Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Family Insist Daughter's Alleged Killer Must Marry Her Corpse

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Family Insist Daughter's Alleged Killer Must Marry Her Corpse

The family of a girl, Confidence Nwanma, allegedly killed by her boyfriend has declared that the killer boyfriend must marry the corpse of the deceased in line with the tradition of the family.

Nwanma was stabbed to death sometime last week by her boyfriend, Saliu Ladayo at Oshinle area of Akure, the Ondo State capital following a disagreement that ensued between them.

The deceased’s father, Mr. Jude Nwanma, who spoke with journalists in the state at their residence at Oke Aro, Akure, said the traditional rites must be performed in their hometown in Oru East Local Government Area of Imo State before burying the late daughter. Nwanma explained that failure to perform the traditional rites would bring calamity to the family of Ladayo.

He said, “In our place, it is mandatory that the man must marry the corpse of our daughter killed in cold blood. We must perform the normal traditional rites by taking the corpse to our village where the marriage would take place. It is mandatory that he pays everything in double the normal. He would perform all the traditional rites before our family would let him go. This is because, without this traditional rites, every young person from the family of the boy would never get to the age of our daughter, but must die a sudden death just like our daughter. This is not our making, it is the tradition of our ancestors even before we were born. Our people all over the world are waiting for the court judgment. Any way it goes, the boy must perform the marital rites of our daughter’s corpse before anything.”

The state Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Femi Joseph confirming the incident said the suspect would soon appear in court. According to the PPRO, “The suspect was asking the girl to date him which she refused. The suspect claimed that the deceased embarrassed him publicly which infuriated him, and he stabbed her, leading to her death. The suspect has been arrested and the police would soon charge him to court after investigation.

From Daily Post

43 comments:

1. Ah! This is another one already! Have you seen the one that chopped up his girlfriend and dumped her in a bucket? I don't understand this anger. Angry people every where it is becoming very very unbecoming

1. I saw it yesterday.
      Yellow pawpaw girl. I think the infuriated youths later killed the guy. I couldn't finish watching the video but the youths really beat him.

2. Oh was that what the corpse in the bucket was? I saw the video late last night. Thank God I didn't have nightmares. People are wicked.

3. Better to separate and cry than killing someone

4. What the father said is true. He has to marry the corpse according to the tradition

5. I thought the news reported that it was his wife that he killed & stuffed into a black bucket to go and throw away?

6. Good for him he must pay every penny yeye Rat Boy...

7. Why would anyone watch such a gruesome video? Violence will continue because viewers like you all who watched the video are participating in it through your viewing.

8. This man is not serious at all.
      Somebody murdered your daughter in cold blood and you still give a fuck what happens to his family.

2. Hes in for it. Na by force to date person?🙄 Yeye.

1. I don't know oh. He must face the consequences of his action. Look at his face, Wicked boy!

4. The guy with his family would borrow to appease the girl family..

May our. Children not put us into trouble .

Official prestige

1. Ghen ghen Chen, if you are living with an IBO babe without paying bride price, you are in for a looong thing if she dies. Be ready to marry her corpse ohh. Some areas don't joke with the tradition. Guys be kiaful

6. It happened to my uncle, only that he didn't kill her. They lived together for many years as a couple without paying her bride price. At the time she died, they refused to bury her until he paid her bride price and a traditional wedding ceremony was conducted, food was everywhere and she was dressed and made up like a bride and sat there till it was done. My uncle cried so much that he couldn't see.
    I can still remember it like yesterday. It wasn't a good sight, not a good at all.
    They Won't leave this man until he marries her. Na wa oo

1. Really ? And your uncle presented himself to be married to a head woman ?
      Something must be wrong with him for him to agreed to that nonsense tradition.
      To me, it's not tradition but an act of wickedness from the family. When it's glaring you're uncle did not kill her.

2. Don there was nothing he could do. My dad and other elders went to plead with them but tradition is tradition.. There was no other way out of it.

3. It happens in my place too. I attended one sef or rather i was part of the organizers 😁. The lady died while birthing a child for her boyfriend. He married her corpse before she was buried. The baby is almost 7years now.

4. Cynhams, are you for real? In your place as in your villa? I thought this thing happens in the East only.

5. Akwa ibom also. I remembered when I was serving and a friend lost his fiancee to leukemia. He had to travel down to her village & conduct marriage rites before the lady could be buried.

7. Wait first.
    When do they want to do the erm marriage? Before or after sentencing? Ok, but who should be fighting for it sef, is it not the man's family? At least to ward off all the catastrophe??? So he will come and pay double of the bride price?? This one up there? This one that does not look like he even knows where his next meal is coming from? Ok I hear. Ladies and men, if you are with someone whose head use to touch, please troway your slippers and flee. Love will not kill you, inugo?

1. You didn't read the part that said he killed her because she rejected to date him

2. I read that perfectly Sir/Ma and that has nothing to do with my comment.

I'm not responsible for your (lack of) comprehension.

8. He must marry that corpse oh... He must. Which one is by force relationship? Shey he wants to date? He must date and marry

9. People do that, the boy's family should try and do it

10. Is is the Igbos tradition. If you live with a girl that is not your wife if the girl dies the man will marry her corpes.

11. Proudly Anonymous22 May 2018 at 10:21

And they are the people who are always quick to rip apart other cultures.

12. After going through all these rites, I do not think this guy will be okay again. They will mix trouble for him to drink.

1. Proudly Anonymous22 May 2018 at 11:39

Double yinmu!!
      Are they going to carry out all those rituals in police custody or when the fucker eventually ends up in jail?

2. @Proudly Anonymous the guy doesnt have to be there, it will be done by proxy

13. That serves him right. Useless boy as if dating is by force. Children gotten from the kingdom of Lucifer. Mumu.

14. Some traditions(mine included)insist on marrying the corpse before the burial proper, but what I don't know is if there are actually consequences for refusing to marry the dead...,

1. Mhiz A. You sound so tribalistic. Refrain from using derogatory word to describe other tribes.

2. Is it your tribalistic? It's Mhiz A u will see, all the other tribal based comments your kind paste here how many times have u cautioned them? Better fanye kwa onu gi n'akpa if u have nothing sensible to say.

15. There are consequences ooo...if the guy no marry the corpse the family should just leave him since they are the ones that will suffer it.

Since when did it become by force to date someone? This was how that 16 year old Ss2 girl was stabbed on the 31st of December by that stupid Godforsaken man in his 30's cos d little girl refused his advances. What would a little girl be doing with u in d first place?

Now, this ofe mmanu stabbed and killed nwa ada Igbo cos she refused u being her bf? What would she stand yo get from him? Look at his krokro face. Does he even have money to date a fair girl, can he afford the Imo bride price?

The parents should just fight and make sure he ends up in jail without an option of parole, whether he marries d girl or not should not be their concern since it's his family that will suffer the consequences.

16. People should learn to control their anger. Na by force to date person?? Now lookit you!! You will marry a dead girl and also serve your sentence

17. Yes, he should marry her. Let him marry to the corpse of the person he killed. I agree with this tradition in this instance. Rightful justice. I hope she haunts him for the rest of his days