Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Depression Is Real

Sunday, November 04, 2018

Depression Is Real

Please talk to someone who can handle your situation if you think you might be depressed....Someone jumped into the 3rd mainland Bridge a few days ago........He probably had no one to talk to or he talked to people who made him feel worse.............If you are depressed talk to someone you feel comfortable with...

46 comments:

1. I Was There Before
    Today Am Out.. Thanks Be To God
    Stella God Bless U This Blog Heal Souls

2. I have an epistle to write about depression but I don’t have the strength now. A close family member has been battling depression and I can tell anyone that it’s the last thing you wish for anyone you know.

3. Yes, depression if a major cause of suicide.
    What is a major cause of depression?
    The answer? Broken relationships/marriages.
    And what is the major cause of broken relationships/marriage?
    The answer: fornication and adultery.
    Please beware, be faithful -a few minutes of pleasure ("harder, harder, harder")
    for a lifetime and eternal regrets.

1. Hey anon 17:24 you don't know jack. People are depresed for other reasons than the nonsense you have put up there. Such as money problems,debts,loss of family/friend, terrible boss, bad health, bullying, bad friends the list goes on n on. It just shows how myopic you are.
      All i know is seek to help ASAP if depressed.

2. *to seek help ASAP

3. @Lollah
      "a MAJOR cause" not "the only cause"
      Please understand simple English.

4. I don't know the symptoms of depression, but I will Google it.

5. Let all the glory,honour and thanksgiving belongs to my heavenly father and my daddy who made possible for today.Thank you Jesus.#More Than A Conqueror #.

6. Yes depression is real. I almost got depressed on Friday cos I thought I was pregnant but period showed up. But God used some bvns to talk positively to me especially the one that said I should read Isaiah 54. You don't know what people go through till they tell you.

7. I was depressed,talked to my fiance at the time about it, I told him how i felt like committing suicide, he waved it as silly talk, everybody said the same thing, in my desperation to find find happiness and stop the voices in my head, I landed on the wrong person's bed, but it helped, atleast am still alive, the struggle continues, am taking it one day at the time, I hope to win this battle.

8. All i will like to know is why people keep mistaking Feeling sad or being momentarily down for depression.

Depression is waaaay Serious than people take it. It is more than just being sad or moody for two days and fiam, you are talmbout being depressed.

Last month, a girl posted about being depressed and thanked everyone who showed concern in the last 24hrs, I just shook my head. I have a cousin who had clinical depression and I can tell you she's still on meds and it's been 5yrs since we got the diagnosis.

May God lift all of our burdens.

1. Mama Baby, God bless you.
      Nigerians think having a depressive episode (which is normal by the way because no one can be 100% happy forever) is the same as having clinical depression.
      All I can say is that may God never let you experience the difference.

2. I agree with you mama baby, clinical depression is different from being sad or moody for some days just because things does not go the way you planned it. It is a mental health disorder characterized by constant depressed mood that can last from minimum of two weeks to years. it's always require healthcare practitioners intervention.

3. Oh dear.How sad!

Clinical depression isn't curable.It can only be managed.Sufferers are dependent on meds their whole lives.

4. You're right but both ways they all need a shoulder to cry on.
      One demon is tormenting them. Let's always reach out.

And please we all; be mindful of the comments we drag threads down to type. Some bvs are down, really down. They don't need hurtful words, they need fun and laughter to hang in there.

5. I'm tired of taking meds, seeing psychotherapist, psychologist, counselor and praying. I just pray this month miraculously ends my depression. Over a year now, God please let this month mark the end of my depression

9. I used to be depressed but no longer. Depression is not a good thing at all

10. Stella,I am depressed and I am just coping. I have spoken to my husband but he thinks I have it good and I am just complaining. Truthfully I am better than some people but I just don't understand how my level has just changed. I cannot stand with my friends as I was jobless for years. Now I am working in a primary school for 15k. I am always trying to bring myself out of my state of self pity and appreciate all the achievements I have such as my kids but I see myself regretting why I got married early. Stella I know I am depressed and I am struggling to make myself happy these days. I never saw my future this way. I am planning on going back to get a bachelor's in one of the health science courses like med lab or nursing but I am just scared of how old I would be when I am through. I would be close to 35 years. I am just so confused on which way to go. I know business isn't for me. So it just has to be job related. I am tired and confused on which path to take to move my destiny forward. I wish I had listened to my sister earlier when she told us about relocating to Canada. Now my husband isn't a spring chikien anymore and me I don't have at least an M.sc to boost my chances. I accept I am finding myself dwelling on the negative instead of the positives and I am experiencing a lack of contentment.i have prayed and fasted and I was relieved of all these these negative and sad thoughts but I am going back again to that dark place and that place of confusion in my head. I wish I can see a prophet or God can show me himself what his plans are for me. Cos I am losing my self and my happiness. I am just ranting now but I need help or advice or prayers or a good and reasonable job.

1. This is depression, may God heals us all...

2. Sister, start that school ypu talked about rather than planning to start it. Before you know it, you are half way done... then done. It will also help ypur state of mind meeting new folks and talking about stuff.
      Make new friends, and make extra money or initiate a hussle.
      You probably have mild depression due to finances and not moving forward in life. Focus on being busy, learn a skill or study a course or go into buying and supply, anything to keep your mind occupied. Dont dwell on your shortcomings.

