to curses on people in that area. Go and find out, it is on record that a Princess got spiritual death penalty and was killed in Lagos State although her father was the king and she was brought up abroad therefore refused to abide by the rules a long time ago. May she continue to RIP.