In a letter dated 24th April, 2018, entitled: Re-BB/LPDC/217/16 Nigerian Bar Association V. Ephraim Emeka Ugwuonye; with reference number: 197/SCN/LIT/100118, addressed to Euphraim C. Ugwuonye, signed by Gertrude B. Bari-Nyana Esq (for the Chief Registrar) and made available to our Correspondent, the apex court conveyed the news.
The letter reads in part:
“This is to notify you of a notice issued by the Legal Practitioners Disciplinary Committee to the effect that your name be struck off the Roll of Legal Practitioners, after you were tried and found guilty of infamous conduct in the course of the performance of your duty as a legal practitioner as set out in count 1, of the Complaint, contrary to Rules 23 and 55 of the Rules of Professional Conduct in the Legal Profession 2007 and punishable under Section 12-(1)-(a) of the Legal Practitioners Act as amended.”
“The said notice is dated 22nd day of May, 2017 and in the absence of an appeal after the stipulated time within which to appeal has lapsed, the name UGWUNONYE EPHRAIM CHUKWUEMEKA is hereby STRUCK OFF the Roll of Legal Practitioners”
“UGWUNONYE EPHRAIM CHUKWUEMEKA is not entitled to practice as a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.”
“Any letter issued to you before now, with regards to your enrolment status is null and void, with immediate effect”
It would be recalled that in a matter of the Legal Practitioners Disciplinary Committee (Body of Benchers) holden at Abuja, between the Nigerian Bar Association (Complainant) and Ephraim Emeka Ugwuonye (Respondent), before: J.D. Dauda, SAN (Chairman), Hon. Justice M. Umukoro, CJ, Delta State, Hon. Justice P.D. Damulak, CJ, Plateau State, Yusuf Ali, SAN, E.C.Ukala, SAN, Tijjani Inuwa-Dutse and Hon. Ahmed Mustapha Goniri, AG, Yobe State, Mr. Ugwuonye was found guilty of infamous conduct. The body, in its ruling, ordered the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court to strike out Ugwuonye’s name from the Roll of legal practitioners in Nigeria.
According to records in a Certified True Copy of the Body of Benchers decision, “the complaint against Ephraim Emeka Ugwuonye Esqr (hereinafter referred to as the Respondent) Legal Practitioner of ECULAW and Co. 25 Adeyemo Alakija Street, 2nd Floor, Victoria Island Lagos, is an allegation of Breach of Trust to wit; failure to disclose personal interest in subject matter of Client’s brief. The Petitioner, one Ms. Victoria Ekweani alleged that she engaged the services of the Respondent to secure and protect her interest as next of kin in the estate of her late sister, one Ms. Ifeoma Ekweani. Petitioner however alleged that Respondent failed to execute his brief, but rather filed an application at the Enugu State Probate Registry for the issuance of Letters of Administration to the Respondent in his purported capacity as FiancĂ©e and creditor to the deceased. Ms. Ekweani’s Petition was investigated by the Nigerian Bar Association Disciplinary Panel ‘B’, Lagos, which considered all available materials…..”
In its ruling, the Body of Benchers found Ugwuonye guilty.
“We, that is, the Legal Practitioners Disciplinary Committee hereby find the Respondent, Ephraim Emeka Ugwuonye guilty of infamous conduct in the course of the performance of his duty as a legal practitioner as set out in Count 1, of the Complaint (as already indicated in this Direction) contrary to Rules 23 and 55 of the Rules of Professional Conduct in the Legal Profession 2007 and punishable under Section 12- (1)- (a) of the Legal Practitioners Act, as amended.”
“We are satisfied that the appropriate order to make in the circumstance is to direct the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court to strike out the name of Ephraim Emeka Ugwuonye from the Roll of Legal Practitioners and we so Order. Our Order shall forthwith be brought to the attention of the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court. We further Order that Notice of this Direction be immediately brought to the attention of the Respondent by service on him personally or to his last known address and by publication in any Edition of The Punch Newspaper and also by publication in the Federal Gazzette as required by law.”
The latest letter issued to Mr. Ugwuonye by the Supreme Court puts to an end the controversy over his enrollment status in the Nigerian Bar. The enrolment number: SCN019368, belonging to Ephraim Emeka Ugwuonye is struck out of the Supreme Court Roll.
Meanwhile, investigations reveal that the family of the Petitioner, Ekweani, in Enugu State are mobilizing to approach relevant law enforcement agencies to commence criminal prosecution of Mr. Ugwuonye over breach of trust. If the prosecution succeeds, he may be facing a 7-year jail term.