Therr used to be a time Nigerian were proper happy people, what has gone wrong. Times are really hard. Oyinbo pple have everything but most people are still down and depressed. Getting satisfaction in drugs and alcohol. When you talk to some of them, u realise they are down due to lack of social circle. No friends to talk to. People need to have jolly friends to talk and laugh with. Just that redices the desperation to get married cos people are just looking for companionship. Sighs

3. God is ur strength dear, just hold tight for God. God is too faithful to fail. Pls keep the fire burning you can still go for the course and who told u 35years is too old .pls don't give up, there's a brighter light at the end.

4. As you are stalling, thinking of how old you will be, time is wasting. I keep telling people, the time will still pass either way so make up your mind on whether you want to be on the same spot biting your fingers and wishing or you want to be on the other side of your dreams. Find a purpose lady, and let that keep you going.
      ✌🏾️

5. Buy the school form,Dont think about it o just buy it. So sorry you feel this way,life has a way of knocking us down. You can do it,35 years is very young okay. Please be happy

6. Its never too late to go back to school❤️

7. Go on and buy that form! I am almost 35 and I don't even have a first degree but by God's grace I will go back to school. There's no stopping me, so, you see you are not alone and you are stronger than you have imagined. Go get it!

NB:I want to move to Scotland but I don't know which city is best especially for mature student and at the same time, I can get a good job. Anybody please? Thank you.

8. Hello dear. It's never too late to go back to school. You only need to be determined. I am 50 years old and I'm just rounding up a higher degree. Go ahead and start. It doesn't matter if you or your husband are not spring chicken. Neither am I but here I am in a foreign country, rounding up in a course I don't have a background in ( was a pure Arts student). I've been working 2 different types of jobs building an impressive cv and career different from the course I'm doing. So that at the end of it all, I'd have 3 choices of pathways to choose from. But you need to take that bold step. I went back to school at 45 so why can't you? My friend just finished her nursing degree at age 50 and she had a first class. She read English - a pure Arts background to a first class in the Science at age 50. So you can do it dear. I would have loved to write about depression because I've been there too but I'm tired lol. But 2 things are important - surround yourself with positive people who would encourage you and then realise that your happiness lies in your own hands. Don't wallow in self-pity. It will only worsen the depression

9. I am in a big rush to somewhere, if not I would have written a long epistle but to cut a long story short, my aunty was a commercial ial student but at 37 she felt she has missed her calling she went back to school, read nursing and midwifery, from a purely commercial student background today she holds an M. Sc in nursing education, she works in a very good oil company hospital, owns a maternity home. No time to write more but if u want to go back to school, just do it now, stop procastinating

11. Bad marriage can make a person depressed.i regrets why I marry my husband.

12. I just want to encourage someone out there, no matter what you are going through God has a beautiful plan for you. Please don't give up rebuke every evil voice speaking to you. Please always speak up ,confide in someone on the issues you are going through, u can never know who God want to use to bless you.

13. I know I'm sad about my marriage and this has made me a terrible mother, colleague and friend. I have anger issue and I NEED HELP. Can anyone pls recommend a GOOD therapist or a counsellor?

14. Life has not been easy for me for the past 3 years but I keep pushing and hoping that it will get better some day. I had a friend I used to confide in about my issues but I later found out she told others and they will mock me. Lol! I don’t want to rant here but whatever it is that ure going through please keep pushing. E go better

15. From the comments I have read, I see two clear divides. One is depression due to economic hardships and marital or family problems.
    The other is clinical depression which has no cause at all and is very found in people who presumably have it all.

Whatever the case, It is well with us all. Never give up. No matter how dark the night is, the sun is gonna come up in the morning !

16. HMMMMM,I have been there before,thank God im coming out of it gradually.
    There are so many times i feel like jumping inside 3rd mainland bridge,so when i heard pple do this,i always tell myself,this was you then.Mya God heal us all ijn.

17. I'm not depressed,but I'm lonely, I need someone to talk to, a trusted fellow, the load on my mind is much

18. To be sincere there's really no one to talk to especially in Nigeria. I just feel counselling should bebtakem seriously in our schools,offices and places of worship. Moreso emergency unit be created and first aid be taught. Life is so precious. I wonder what could have made them plunge deep. God please help your children.

19. Depression is real and I can't just help than to think each passing day... going to school and no pocket, no money for basic things, no hope for school fee, no good food.... always looking like God is not my Creator

Thinking of how and when will it ever get better because each seems getting worse like those who had it smooth have 2 heads

Only God can help me this hardship in this trying period

Most people want to just listen to you to mock or use it against you later

I gave up the wheel and God will take control soon but I hope it won't be too late that's.

20. I was so depressed on Friday I almost took my life and my child's life thank God for the few people that came to save me ..we will Be discharge tomorrow..Are you depressed like I was hang in there You will Be fine

21. I don't know if I am depressed but I know that every night all I think about is dying and being with Jesus. I want him to hold me tight and never let go. I want to spend all my day by his side. I feel empty and I am afraid of confronting it because I am scared it might actually be true. That I am a piece of ugly, fat nonsense. I have no contribution to the society. I want to wake up every morning knowing that my being is making other people's life better. I feel like a waste of space, money and time.

1. You are not a waste of space.Every individual on this planet has reasons for their creations.Please register in a gym, when you wake up every morning, exercise,skip for 200 times, jump, do other little exercise in the corner of your room.Take plenty water and avoid heavy food after 6 pm. Go to the market buy lovely clothes even if its bend down select. All will be well, it might not be soon but trust me if you can keep your faith alive God will surprise you.

22. The world is overpopulated. If you can't cope, do the needful.

23. I do hope the likes of LADY BUG will read through these comments to realise that some people come to SDK for solace,needing kind words because truthfully one, just one wicked ,unkind word can be the deal breaker for a depressed soul on a mission to suicide. Lets be guided please.