Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Libya Returnee Says She Was Headed To France To 'Work'

Thursday, June 07, 2018

Libya Returnee Says She Was Headed To France To 'Work'

A 22-year-old Libya returnee (names withheld), on Wednesday told newsmen in Lagos that she made the perilous journey to the North African country with the sole aim of joining a prostitution ring in France.

The returnee, who hails from Edo, was among the 171 Nigerians that voluntarily returned from Libya on Tuesday night.

She spoke at the Hajj Camp of the Murtala Muhammed International Airport in Lagos. Narrating her ordeal, she said that her parents were peasant farmers who were struggling to survive the hardship in Nigeria.

She said: “When I heard about the possibility of making changes in the lives of my family, I told my parents and they didn’t object.

“I wanted to go to France and I knew it was prostitution that I would do, but I didn’t mind as long as I can make my parents comfortable.’’

According to her, on getting to Libya, after much suffering on the road from Kano, I was captured by some Libyans and my trafficker had to pay money to secure my release.

The returnee narrated that she was again held by another group and had to call her parents to raise money in order to secure her freedom.

“They sold everything they had to send the money to me, but I was able to return to Nigeria through the assistance of IOM when we could no longer proceed to my destination.

“I was made to swear that upon reaching France and start working, I will pay my trafficker £12,000 and the herbalist £1,000 to settle all the expenses paid on me by my trafficker and the herbalist. This was because I couldn’t raise any money for the journey.

“Now, I am back in Nigeria without anything to show for it. My parents will be worst hit. How can I help my parents to recover?’’
from NAN

18 comments:

1. Na Wa,no other job there apart from prostition? You are back now with nothing to show for.

2. Chei life is hard o. Pls do not judge her till Uve been in her shoes. There’s a way hardship will hook u and u will be ready to do anything. It is well my dear. It is well

1. As in,suffer head has different levels

3. The funny thing is that, she will still go back...because Edo government will not help her

4. Sit your ass and work. N.a. your mates De plait hair, Do maid, clean house . You think going to France will still provide comfort. Lies. Look around you they all still haggard and hungry looking. Now your folks had to give the little they have. When will these Edo people learn,..or is it in una blood

5. People always want to blame others. You messed up carry yourself and learn. Carry yourself and do something now

6. The only way you can help your parent is to go back to France and start the prostitution proper.

7. No feelings for these people.

8. As you done reach nigeria make you find work Learn Ehen, pele ooo.

9. Is prostitution the only fast way to make money in Edo people mind? There are still other ways of making money na

10. How does a woman do many men in a day? Prostitution is not easy. What? Only small do body go dey pain person. Talk less of men on drug on a rampage on your body. Ahhhhh. Sister pls learn another trade. Ei go better

11. Proof of the pudding is in the eating...Just Do You

12. They don't recognize any family in Edo if your person is not in abroad. Don't blame her, blame their people

1. I concur with Yori Yori because a friend once told me that.

13. Well, she has youth on her side so with determination and a fighting spirit she can conquer. Best to go learn a trade of some sort, use your trade to better yourself. Laying on your back and spreading your legs is not a trade, moreover you WILL catch a disease, may not be deadly but herpes is for life, and chlamydia will make you infertile if untreated, HPV leads to cancer and Hepatitis will damage your liver, just because it is not AIDS does not mean that other sexually transmitted diseases are not just as terrible. Prostituttion is never the answer because you wil have to give up more than you will get in return, and I haven't even touched on the psychological impact and the mental damamge that such work does, that field carries a high rate of suicide for a reason, most prostitutes do not even have good friends to talk to or do things with, it's not the life anyone should choose if there are other choices available.

So go learn to do something marketable, open your brain to knowledge you were born with one. If you have good vision, hearing, ability to walk, talk, and mentally adept then there is no excuse for you not to be able to make something of your life. Being born whole is already a golden ticket in life, if you need wisdom then seek it, if you need discernment seek it, but don't act life you were not already given everything you needed at birth to make a good life. There are no excuses other than the limitations you put on your own self. Just as the money could be found to send for your ransom it could have been found for you to start up a small venture.