Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lai Mohammed Says Thailand Has Commenced Moves To Establish Rice Mills In Nigeria...

Monday, March 05, 2018

Lai Mohammed Says Thailand Has Commenced Moves To Establish Rice Mills In Nigeria...

The Federal Government on Sunday announced that Thailand had commenced moves to establish rice mills in Nigeria.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, disclosed this during a tour of some rice farms in Kebbi State.

He said the Federation Government had won its fight against rice importation, particularly from Thailand, as Nigeria had reduced its importation of rice by over 90 per cent.

“As we speak today, Thailand rice growers are making passionate appeal to the Federal Government. What they are doing now is that they want to set up rice mills in Nigeria, which means we have won,” Mohammed stated.

When asked again to explain why Thailand rice producers were pushing to set up mills in Nigeria, Mohammed replied, “Yes, Thailand wants to set up several rice mills in Nigeria because we have stopped importing from them.”

The minister stated that Nigeria was able to cut down on the importation of rice from Thailand from 644,000 metric tonnes two years ago to a little over 20,000MT currently.

from punch

14 comments:

1. Na wa. dont know what to say or believe

2. That's if herdsmen don't destroy their farms. Anyway they'll still be transferring the proceeds to their country

3. All this our present politicians are dumb as f**k. Can u just point out one single smart minister in this Buhari's administration? All we hear is from snake swallowing millions to monkey carrying money. Now this blood clatt Lie Mohammed made minister who doesnt know his left from his right telling us it is a win for Nigerians to have thailand establish their rice mill here in Nigeria.

1. for your mind now, this your post make sense abi? Buffon wey dey call monkey baboon. So a country where we import from seeking to establish their business in Nigeria because we stopped patronizing them thereby killing their business is not a win for the country abi? May stupidity borne out of hatred for Buhari not send you to your early grave. The mumu will not say amen o. Idiotic antelope shouting nonsense ugandan.

4. Bravo!!...i don dey get small hope for 9ja.

5. at the end, Thailand will still make money from us. this isnt brilliant at all. and Mr Lai Mohammed seems to think it is.

6. I still like my Abakaliki rice. We shall see Thailand and Lie Mohammed...

7. When will we wake up? We allowed Indians to take up the PHARMA space now here comes the... SMH.

8. Who did Nigerians offend eh? What kind of leaders do we have? Ignorant and dull leaders. Doesn't this man understand the implication of letting Thailand have rice mills in Nigeria? They would become a monopoly and our small rice growers may not stand a chance.

9. Stupid and myopic leaders.......once Thai people take over rice production in Nigeria the small rice farmers will be out of business as the won't be able to compete with them. Senseless move. #weneedwokeleaders

10. Nigeria is yet to refine petrol/gas in spite of the abundance of sweet crude, the most sought-after kind in the international market; Nigeria is yet to harness solar power and give its citizens a measure of sanity thru constant power; Nigeria with its abundant bio resources brought in Indians to run its pharmaceutical industry to its detriment; Nigeria with its abundant resources to produce rice and other commodities for her citizens now wants to bring in the Thais to run rice mills while the unemployment rate is at a staggering 40%; mehn, una mumu Neva do? Which kain shithole leadership be this abeggi? QED@AllTribesMatter

1. Na you mumu pass because you can only read and not comprehend all year children of anger. Where in that post did he say that Nigerian government is allowing Thailand to establish rice milk in Nigeria? So you don't understand what "begging" is. Does begging mean "allowing" to you or it means they are not allowing them.. .Therefore they are begging. Bros, he said begging us.. .May comprehension fall you. Olodo WAEC F9 parallel.

11. Nigeria is yet to refine petrol/gas in spite of the abundance of sweet crude, the most sought-after kind in the international market; Nigeria is yet to harness solar power and give its citizens a measure of sanity thru constant power; Nigeria with its abundant bio resources brought in Indians to run its pharmaceutical industry to its detriment; Nigeria with its abundant resources to produce rice and other commodities for her citizens now wants to bring in the Thais to run rice mills while the unemployment rate is at a staggering 40%; mehn, una mumu Neva do? Which kain shithole leadership be this abeggi? QED@AllTribesMatter