This man's controversy with people had been crazy
ReplyDeletecan't believe I read all through wow!!!!! I had expected this long before now. From grace to grass so disgraceful.
ReplyDeleteWhat did this man do bikonu? Village people!
ReplyDeleteSince, this man has been unleashing mayhem. Na now people gather courage do the needful. As if he is a spirit.
ReplyDeleteHey! Why didn't he appeal na? What's gonna happen to all those women he's helping fight DV? Double wahala
ReplyDeleteWhich people was he helping??? Who have you seen or heard that he was helping??
DeleteDisbarred in America, disbarred in nigeria..emeka who did this to u? Amanda Chisom will be laughing her ass off..chai
ReplyDeleteAm sure that scammer Oluchi Enaworu and her toy hubby Brian Enaworu are behind this rumour. At least Emeka Ugwuonye is entitled to appeal.
ReplyDeleteEmeka has been fighting for the masses esp women at DV cases. He blew open the scammers gang,hence all they paid bloggers to carry the nonsense news. Madam Stella, go thru DPA on Facebook and also check the mad witch Oluchi Enahoru and her mumu husband Brian Enahoru on Facebook. See their rants and judge for ur selves. Their source of satanic livelihood was squashed by Emeka Ugwuonye.
The thing that Emeka gave you to eat. After now mouths it will come out as a giant turtle. Wait and see.
DeleteIt is senseless people like you go about tarnishing people's images for 5 and 10 naira. I pray today that as you step out, someone should just shout Ole! Ole! throw a tire around you and burn you to the motherfucking ground. That will give you a taste of how it feels like for scum like you and this pygmy disbarred lawyer.
DeleteI know u be Oluchi and the otele hunchback
DeleteSo you are one of his blind followers? Una eyes go soon clear las las..
ReplyDeleteEmeka is d latest Divorce master in Nigeria,bad adviser,egocentric,grandiose personality.the way he suggests divorce without hearing from d other party is like telling anyone with headache to drink panadol,he derives joy in making caricature of people,a man that some people sees as their role model was busy supporting youths to live an immoral life like, indulging in fornication before marriage then when some people began to attack him, that's not morally right to dish out such in a public forum,he made another post to convince them,bcos he believes his verdict always supersedes everyone. After reading his backup post,I became more convinced that this man must be devil's relation.He always backup any of his post that members challenged with another convincing post. Not everyone in DPA is gullible n senseless.some people enjoys listening to lies when they know d truth.
ReplyDeleteEmeka thinks he's smart; the moment he received his letter,he hurriedly went to his minion subjects not people like me,to remind them of paying their 6k membership's registration fee,I laughed cos he never expected that such news will go viral within seconds of his acknowledged receipt,I was like Emeka who re u going to represent in DPA with a struck out letter that's flying all over social media.
The way he threatened to defame this couple (Oluchi n Brian) n later carried out his threat made me to revisit his profile just to ascertain if hes also a detective officer apart from being a lawyer.. God in heaven knows that I don't know this couple in person,I'm not related to them in any way but the way he made up so many lies against their social life n people were applauding him, while some were cursing them even yo their forth generation made me even shed tears but finally what happened between Mordecai and Harman in Bible had happened in their case. later a certain woman claimed Brian is trying to defraud her but brought another person's (Emmanuel Eze)bank detail as an evidence n yet Emeka was still this made a post that Brian's evidence is out,then I said was it bcos Oluchi challenged him to provide evidence of their labelled crime that made him uploaded such baseless allegation n false evidence? This couple's case opened my eyes more to the truth cos truly I wouldn't ve heard so much about him within 10days.
Pls Emeka pipe low,humble ursef before God,stop changing God's ordinances,stop dishing out divorce like water board corporation. Deal with ur narcissistic behavior cos God said that He resists the proud but gives grace to the humble.stop blackmailing people.Give ur life to Christ it's never too late to surrender,Him alone can turn everything 4 ur good then u will enjoy a night rest free of stress n agony,a happy life filled with peace,cos I'm sure ur not at peace with ur own self. Read n be blessed in case u stumbled into this my comment.Selah!!!
Emeka Ugwuonye is a disbarred lawyer and also a fraudster shame unto you ooOo
ReplyDeleteI just came back to tell you guys that Emeka is now a murderer facing trial in Kuje prison. He’s been damaged beyond repair. He is the most hated man in the world: disbarred and in prions for armed robbery. That’s how Karma shall visit all his accomplice and everyone else who worships him. The evil that men do live after fhem. Good riddance to bad rubbish. I hope he dies there. I cursed him, after he collected 150k from my sister to file for divorce then threatened to defame her in his group. Now how is life? Useless man.