Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Estranged Husband Arrested For Allegedly Killing Wife

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Estranged Husband Arrested For Allegedly Killing Wife

The Lagos State Police Command has arrested a 45-year-old man, Philip Ononaku, in connection with the death of his estranged wife, Iyabo Akinpelu. 

Iyabo, 48, was reportedly found dead floating on a river in Oke Eeri, off Odo Eran, in the Oworonshoki area of the state on Friday after she was declared missing by her family the previous day.

It was learnt that Iyabo and Ononaku had been together for about 10 years. However, last year, the woman packed out of the house and relocated due to alleged domestic violence. It was also gathered that Ononaku saw Iyabo with another man last Tuesday and protested. He was allegedly beaten up by the man. He was said to have reported the assault at the Oworonshoki Police Division and Iyabo was arrested. Ononaku became angry when his estranged wife was released the following day and he allegedly threatened to deal with her.

The deceased’s younger brother, Olukayode Akinpelu, said his sister had told neighbours that she was going to bed around 9pm on Wednesday, but was not found in her apartment at dawn. He accused Ononaku of having a hand in his sister’s death. According to him, the deceased hands were tied. She was murdered and we suspect the man was responsible for it. She must have been drowned since Wednesday for her corpse to float on Friday.

The state Police Public Relations Officer, SP Chike Oti, confirmed Iyabo’s death and the arrest of her estranged husband.
He added that the case had been transferred to the Homicide Section of the State Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department, Yaba, for further investigation.

From punch.

*Hmmm this is why it is important to be careful of angry words,maybe he is even Innocent sef but because he boasted he is now in trouble....

18 comments:

1. Innocent? This one has anger issues and people with anger issues are proud and violence. May God give comfort to the diseased family.

2. See what anger and words of mouth caused him
    An answer when mild turns away range

3. Not good to voice out what's on your mind sometimes. Same happened to my brother inlaw. Someone threatened to deal with him, now he's dead but I'm sure the guy did not kill him.

4. Thank you Stella. My mind telling me the man boasted with the words and said it openly but was used by another person to carry out the plan thereby implicating him. I am sure he is innocent but who will defend him now the woman has died. It is just a pity with the way we use words knowing fully well the devil is lurking around to use our words against us.

Oga carry your cross

1. You are sure he's innocent because you were with him all through the night to come up with this? Nwaoooo

2. "You are sure he is innocent" olodo chief judge and jury

5. He might be innocent, is he living with her? Why is the new lover spared while estranged husband is detained. The two men involved in her life are suspects. RIP to the dead.

6. Chai Chidinma diseased family. chai you too come spoil the family join.

1. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

7. Your boyfriend beat up your husband and you still get mind to come back to his house. RIP madam

1. Oga sir, abeg, where you read say she go back to him house?

2. Nah back of the blog you read your version from? Wehdone sir

8. Rosie you want me to follow you up, i will let you pass. Seems your pasteries never do you abi?

9. Stella, don't be too sure this man is innocent.

Some people actually threaten and carry out their threat.

Me personally, I don't talk and I overlook a lot but, if I've had enough and voice out my mind, mehn... I must do that thing oh.

Though, sometimes I don't talk I just do my mind.

Not everybody talk for talking sake.

10. Innocent wetin........ perhaps if she didn't already run out of that marriage due to DV, I could have believed his innocence.
    Don't underestimate men that carry out DV, especially when they know the woman has moved on. The thing enrages them. In their sick mind they own the woman, the boyfriend now beat him up again ??????
    Even abroad he will be the NO1 suspect due to previous DV and threat of life.

1. Your head dey there jare.

I don't know why Stella thinks he is innocent.

Violent men just don't want to believe the woman have the guts to move out not to talk of moving on.

They feel so entitled to the woman mostly when they have children together.

11. May her soul rest in peace, Say no to DV